We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alba Hills Guest House
Ranked #88 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Myself and five other friends stayed here over New Years and we could not fault the place in any way. Staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help every time. Cleanliness of the bedrooms and bathrooms were of an extremely high standard. Breakfast in the mornings offered a wide range of pastries, cereals, fruit and cooked breakfasts, all again of a high standard. During our stay it was one of the girl's birthdays and she was presented with a birthday cake, not expected, but yet a clear example of the hospitality provided by the staff at Alba Hills. When I return to Edinburgh I will be staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your kind comments, we are really glad you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us in such a special dates. Feedback like yours make our job a lot easier and even more enjoyable. We will be deligthed to welcome you, your family or your friends any time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Alba Hills Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We found our stay at Alba Hills Quest Home most enjoyable. Itziar was a
treasure and a great hostess(pleasant ,helpful & very eager to please). Breakfast
was delicious and the accommodations very pleasing. Had a slight problem
with our shower but dealt with immediately. Bed was very comfortable and
room very clean. Our first trip to Scotland and our stay at Alba Hills added
greatly to our positive experience. Location to most areas of interest was
very accessible by both bus and cab. When out at night felt comfortable and safe walking in area. Recommend taking tour of Highlands by Highland Tours.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your positive and kind comments. Knowing that our guests enjoy their stay at Alba Hills and at Edinburgh gives sense to our efforts and job. We hope you will visit Edinburgh again soon and we will be delighted to welcome you again at Alba Hills Guest House. Thank you from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Having read some of the previous reviews (under old ownership) and having read the latest reviews (under new management), we were absolutely delighted with our three day stay here. Not only were the staff very friendly and whom always made you very welcome - nothing requested was too much of an annoyance to them - and the room and breakfast was first class. Our room was clean, a decent bed to sleep on and it was warm and quiet. It certainly seems the new management has everything under control. Well done and thank you for a memorable stay.
Julie and Andy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, making our Guests to enjoy their stay in Edinburgh and at our Guest House gives sense to our job and we are really glad you both enjoyed your time with us. We will be really happy to welcome you again any time. Thank you again from all the Alba Hills Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the Guest House for 2 nights and it was my mums birthday one of the days we were there. My dad asked the owner if she could bring a birthday cake out for my mum at breakfast on her birthday. When we got down for our breakfast there was a bunch of flowers and a card waiting for mum at the table from the owners. They bought the cake out after we had eaten and joined in singing happy birthday to my mum. They were so helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was tasty and there was a good choice and we were offered more toast and tea or coffee. The bedrooms were comfortable,and very clean, ours (a triple room) had an ensuite which we weren't expecting. There was a kettle in our room with tea, coffee and hot chocolate, biscuits and a chocolate each. Clean towels and shampoo and shower gel too. We had heard bad things about this Guest house after we had booked it and were quite worried but then it was taken over a few months before we went and we couldn't have asked for more. I would recommend this guest house as the new owners are certainly trying to build up the reputation of this place and they were absolutely brilliant. We would definitely go there again if we visited Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juney_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Was really nice to have you and your family in our Guest House. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and Edinburgh and we hope to be able to welcome yo here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

When we stayed here in September last year we were shouted at when we asked where to park. Got given a triple room when we'd booked a double, but apparently it's first come first served!! Got told to leave the breakfast table at exactly 9am when we had only sat down at 8:50 because there weren't enough tables for everyone. Had to share a bathroom with about 10 other people, if the shower was in use then no toilet!! TV in room was broken, got shouted at when we reported this. We stood up to the old man and he literally flipped and went mad!!!! The staff were nice but obviously very scared of this man.
Anyway, negative comments aside I see it has now been taken over and in comparison to what it was the rooms like lovely. Knowing that the owner is no longer there will tempt us to return.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you very much for your comments; we have heard so much about the old business and nothing good and after seeing the state of the rooms and facilities on the day we had the keys we understood all the complains. There is still so much to be done, upgrade and redecorate but we are doing our best and little by little is getting to the standards that we want to offer to ur guests. We will be delighted to welcome you at Alba Hills and we hope we will make you forget the past bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed for three nights in august and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was a double and had plenty of storage space and was cleaned daily, the bed was very comfortable. There was a shared bathroom which also was cleaned regularly. Free Wi Fi is available and tea and coffee with kettle was in the room. The hotel is in need of redecorating, but is clean and a few minor faults need fixing, such as an extractor fan hanging off the wall in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Access into the centre of Edinburgh centre is easy with numerous buses passing by the front door (including through the night).
I am already working out dates for my stay next year and will book here at my earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigguyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to offer you our hospitality again next year. We hope by then all the refurbishment and upgrading will be made and will make yur stay even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We arrived to a very friendly welcome but had to park a few streets away as there were only three parking spaces. The room was really too small but was clean and well presented. The 'en suite' was basically a cupboard built into the room but did serve it's purpose - the shower was a good size which was welcomed as my partner is 6ft 3in. We had a really nice breakfast the next day; lots of choice and, again, the staff were really friendly and provided good service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are happy you had a nice stay at the Alba Hills Guest House. We have different room sizes, next time call us in advance and we will place your booking in one of the doubles king size. We will be deligthed to offer you and your partner our hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Abcorn Guest House
Abcorn Guest House
#173 of 393 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenalmond House
Glenalmond House
#61 of 393 in Edinburgh
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#77 of 393 in Edinburgh
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clan Walker Guest House
Clan Walker Guest House
#98 of 393 in Edinburgh
233 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#48 of 393 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Hills Guest House

Address: 33 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba Hills Guest House is an elegant Victorian house with many original features, we are a family run Guest House offering friendly and welcoming hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and tasty hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alba Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hills Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Alba Hills Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing