We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - they made us feel special!”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
216 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lovely stay - they made us feel special!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We received a Room Upgrade to a Suite with a Jacuzzi Bath as we were celebrating our Wedding Anniversary. Room 1003 is a basement room with patio doors onto a pretty garden (shared with next door room). Décor is to high standard. Breakfast was cooked to order - we were impressed with the food. Felt very relaxed here - we will want to return.

Why not 5 stars? There were a few 'niggles' - it took me 40 minutes driving round to find a parking spot (I asked the hotel for a one hour extension to check-out to compensate - this was agreed without question); there was no full length hanging space in the room - we had nowhere to hang our coats; the jacuzzi would benefit from having printed instructions on how to operate it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    237
    70
    22
    12
See reviews for
92
738
41
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We booked this hotel after doing a bit of searching on the net and seemed to have fit our profile.
The staff were very nice and welcoming with a smile and always helpful for anything needed for our entire stay.

The hotel's restaurant/cafe/bar does excellent breakfast every morning for the 5 days we were there.

The rooms are a little little small but cosy and comfy as if you are home away from home. We had a great view into the city overlooking one of the parks if my memory serves me well.

There are plenty if place to nearby to see within walking distance.

The only concern i had with this hotel was that it didn't have any elevators but don't let that be a reason to not book here as the hotel will always find a way to make ur stay a memorable one and thats what we have had.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hashdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped for two nights mid week and couldn't have asked for anything more. Staff were brilliant, the building was stunning and the food was fantastic. We stopping in room 6 and on entry there was classical music playing, nice touch. The room was really nice with a jacuzzi bath.
We ate at the hotel on the first night and could not fault the food menu was brilliant and really well priced. Will defiantly be back - the nira caledonia ticked all the boxes and couldn't be faulted, 5 stars.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timmy3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Recently stayed at this beautiful hidden gem in Edinburgh and loved everything about it. The hotel's location is on a lovely cobbled street which is mostly residential and just a 10 minute walk from the main town centre. The area, Stockbridge is also great for it's gastro pubs, bars and shops.

The room was comfortable, luxurious and characterful. We had a suite with an extra large bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath with big bay windows looking out on to the hilltops. It was just what we needed after a day walking up Edinburghs many hills.

The service in the hotel was also brilliant - the staff were friendly and really helpful. The food at breakfast was of a really high standard and everything was made fresh to order. I can also recommend the hotel's restaurant.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a boutique hotel experience. It's really romantic and perfect for a weekend break. I would not stay anywhere else if visiting Edinburgh again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

What a lovely reception. Everybody was welcoming, professional & couldn't do enough for you. The room was small, but more than enough for our two day stay. The building is is a grade "A" listed building (gives you the info in the room) and Is beautifully modernised, but still has all of the original features.
Breakfast is very good! Plenty to choose from, with attentive & polite staff! Breakfast until 11am, so no rush. Nice & quiet. It is Very close to lots of different restaurants to choose from & a 10 minute walk from the centre of the city! 10/10!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lyndaholgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catterick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Booked here as we like hotels that we think will offer a more personal stay, we were not disappointed. the hotel is in a good location within walking distance of most places. The reception was warm and friendly and, with advice on how to get to places. we stayed in a top floor room and were asked if that was okay as they don't have a lift. The room was comfortable bed was amazing and so comfy and bathroom clean well laid out.
we eat in blackwood's restaurant which was a treat and glad we did. the service was really good with explanations and recommendations given when asked. the wine choice was very good as well.
food was excellent, this made a great few days in to something we really enjoyed. would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

From start to finish our meal at Blackwood was amazing . From the mussels starter to our prefect cooked Steak it was a fantastic experience.
There was nothing that should or could have done better and would give it 10/10.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona3670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#13 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing