We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nira Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nira Caledonia
Ranked #15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was considering not giving a review to keep the place a secret. Great welcome service, pleasant knowledgeable and relaxed staff, fresh and beautiful rooms and common areas, and great breakfast. 2 minutes walk to upper end part of town and 15 minute walk to the center- what else could you wish for in a hotel?

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anders T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hello AndersT
Can't say much better than "outstanding" . Thanks for posting such a valued and upbeat review.
During August it's difficult to please all incoming guests but is sounds as with with your stay we did just that. I hope one day you find the opportunity to return to Nira in Edinburgh .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    768
    229
    67
    20
    11
See reviews for
90
725
38
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel was done up two years ago. It has an intimate cosy feel to it. Shortly after arriving a glass of bubbly was brought to the room as a welcome, that was much appreciated. We had a room on the very top floor which was charming. But it is quite a trek up two floors of a very grand staircase, then the last flight of stairs which was quite small. Thankfully the marvellous staff carried the luggage up and down which was a big help. The view from the rooms at the back of the hotel was fantastic. I spent sometime in the bar area of the restaurant waiting for my husband and the staff were helpful and charming throughout. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back have amazing views, the higher up the better. However, it is a bit of a trek to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Well Karen C
Think your review does exactly what it says on the tin. We are a lovely little hotel, centrally placed for everything and hidden away enough to avoid the hustle bustle of town. Our rooms at the top of the hotel do have fab views of the city and over Stockbridge and Fettes and really are stunning at dusk, I'm glad you liked them and although there are a few stairs as you pointed out our dedicated Concierge team ( Neil and Jamie ) will happily lift and carry luggage and bags daily. ( they also are the guys to know should you want a table in town on a busy night ). I really glad you enjoyed your time with us, I look forward to seeing you when you return .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have only good things to say about this hotel. The service was professional and friendly, the rooms were trendy and beautiful (they look like a Restoration Hardware catalogue, and they have nice modern bathrooms), the breakfast was good, and the location was charming. One word on the location, though--if you like to stay right in the center of all the famous sites, you should probably find a hotel on Princes Street. This hotel is located in a very charming, upscale neighborhood with cafes and local businesses in the immediate vicinity, but it is probably a 15-20 minute walk (uphill and over cobblestones, though otherwise beautiful) to where the real tourist-centered action starts (and farther up to the castle). This was perfect for us, but maybe not if you want to be in the very heart of downtown. If you like to see a bit more of the city but still be within easy distance of the heart of it all, then this location can't be beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Aarhus
Thanks for posting this review, it makes great reading, we are "off the beaten track" slightly but that's part of the beauty I believe and StockBridge is such a hidden gem of an area with local artisan shops and cool bars and restaurants. Lots of our own produce comes from these nearby shops and the Sunday Farmers market that happened weekly . Thanks for saying our rooms are trendy, we worked very hard to find the right balance between high end and contemporary with each room having its own design and flair. I hope you find time to return to Edinburgh and to us at Nira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Just back from a 3 night stay at nira caledonia and had to write and say what an incredible hotel !!
The staff are so friendly and helpful, from the manager to the cleaners , front of house and restaurant staff
We booked a petite double and was surprised how big it was it was hottest weather I think Scotland's had and we asked for a fan which was brought up straight away .

We loved the fact the hotel was away from the bustling tourist parts but a short walk and you are in the throng of things .
There are excellent shops nearby. We ended up buying 2 paintings so a fab reminder of a lovely 3 days

Will definitely be back to the nira
Thank you to all the team for your welcome

Room Tip: Don't be scared to book a petite double
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Eh hello Markh1966
You my friend can come back and stay any time, what a great review. Reading it this morning with my coffee made me smile. This time of year in Edinburgh is difficult for any hotel due to it being just so so busy. Your review made us all smile and trust me on a Monday that is a rare thing . Thanks for posting you made my day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Nira Caledonia and we loved it. It is located in a posh residential area (Stockbridge) close to restaurants, wine/cheese boutiques, as well as the local Stockbridge Market. The area is nice and quiet. The hotel is a series of townhouses with rooms located in both the upper and lower floors. I would highly recommend splurging for one of the rooms with a terrace. Our room was large and had a bathroom, soaker tub, sitting area (with sofa, chair, table), bedroom (king size bed) and then french doors leading to an outdoor sitting area that backed onto a garden....simply divine! The cost of our room was approximately 265GBP and included a lovely continental breakfast in the main restaurant.

We preferred this location (as it was out of the main downtown area of Edinburgh), so you'll need to walk to get to the tourist spots. (Worth noting: it was about 15mins to get from the hotel to the Scottish National Gallery and 30mins to get to the Royal Mile)

We definitely will go back to Edinburgh (one of my top ten European cities) and stay at the Nira again.

Room Tip: Splurge for the rooms with an outdoor terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello HMTraveler

I suppose that your title is exactly what we are, a lovely boutique hotel. We are just a small 28 bedroom property, we are a listed building , we can't have air conditioning or elevators but we can give amazing service, stunning food and over all that feeling of personal attention and a real nice experience.
Sound to me like you liked everything . That means we done our job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel over a long weekend and were not disappointed.

From the moment we got there, the staff made sure we felt welcome and comfortable. They were very attentive to our needs, so much so we mentioned it was perfect ice cream weather and 5 minutes later we heard a knock on our room door with two ice creams. A nice touch I thought.

We stayed in one of the Jacuzzi suites, which was clean, spacious and comfortable. We also had access to the garden, which was nice and we got lucky with the weather so we took full advantage.

The breakfasts had a nice mix of cooked to order options, cereals, fresh pastries and fruits.

Its location is about 10 minutes walk from the main part of town, so its quiet enough to get a decent nights sleep. The surrounding area also has nice boutique shops and restaurants should you want some time away from the city centre.

This was a great hotel to stay at, great service and we had such a relaxed, comfortable stay I have no doubt we will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burbury81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hello Burbury81
Looking at your past reviews of other hotels seems your a hard man to please but it sounds like we done it. The ice cream to your room was young Jamie our Conceirge's idea ( have to be honest he got me one too and the whole team that were working that day ) so I'm glad you liked it. The little things like this really set us apart as a true boutique hotel and we do try to push the envelope on service and standards. I look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh and to Nira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in an Executive Double (6-14), set up with twin beds.

Room was of adequate size and felt modern.

Highlights:

- Staff! Everyone was very helpful, friendly and professional. Assisted with everything we asked for (with a smile) and everyone was always up for a small chat. Never felt stiff.
- High-quality decor/furniture/towels
- Jacuzzi and a really good rain shower
- Great, personal little bar
- Location

Lowlights:

- Room was on -1 floor with zero views, facing some kind of staff area. Bit strange for a room one category up (Executive) in my opinion
- Very little wardrobe space (primarily too few shelves/drawers)
- The twin beds were VERY small
- Seemingly thin walls, could hear staff working just outside our room and could hear our neighbours talking

Other notes:

Booked (a very reasonably priced) transfer both from and to the airport via the hotel. From the airport, I was picked up in an executive car which was great. On the way back, there was some kind of random van which didn't feel very exciting. Both drivers were very nice though!

Conclusion:

The highlights definitely outmatch the lowlights, so I would certainly stay here again and would recommend Nira to anyone travelling to Edinburgh. Next time, I'll request a room with a view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nosajthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoryGM, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello Prios
Nice little review .
Your highlights are brilliant, I've read these out the the team .
Your lowlights though,,.ok let's tackle them in order.

Room. Yup your right some of our rooms are below ground level but all are fully refurbished and have bright airy space.
- wardrobe space. This is a great point, due to the size and shape of some rooms, we have added smaller wardrobes , if you require more space during a stay , let us know.
- twin beds, think any single bed will feel a bit small, I've checked and these are a standard single bed size
- thin wall. Yes you're right, however due to the hotel being a listed building we cannot change the wall thickness.

All in all it seems you had a great stay with us, thanks for the positive post, I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nira Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Property: Nira Caledonia
Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing