We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!”
Review of Thistle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle House
Ranked #291 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had an excellent experience, particularly thanks to the staff working there. I was traveling alone and I stayed one night in a single room. The size of the room was good (en-suite) and very clean. Breakfast was very good as well, and the price makes it one of the best choices in Edinburgh. I highly recommend this B&B if you do not mind to walk a bit to reach the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    39
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
35
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, rooms were good and very clean. Considering the cold weather, the rooms were very warm and comfortable. The staff make you feel at home, breakfast was very good. Very close to the bus stop as well.
Should stay next time you visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAvishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in room 9. I was impressed, the room was really nice considering what I paid, good value! The room was clean and cozy, really comfortable. The staff were friendly and welcoming. If I visit Edinburgh again I will probably here stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The chap was very helpful and explained everything to us. The room clean and spacious with a comfy bed. We felt very welcome. I would recommend to friends and family. The guest information book was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MhaMcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here as we had a night out in Edinburgh and we all had a very enjoyable stay. Cheap, cheerful, clean, comfy bed, tv, kettle, plenty tea/coffee etc, hairdryer, good size bathroom with great shower. Staff are very friendly and were very attentive especially at breakfast which included scrambled or fried eggs, cereal, tea or coffee, juices, yogurts and toast. I would return and definitely recommend the Thistle House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

cheap,cheerful and very clean, i couldnt fault it,it had everything you could need for a pleasant stay in Edinburgh, good bed,perfectly working tv, shower, kettle and wifi,its in a quiet area so had a good nights sleep and only a stroll away from bus stops which provides regular buses into the city centre,the staff were very attentive especially at breakfast they were professional and ''on the ball'' i felt very well looked after without them being over the top, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the festival. I usually stay at the city hostel in cowgate which is cleaner and cheaper. I will not be staying here again. The website I booked on advertised parking -it's on the road and hard to come by. The room we stayed in downstairs stank of urine. Breakfast was cereal and toast- why bother?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veganlucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Appin House
#64 of 392 in Edinburgh
134 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#156 of 392 in Edinburgh
52 reviews
Marchhall Accomodations
#227 of 392 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arden Guest House
#189 of 392 in Edinburgh
122 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#100 of 392 in Edinburgh
288 reviews
The Edinburgh Lodge
#107 of 392 in Edinburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House

Property: Thistle House
Address: 1 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle House is a spacious Victorian building close to Edinburgh's major attractions. Ten rooms, each tastefully decorated to ensure a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Thistle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing