We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #21 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Having stayed here before and been disappointed, we came back following a discussion with the new Management. We were not disappointed. In fact it was truly magnificent. The whole atmosphere of the hotel has changed for the better and the staff make you really feel at home.
The room we stayed in was huge , with a massive bed and a jacuzzi bath, along with a bathroom with bath and shower. The windows are massive and look out onto the quiet street.
Once again, the food in the hotel was magnificent - the chef even came out to ensure we enjoyed our meal. The quality of the food is underlined by the quality of the ingredients. We ate in the hotel two nights and had a great meal. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, with a great knowledge of the menu and gave great advice on the wine to go with our meals.
All in all, the changes the new management have implemented have completely reversed our perception of the hotel and we are definitely coming back to the Nira Caledonia.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,171 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in a petite double which certainly was petite but the hotel has made the most of the space and the staff were friendly, engaging and helpful. Great hotel. Breakfast was lovely. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemsimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My two girlfriends and I spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel in Newtown Edinburgh. The room was so lavish and beautifully appointed, we felt like royalty. The staff, Moray, Aneta, George, Grzna (sp?), and others that I am forgetting made our stay so very special. They were always so kind and ready with a quick smile and great information. The food at their restaurant was top-notch. The mussels we had our first night were caught that morning. They were delicious! Everything we ordered was perfectly made and presented. The breakfast included with our stay was beyond our expectations. Fresh cold cuts, delicious home-made jams (the whiskey jam was my favorite) and breads, local cheeses and their own house-made butter (to die-for), hot egg dishes if you like, espresso coffee--what a treat! Edinburgh Castle was nearby, shopping at George Street was also walking distance. We could not have asked for a better place to stay in this magical city. I can't wait to come back with my husband!!

Room Tip: 1008 was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

To all the staff, thank you for making our stay so special. You each give a piece of yourself to your guests, I loved the personal touches and the care you took to recommend fab cocktails and amazing food. Everyone from the kitchen staff to the concierge brought something special and took the time to stop to make sure we had all we needed. A special shout to Peter on the night shift for make extra tasty Bloody Mary cocktails and for keeping us entertained with his stories and laughs. Best hotel experience ever!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolibe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed a couple of nights during our 10-days in Scotland. Situated in quieter residential townhome area about 1/4 mile from the tourist areas and the castle in New Town. Easy walk to attractions.

We had booked early and had a suite on 1-floor that opened out to a patio on the internal courtyard. The room was very large with a separate sitting area and desk and even a fireplace. The bed was a king which was two doubles pushed together. Comfortable but you could notice the "slot" in the middle. The hotel is a restored townhome and has some of the quirks of an older home/hotel. Very nicely appointed with comfortable furnishings though a little dated. Bathroom was of good size with very deep tub/shower combo. Was quite a step into and out of the tub. Typical shower in which there is a little glass partition versus a curtain. I may do something wrong but end up with lots of water on the floor! Room was very clean and well taken care of.

We really enjoyed the hotel restaurant. We had dinner upon arrival and the staff was a hoot and hopping among the smallish dining area. We had steak and fish/chips and was very satisfied. Breakfast each day was standard buffet with the ability to order hot full Scottish breakfast. About what you would expect for included breakfast fare.

The airport is a decent cab ride into the city. We rented our car for the entire trip at the EDI airport and returned to Glasgow airport. Good place to start a trip to Scotland.

Room Tip: No lifts/elevators. They help with bags and only a few stories high but be warned if lots of luggag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXScooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I just returned from a whirlwind trip of Ireland and Scotland and the Nira Caledonia was one of my favorite stops! From the moment we pulled up to the stylish gray exterior I was excited. I love that the hotel feels so "Edinburgh". The color palette of the hotel is classy- bronze, golds, and grays/blacks. I loved the high ceilings and chandeliers in the room. I also loved the large windows that looked out onto the quiet street. The bathroom is small but it did the job just fine. No, there is no air conditioning, but you're staying in a building that is hundereds of years old, that just comes with the territor! Throw your flannel pajamas and American norms out the window, and embrace a part of European life! The staff is wonderful- Marik at the reception desk spent time explaining exactly where to go to find music, food, etc. The staff also willing marked up many maps detailing how to get around the city. Joe at the bar also did a nice job of explaining the different malt whiskys to us. Moray went out of his way at breakfast to get us whatever we needed- even bringing us hot toast went ours went cold during all of our chatting with each other. The morning we left, the new manager Rory sat with us for an hour, asking about our trip and explaining to us the improvements he planned on making. The hotel is undergoing a huge renovation- he plans to retain the old world charm but also bring in a more glamorous feel. Based on the way he readjusted the dining room to create a more intimate setting for dinner- I think he's going to do a fabulous job making the place even more wonderful than it already is. When I left my phone in the cab that we took to the airport, I called Rory knowing he would be able to help. He assured me that he would have my phone back to me in 20 minutes, and did just that. I can't wait to return to this hotel, as wonderful as our stay was, I am confident this hotel will be even better in the future!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmitty42488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here two nights at the end of our Ireland/Scotland trip. It has a perfect location being close enough to the city center to get anywhere quickly but still maintains the intimate and personal atmosphere of a beautiful boutique hotel. The staff here was amazing especially Marek at reception, Joe the bartender, and Muray in the mornings. The last day we were there Rory, the new manager took an hour of his day to sit and talk to us and then went above and beyond to help my sister get her iPhone back after she left it in the cab on the way to the airport. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serendipity2985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,162 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
669 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,782 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £103 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing