We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! A warm welcome and great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Broughton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #17 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic! A warm welcome and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at the Broughton hotel for two nights! The rooms were very nice! Location is fantastic, you are a short walk from the royal mile. Everything is just on the doorstep! Freddie and Fiona were very friendly and welcoming! Freddie can cook a cracking breakfast! I'd be sure to stay with them again on my next visit to Edinburgh! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayedowdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franki57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for your comments it makes it all worthwhile!
Regards Freddie & Fee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    244
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
149
366
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a hotel with a real B&B feeling to it. Breakfast is great, as well as the service.
Only point of criticism would be the rather small rooms and the absence of a bar. I therefore would think of this venue more as a B&B rather than a hotel. This automatically makes it rather expensive as you can also get hotels in the price region that this place is charging.
The location only a short walk from city centre and good pubs are nearby to make up for not having a bar.

All in all a nice, but expensive B&B, but with lovely service and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Just ask for the largest, although I doubt if they have these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel_Verkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have just returned from a 6 day stay at the Broughton. Everything was brilliant and exceeded our expectations. Its only a 3 star hotel but has 5 star service. Fiona and Freddie were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for you and the breakfasts are what we will miss the most ;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadeoncanvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting the theatre. The location is perfect, close to the playhouse theatre with a good selection of bars and restaurants to choose from. The hotel offered free parking booked in advance. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast plentiful and freshly cooked. The only down side was the memory foam pillows, had we known there was softer alternatives available we would of choose them. But overall a nice little hotel good value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stayed 1 night for a winter wedding nearby. Great central location yet quiet and with the added bonus of private (free) parking if booked in advance. A welcoming homely atmosphere, very clean room and comfortable ( swap the memory foam pillow on the bed for a softer one you'll find in the wardrobe if you like ). Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked and quality ingredients.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

The Broughton Hotel is small and friendly and is in a convenient but quiet location in central Edinburgh. The free parking (which should be reserved in advance) is a particular bonus since parking in Edinburgh can be difficult or expensive. There was a good choice for breakfast which was of a very high quality. The cost (via booking.com) was £60 for two people for 1 night and represented very good value

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discofred57, Owner at The Broughton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you and a Merry Christmas & a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

My sister and I stayed in this lovely little hotel for one night. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, the location was brilliant for exploring the city on foot. There are lovely bars and restaurant nearby, but the hotel stands in a quiet square and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. We definitely recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (York Place)
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
B+B Edinburgh
B+B Edinburgh
#15 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Fraoch House
#8 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Property: The Broughton Hotel
Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing