We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight stay at the Abbey lodge guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #157 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at the Abbey lodge guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Owners were very polite. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was ok to sleep in. A bit cramped due to having a single bed in the room as well as a double. A bit old fashioned decor. En-suite bathroom was clean and tidy.

Breakfast was between 7am and 9am. (bit too early on a Sunday) If you ask for the full english be prepared though. It could do with a little less grease on the plate. We found it a bit too much for us. The plates could do with being a bit bigger so it does not look too much on one plate.

We stayed overnight as we did a ghost investigation nearby. We found it useful for that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the road. watch for the step when you enter the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shade1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

on a recent work related trip to edinburgh i was shocked at the expense involved in staying the city, so after contacting a friend who lives in Glasgow he came up with the abbey lodge as a more affordable accomodation,although i would not rate the lodge as top class it was clean and comfortable and at 40 pounds pppn on a friday and saturday it was a lot cheaper than other places, the staff were friendly and the food good,however try to book a room to the rear because the road is busy and i struggled to sleep! allin all i would stay again

Room Tip: book a room to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We had to stay here overnight as our planned accommodation had double booked us. We were grateful to have a room for the night however it was far from nice. The bedroom housed 5 very uncomfortable beds (springs sticking out). The outer bedding was smelly and stained but the sheets and pillowcases were clean. The room in general was grubby and dusty and the floor had bits all over it. The shared bathroom was also dirty. The toilet was covered in something unmentionable. We only used it for the basics as we were not comfortable using the shower or sink. However the staff were very nice and the breakfast was reasonable. Would not stay here again though.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be put in the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dibayliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Bucks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We opted to stay at this hotel as it had a family room sleeping 5 available for our required dates. It is a very simple and basic hotel. Unfortunately, the sofa bed (i.e. The 5th bed) was too big to unfold in the room; it was also very grubby, covered in sugar etc.

the bathroom needed a good clean and it was obvious from the build up of dust that the beds etc were never pulled out for vacuuming.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but I didn't feel able to raise the above issues!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prestwoodcaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Abbey Lodge was a high point of our trip to Edinburgh. OK, it didn't beat the Castle or the Royal Mile, but it was a clean and comfortable room, a very friendly staff (with a sense of humor, I might add), and decent food in the attached pub, with a good breakfast (ok, I admit it, I'm just never going to like beans as part of breakfast..fortunately, they're happy to "hold the beans" or otherwise customize your breakfast) . Abbey Lodge is a sort of odd mix of Hotel and B&B. It is a purpose built building, all with en-suite bathrooms - so no breadbox sized shower, and no odd sized and shaped rooms! The family friendly Pub/restaurant attracted some very nice locals that were great to chat with. I got the impression that the staff were relatively few, but you wouldn't know it by the level of service. Abbey Lodge is also less than 50 yar..uh, meters, from a bus stop that will take you right into the heart of Edinburgh. We were very happy with our short stay, and would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulFeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Smashing little hotel. The staff are very friendly. The locals that drink in the bar are very friendly. The rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is great and plenty of off road parking. First impression, I was put off by the prices, I thought I was going to stay in a dive. I was wrong. The next time I work within miles of Edinburgh, I will stay here. There are local pubs and takeaways nearby but theres no need to use them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Si W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edinburgh
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#96 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 137 Drum Street, Edinburgh EH17 8RJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Abbey Lodge Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing