We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
loch lomond
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of Nira Caledonia is perfect for a city break. Tucked away in a beautiful cobbled street only minutes away from the heart of the Edinburgh action. The building is very impressive and that theme carries on inside. The welcome we received from the front of house staff was perfect. We arrived early and was instantly offered a welcome drink in the bar while the final touches were made to our room. It was my wife's birthday and they'd set out some beautiful chocolate dipped strawberry's and a hand written card. A full brief on the facilities in the hotel & the room was expertly given by Sue. The garden suite we stayed in had been meticulously prepared and is decorated to a fantastic finish. Blending a contemporary flare with a traditional feel. The gardens are a real treat, with patio doors opening directly onto a terrace with a seating area to relax in. After a trip along George St taking in the sights and Edinburgh hospitality we returned back to the Nira for dinner. We were not disappointed with that either. The waiter had excellent knowledge of the whole menu including it's provenance. The meal was fantastic, the goat cheese starter and the gazpacho beef were a taste sensation. But the real star of the show are the steaks, which were cooked to perfection and served with a great choice of delicious sides. The extensive wine list was also fabulous, we opted for a fantastic Italian Red on the advice from the hotel manager Rory, we were not disappointed. After a delicious meal and after dinner coffees we retired to our suite. The staff had turned it into a candle lit heaven with the turndown service. The bed and pillows were probably the most comfiest I've ever slept in for a long while. A fantastic nights sleep was had and we were fully refreshed in the morning. The breakfast didn't disappoint, it was at the same standard as the evening meal with great produce and a wide selection to choose from. Overall the Nira Caledonia is a fantastic hotel and I would recommend it to everyone. From check in to check out it was a pleasure to stay. Can't wait till we're staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bustasdits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Well bustadits.
What a review.. Seriously . Reading it makes me happy. As I write this we are about to walk into a hellishly busy Friday but I always take a few moments each day to read and reflect on the days reviews . It was great meeting you both over dinner and I'm chuffed the Red wine I suggested was a hit. It's guests like you that make our job a pleasure,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    233
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
731
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel close to nice shops and bars in Stockbridge. We were in the Blackwood Suite, which opened out onto a garden on the basement level. Room was fantastic, jacuzzi bath and jet shower. Staff were great, always happy to help and very friendly.
No problem in recommending this hotel for a weekend trip to Edinburgh, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Blackwood Suite is in the basement, but opens out onto the garden, great to sit out with a coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hey Matt S
Thanks for a great little review. The BlackWood suite is a special room for lots of reasons, it's name which harks back to the days of Christopher North who once lived here and also the name of our Restuarant. The private garden is also a nice little extra. Glad you guys had a great stay. I look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Return visit for dinner with a friend this time, again outstanding meal and service. The staff are excellent and so helpful, without being intrusive. Tried Monkey Gin, excellent so different. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillf24_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Well well Jillf24
I wondered how long it would be until the Monkey 47 Gin got a mention . The boys in the bar love to serve it and it is a firm favourite of mine also ( after a dinner you understand ) . The team in the restaurant really enjoyed looking after you and its great when return guests take a moment to review, see you again soon, ( get David in the bar AKA BanterPants to make you a whiskey sour )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

we booked this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of June, chosen for its quiet location but walking distance to all the city has to offer. The hotel far exceeded our expectations in terms of location, quality and service. Our room on the 1st floor above reception was very spacious and very well appointed. Breakfast was a delight with so much to choose and such pleasant but unobtrusive service. We had a wonderful evening meal on the one night that it rained heavily so we were not inclined to wonder far. Again exceptional service and first class food.
Would not hesitate to recommend, and we will certainly be returning as so much more to see and do in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi ChristineB
Kind of wraps up our aims to be honest, good service, great food, first class staff and of course a little bit of good old fashioned Scottish Banter. We do hard to try to deliver a service that focuses on each guest as an individual and it sound to me like we got it right this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Returning to this hotel I found the quality and service as I have always enjoyed.... EXCEPT... The refurbishment has added an extra star(if only one was available). The little touches that make the hotel so special continued.... Personalised note in my room, the water I like, remembering names etc. my room this time, 10/8, was just HUGE!! So big I could not see the far wall when the lights were off.... Excellent as always.

Room Tip: None - all rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hello JonB
So great when a retuning guest posts a review, it really shows we are not just a one trick pony as they say. The personal touches are the difference that make the difference and we all enjoy trying to make each guest stay better and better. 10/8 is a stunning room, a real touch of "real Edinburgh "
I look forward to welcoming you back to Nira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We had a small double room. Small room indeed but well appointed with lovely views as at the top of the hotel.

Service was very friendly and breakfast quality quite high.

Strongly recommended as good value and in a beautiful quiet residential neighbourhood close to the centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JRM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Took my fiancé as a 30th birthday present and we were not disappointed. The staff were really helpful and friendly and to make things better they gave us a free upgrade with some welcome drinks.
The hotel was very clean and a great place for a relaxing stay. Only a 10 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mackie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Wow. 5 star from you Madkie05
Thanks for taking a few moments to post a review. They really mean a lot to us all. Your title says it all about Nira, a romantic boutique hotel. The whole team strive to make each stay personal and it seems that in your case we done our job, please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,672 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing