We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alba Hills Guest House
Ranked #82 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place lovely staff.”
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Ourselves and all our family took advantage of the groupon deal to spend the weekend in Edinburgh. We had 4 rooms. They were all clean and tidy and the beds were comfy. We had the smallest room on the top floor. Its a beautiful old building with great features. As its old it didn't have double glazing so suffered slightly with the road noise but after a good few drinks slept fine anyway. Family in the back rooms say it was nice and quiet so if you're a light sleeper would advise to ask for those rooms. Yes the shower pump is noisy but not worth getting upset over and in fact the shower was hot and powerful and the noise just drowned out my wifes awful singing in the shower which is a good thing. The breakfast was amazing. The portion size was perfect as I was not over stuffed and nothing went to waste. The owner is a lovely woman with a big smile for you. All the staff were lovely and nothing was too much for them. Taxi prices to town was between £8 and £12 but think it varied as the drivers seemed to take the longer routes at first until we got our bearings. Edinburgh was a beautiful place and our stay was made even better by this lovely guest house. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you to you and your family for taking the time to write a review and for being so cooperative with all the Alba Hills team. We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, our rooms and the breakfast and thank you for all the tips to future guests. More renovations are on the way to be done in January: windows, new electrical showers; is an ongoing project with the final objective to make the stay of our guests as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    53
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
51
40
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

a wee bit far from princess st but nice change to see another part of edinburgh.plenty shops, bars and restuarants,and for the ladys, great cheap designer shop called trouve nearby!second hand and great bargains ,2mins walk from hotel,breakfast lovely and good atmosphere and lovely staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeali40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ItziarVelasco, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for the shopping tips for our future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the atmosphere at Alba Hills Guest House and we will be delighted to welcome you again in the future. From all the staff at Alba Hills thank you for the kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I stayed for two nights with my three daughters and their partners, so that's eight in total. We all turned up for breakfast at the same time with different demands on what we wanted to eat. However we all received a hot freshly cooked breakfast at the same time, and it was delicious. Coffee, tea and toast just kept coming, all served by the most friendly staff i have ever met. I have problems with my legs so they accommodated me on the ground floor, we all enthused about the immaculate rooms that had everything you could need. Goldilocks would have loved it here! the beds were of a superior quality. I can't say enough about my experience except i know we shall return as the service was five star, the rooms were lovely and the staff made you feel like they were your friends without being overbearing. A lovely, lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. We are overwhelmed by your positive comments and we are really glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, our hospitality and our breakfast. It was a pleasure for all the Alba Hills team to meet you and your family and we do hope to see you again soon! Best wishes to all of you until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Alba Hills Guest House on a 2 night Groupon stay which cost £45 each. A bargain!! We were made to feel very welcome at all times and received excellent service from all the staff. Our room was a large double on the top floor overlooking the back. Our bed was HUGE with crisp clean white linen. We enjoyed adequate space within our room - even chance to sit at a table in the square bay and read. Our room was en-suite with a good shower. Breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful. We both ordered scrambled egg and salmon on both days - which was very tasty, although there was also a varied choice of cereal, pastries, fruit etc.

We walked into the city centre on both days/nights during our stay and found this experience very safe, enjoyable and interesting as the buildings in this area are amazing. It took us around 25-30 mins to walk to The Royal Mile which we felt was manageable (even after an alcoholic drink on the Saturday evening)!! We ate one night at the indian restaurant which was recommended to us by the owners. (Sorry, can't remember the name of it but first one you come to as you head right out of Alba Hills).

A nice, comfortable and enjoyable stay. Definitely one I hope to return to. Thank you Alba Hills.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review and for all your positive feedback and tips for future guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Edinburgh and our recommendations. We will be really happy to welcome you at Alba Hills in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed for 1 week in October 2012 and loved every minute. The price was very affordable and the location provides easy access to all the sights--by bus, but the walk to High Street is not bad. The neighborhood feels very safe and the locals are always happy to help. My room was in the back on the 2nd floor, and while it wasn't as well decorated as the others, it was very quiet, clean, tidy and had a nice view of the back yard. The bathroom was just steps away, had been completely updated and afforded plenty of hot water. Breakfast was marvelous and included many low-cal and low-fat options. The staff were lovely and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable, including providing some travel advice for the area before I arrived. I was able to stow my luggage, change, and freshen up after my early morning arrival, which made the rest of the day so much easier. I will definitely stay there again when in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, for your kind comments and for all the information provided for future guests. We are overwhelmed by the positive feedback and we hope to be able to maintain the standards and keep improving our service and facilities. From all the Alba Hills GH team Thank you very much!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipperfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was looking for clean comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation for 4 nights over the 2012 Edinburgh Festival.

The accommodation is within 20 minutes walk of the City Centre. The room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast was very good and check in arrangements were flexible.

The accommodation suited my needs perfectly and was extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear we managed to make your stay welcoming and comfortable and we will be really glad to welcome you at Alba Hills any time in the future. From all the Guest House team Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here for three nights in August 2012. The staff are very friendly and Itziar the manageress is very warm and welcoming.
I had a single room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet. The room has recently been converted to an 'en-suite' with a very modern bathroom. My room was tidied every day and the breakfast from a menu is more than ample to set you up for the day. Buses run from outside the front door every few minutes and take you directly into town. I'll be back next year to the festival and I'll definately stay here again, so save me a room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigguyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albahills, Manager at Alba Hills Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind coments. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Alba Hills and Edinburgh. We are already looking forward to welcome you again next year and to hear your recommendations for the fringe shows. From all the team at Alba Hills Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#47 of 392 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#37 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Classic Guest House
Classic Guest House
#69 of 392 in Edinburgh
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#50 of 392 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arden Guest House
Arden Guest House
#182 of 392 in Edinburgh
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Hills Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Hills Guest House

Property: Alba Hills Guest House
Address: 33 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alba Hills Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alba Hills Guest House is an elegant Victorian house with many original features, we are a family run Guest House offering friendly and welcoming hospitality, clean and comfortable rooms, and tasty hot breakfast in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alba Hills Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hills Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Alba Hills Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing