We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty room”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #172 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had to stay here overnight as our planned accommodation had double booked us. We were grateful to have a room for the night however it was far from nice. The bedroom housed 5 very uncomfortable beds (springs sticking out). The outer bedding was smelly and stained but the sheets and pillowcases were clean. The room in general was grubby and dusty and the floor had bits all over it. The shared bathroom was also dirty. The toilet was covered in something unmentionable. We only used it for the basics as we were not comfortable using the shower or sink. However the staff were very nice and the breakfast was reasonable. Would not stay here again though.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be put in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dibayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We opted to stay at this hotel as it had a family room sleeping 5 available for our required dates. It is a very simple and basic hotel. Unfortunately, the sofa bed (i.e. The 5th bed) was too big to unfold in the room; it was also very grubby, covered in sugar etc.

the bathroom needed a good clean and it was obvious from the build up of dust that the beds etc were never pulled out for vacuuming.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but I didn't feel able to raise the above issues!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prestwoodcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Abbey Lodge was a high point of our trip to Edinburgh. OK, it didn't beat the Castle or the Royal Mile, but it was a clean and comfortable room, a very friendly staff (with a sense of humor, I might add), and decent food in the attached pub, with a good breakfast (ok, I admit it, I'm just never going to like beans as part of breakfast..fortunately, they're happy to "hold the beans" or otherwise customize your breakfast) . Abbey Lodge is a sort of odd mix of Hotel and B&B. It is a purpose built building, all with en-suite bathrooms - so no breadbox sized shower, and no odd sized and shaped rooms! The family friendly Pub/restaurant attracted some very nice locals that were great to chat with. I got the impression that the staff were relatively few, but you wouldn't know it by the level of service. Abbey Lodge is also less than 50 yar..uh, meters, from a bus stop that will take you right into the heart of Edinburgh. We were very happy with our short stay, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Smashing little hotel. The staff are very friendly. The locals that drink in the bar are very friendly. The rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is great and plenty of off road parking. First impression, I was put off by the prices, I thought I was going to stay in a dive. I was wrong. The next time I work within miles of Edinburgh, I will stay here. There are local pubs and takeaways nearby but theres no need to use them.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annie29B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,058 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,644 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,097 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Address: 137 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Abbey Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing