We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here and had been travelling for nearly three weeks before we arrived here so were very pleasantly surprised at the beautiful building and location of this hotel. Situated on a very quiet street and with private parking is a real bonus for a city centre hotel. The breakfast was great and perfectly cooked and we would definitely recommend this to family and friends. Thanks to Freddie and Fiona for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Had a great one night break at hid lovely b&b. Great location close to the city centre but tucked away from all the traffic. Room was cosy and clean. Hostess was lovely very warming and helpful, topped off with a fantastic breakfast. We also got to meet Jet the dog much to the delight of our one year old daughter. We will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

very nice hotel just minutes from main road down a quiet street . About 10 minutes from princes street.nice room .Breakfast was good with diferent choices. car parking at rear free.Had a nice couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forbes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Broughton is tucked away in a nice quiet location yet only 5 minutes from the main shopping area. Our host Fiona was welcoming and attentive without being overbearing. The room was spacious and well decorated. A quiet nights sleep was easily had as there was not a sound to be heard. Breakfast was a good choice and the best service I have had. A pre-emptive apology that breakfast may be delayed as a large order had been placed when I had just buttered some toast and it arrived! Would highly recommend as good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My daughter and I were attending a conference in Edinburgh and wanted a central small hotel to stay. The Broughton was perfect. Lovely and clean with a great welcome from the owners. A great night's sleep away from busy roads. Nice fully functioning bathroom. Gorgeous breakfast with lots of choice. Would definately recommend. there was even a parking space for us to use overnght which was a huge bonus in a city centre.

Room Tip: in a really quiet area so not going to be any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Excellent - location, accommodation, price, staff, food (delicious breakfasts). Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Friendly and helpful staff to make the most of your stay in the City.Excellent location for restaurants and the main attractions of the City.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#34 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,125 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#18 of 395 in Edinburgh
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fraoch House
#8 of 395 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 395 in Edinburgh
526 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 395 in Edinburgh
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £74 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city center Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed WiFi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing