We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broughton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Broughton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

A friendly welcoming clean B & B. The best breakfast I have had in a long time. Would stay there again and recommend it to any one. The Hotel is in walking distance of all the main attractions, but is in a quiet area so sleeping was not a problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discofred57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for that, nice to hear good comments
Cheers Freddie & Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    251
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
152
373
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We chose to stay at the Broughton because of its convenient location, reasonable rates, and having a free place to park (quite a rarity so close to the city center). Though the property was rather difficult to find in the dark (mostly due to detours, as the city streets were being torn up for a new tram system), our room seemed quite smaller than it appeared in some online photos, and the bed was hard as a brick, the hospitality and charm of the owners, Fiona and Freddie, more than made up for it. Knowing that we would have to depart quite early for our return flight, Fiona assembled a breakfast "care package" and left it in our room the night before. Our hosts were especially helpful in recommending best ways to get around town. The name has been changed to a townhouse or guesthouse -- much more fitting than a hotel -- so with the right expectations and proper frame of mind, the Broughton would be a most enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mallenkaufman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discofred57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Hi Sorry you found the bed a bit hard they are orthopaedic mattress's that we use through out this establishment and are chosen for there quality and firmess so they are beneficial for backs and muscle complaints/ problems I can only assume you are one of the lucky persons who can enjoy a good nights sleep on a big fluffy mattress (unlike the vast majority of us) I do hope it did not spoil your stay and we really appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again sometime.

Regards Freddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this Hotel. Owners are like 'old' friends and we enjoyed our chats with them. Great walking location into Edinburgh with car parking at the back which is a bonus. Accommodation is older but is good value for the price. Breakfast is always lovely. Would recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellersDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Hard to say a bad word about this place. Excellent location. Reasonable prices. Friendly and helpful staff (Fiona is a gem!). Rooms a little small, but to be expected for price and type of building. Beds were super comfy, and most amazing of all - so quiet you would have sworn no one else was staying there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if stair climbing is an issue, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahoutma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is situated in a very convenient location, with numerous eating places nearby and just a short walk to many of beautiful Edinburgh's major attractions. We would be very happy to return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Very nice B&B. A little worn but a great location. Freddie & his wife go out of their way to make sure guests are comfortable & see everything in Edinburgh. The breakfasts are SUPER! Plenty of places to eat nearby. A little far to walk to the Royal Mile but taxis are cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalow
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We spent four nights at The Broughton Hotel recently, so we could go to the Edinburgh Tattoo. The Broughton Hotel is in a great location to explore the town. We were able to survive walking around Edinburgh all day on Freddies breakfasts, which were fantastic. Fiona and Freddie are great hosts and made us feel very welcome. When we go back to Edinburgh, the Broughton Hotel will be our first option. Thank you Freddie and Fiona

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
West End
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Property: The Broughton Hotel
Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing