We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thistle House
Ranked #327 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Comrie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely room, very homely and comfy. Very spacious. Couple of sticky marks on bedside table, no big deal. Lovely owners. Free parking. Had a lovely warm feeling about it. First guesthouse we have stayed in as we usually attend hotels and we were very impressed. Thanks again will be returning and recommending.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracey213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    39
    20
    11
    11
See reviews for
22
35
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Free parking on drive or road was a bonus. House was freezing when we arrived so went out for food and was warmish when we returned. Room a fair size and was good value for the price paid. Bus into Edinburgh centre takes about 20 mins from the end of the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozzasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I had an excellent experience, particularly thanks to the staff working there. I was traveling alone and I stayed one night in a single room. The size of the room was good (en-suite) and very clean. Breakfast was very good as well, and the price makes it one of the best choices in Edinburgh. I highly recommend this B&B if you do not mind to walk a bit to reach the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isab5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, rooms were good and very clean. Considering the cold weather, the rooms were very warm and comfortable. The staff make you feel at home, breakfast was very good. Very close to the bus stop as well.
Should stay next time you visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KAvishh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in room 9. I was impressed, the room was really nice considering what I paid, good value! The room was clean and cozy, really comfortable. The staff were friendly and welcoming. If I visit Edinburgh again I will probably here stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The chap was very helpful and explained everything to us. The room clean and spacious with a comfy bed. We felt very welcome. I would recommend to friends and family. The guest information book was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MhaMcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here as we had a night out in Edinburgh and we all had a very enjoyable stay. Cheap, cheerful, clean, comfy bed, tv, kettle, plenty tea/coffee etc, hairdryer, good size bathroom with great shower. Staff are very friendly and were very attentive especially at breakfast which included scrambled or fried eggs, cereal, tea or coffee, juices, yogurts and toast. I would return and definitely recommend the Thistle House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anji T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
#89 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#122 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Sakura House
Sakura House
#406 of 444 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosehall Hotel
#183 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Number 45 Bed & Breakfast
#159 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle House

Property: Thistle House
Address: 1 Kilmaurs Terrace, Edinburgh EH16 5BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thistle House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle House is a spacious Victorian building close to Edinburgh's major attractions. Ten rooms, each tastefully decorated to ensure a warm and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Thistle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing