We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most pleasant boutique hotel”
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hod HaSharon, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most pleasant boutique hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Nira Caledonia is an elegant, most friendly, convenient, boutique hotel at the centre of lovely Edinburgh.
The rooms are wonderful ( as long as they are not on the top floors) fully equipped, and very comfortable. Service is excellent, and most friendly.
The restaurant , is really fantastic. We enjoyed breakfast ( Scottish +++) truly wonderful
We had dinner and truly enjoyed everything it is a gourmet chef restaurant with classic service and quiet elegant surrounding, truly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elchanan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Elchanan. I tell you what. Your review says exactly what we are trying to achieve .
Thanks for posting a review, so many guests rely on this forum to make a choice about traveling but so many more don't post. Glad you enjoyed breakfast and dinner we pride ourself on great locally sourced foods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    233
    69
    20
    11
See reviews for
91
731
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights in May. We had 2 beautifully appointed neighboring suites on the lower level, sharing a beautiful semi-private garden in the rear of the hotel.
From the moment we checked in, the staff was friendly and attentive. Katie at the front desk and David our waiter for dinner and drinks deserve special mention. All staff members extended themselves to assure our comfort.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile and very convenient to a number of restaurants just minutes away from the hotel by foot.
The restaurant located in the hotel serves an excellent dinner. The included breakfast provided both buffet selections and a nice choice of freshly prepared dishes.
We loved the Nira. When we return to Edinburgh, this will be our first choice of hotels.

Room Tip: The lower level suites in unit 6 were beautiful and have access to the garden in the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdthum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Wow Sdthum
What a title for a review, honestly that makes me smile.
Thank you for name dropping Katie on the front desk and David in the restaurant. Katie has been with me for a long while and really knows 5 star service inside out ( although she sometimes gets confused with countries on a map )
It's great to hear you are planning to return. Remember to book direct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Been to Edinburgh many many times in my life. This time in Edinburgh for a family wedding for a 3 night stay in June 2014. Needed close access for walking into city centre and wanted a nicer B & B than the ones I've stayed in the past.
- Very quiet area of Newtown. Very nice walk up hill to Princes Street.
- Hard to find on map the 1st few times when coming back to hotel - would suggest an area map for guests or possibly a map or even a phone number on the access card. Coming back late the 1st night in dark took me forever to find Gloucester Place as there are gardens and alleyways surrounding this small street and its not on the main tourist maps.
- No air conditioning and it was a hot weekend so was desperately hot after taking a shower. A fan would have been nice.
- The breakfast was plentiful and good. Very charming breakfast eating area.
- Room was adequate although if I had had the energy I would have complained and asked for upgrade. I was below street level and the window wouldn't open above 5 inches. Further to compound that, the area outside the window is where the maintenance worker has his things and takes his break. I don't smoke and the smoke coming in from his cigarette drove me crazy.
- Front service people were very friendly and helpful in many circumstances. I was most impressed.

Would I recommend - yes. I am upset I didn't ask to be upgraded to another room upon seeing it but I had just been on an overnight flight, spent the morning touring, so was too exhausted to deal with it.

Location, breakfast, and quiet charm make it a solid 4*

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gottogetaway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Gottogetaway01
Interesting little review, thanks for posting after your stay. Thanks also for your suggestions, I thought I'd take a few moments to address them in order,
We offer maps at reception and in our welcome packs so I'm a little surprised you never had one, but simply asking at reception could have resolved this for you.

Air conditioning. You are right we do not have any air conditioning. This is due to the hotel being a listed building and such aggressive works in a building of this nature are not permitted, we do offer cold air fans with temperature controls for the few days a year that Edinburgh is actually warm, just ask at reception and we will happily put one In your room.

Looking at your booking, you stayed in a petite double room as per your booking, if you had of required a larger room or more space booking an executive room or a suite would perhaps be a better idea. With regard to the staff member smoking outside your room, after investigation this was an outside contractor doing work in the hotel, I have since spoken with their company, but thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
212 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

lovely hotel with super good looking staff. our first room was terribly small and were upgraded to a suite which was fabulous. the breakfast were wonderful and in a great location. one suggestion please lose the very kitsch rose archways at the entrance

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hello Alison.
Thanks for saying the team are super good looking a few of them really are stunning. Our petit rooms are cosy but honestly they are great for 1 or 2 nights. I'm glad the suite you upgraded to suited you better, also we are removing the beautiful willow arches as Edinburgh council do not like them ( boo)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel in new town, hotel & rooms wonderfully furnished, with nice restaurant. Very professional staff attending to your every need. Quiet location away from crowds, walking distance to Princes St.

Definitely recommend over the larger hotel chains, and half the price!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kudutrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Yup Kudutrek

Your review sums up what we are in a nutshell. Boutique, well furnished, personal and professional. Thank you for taking the time to post as so many guests forget but it really makes a big difference to the team and to myself, I. Look forward to you retuning to stay at some point in the future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

on arrival staff were amazing they took our car and found close parking and took our bags to our room we booked the jaccuzi suite which was great all was clean and to a nice standard we had a drink brought to us on the house great expresso coffee machine cant find nothing bad to say about this place it is stunning breakfast was great too only one think when opening the bathroom glass door it cut my partners toe so just be carefull of that we went to reception and told the they gave antiseptic wipe and plarster never spoilt our stay really we will be going back in the future the staff are great a real credit to this hotel especially shaun on reception thanks guys xxxx

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mcfaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hello Mcfaul
It really was great looking after you both. Glad you liked the wee cheeky drink on arrival, we do try to spoil our guests. We have investigated the both room door situation and as a precaution removed and replaced although we found nothing wrong. Thanks for name dropping Shon, he is a trooper and gives his all to guests and staff alike, he's often to be heard dropping the phrase " Mind that time " he is a top lad and works very hard , we reward him with biscuit boosts..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Would heartily recommend this boutique-style elegant and refined hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Edinburgh and who has a few pounds to spare in return for an upmarket experience.

Located in what must be one of the smartest addresses in Edinburgh, for many this will be as close as you get to owning your own Edinburgh townhouse, full of old money glamour yet chic and never dated.

Our room was lovely and the breakfast buffet looked so good I had to take photographs of it.

My only quibbles: there was a crack in our sink and the bath felt as though it was on the cusp of not draining properly, finally a button on the tv started flashing during the night, however these are very minor quibbles and I'm only stating them because it is only possible to say "it was great" so often. Would definitely come back for a special occasion and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 6/12 with access to the garden out back and would heartily recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Sandy A
Thanks for this review . It makes us all very proud when we see guests taking photos of the breakfast buffet because it takes time and effort to source all the items , most of which are sourced locally in Stockbridge . The minor issues you mentioned are noted, our whole hotel is listed and simply removing bathroom sinks can cause all sorts of issues but we are aware of it, the TV button flashing in the night is an odd one , ill have our maintenance team look at it today,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing