We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broughton Hotel
Ranked #18 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed in Edinburgh for two night.Great location, in a beautiful area,very close to touristic attractions and city center. And friendly owner always give us some helpful advice. And delicious breakfast!!!Very very delicious!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank psyence z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    263
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
164
387
37
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Absolutely brilliant place to stay cannot fault it in the slightest. Nice clean rooms, very friendly staff who went out of their way to give directions and advice. AMAZING breakfast, one of the best I have had. Ideal location in a beautiful area a stones throw away from all the tourist sites in central Edinburgh. On future trips to Edinburgh I will definitely be staying here. 5 stars!! keep up the excellent work

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for one night in May. Very calm hotel and room, very close to touristic attractions and city center. Very very good breakfast! A warm welcoming and very nice people. It really felt like home! Highly recommend it :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PixieLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Great location with all you need nearby, calm street, friendly owner, spotless room, comfortable bed, etc. What makes this B&B special for me that of all hotels I have stayed before (and they are numerious) and needed to leave really early for an airport (before the official time for breakfast) this was the first hotel where I was offered before I have asked myself to prepare cold breakfast in advance and leave the plate in the room. It was a delicious choice, including a part for a minor. Really it was an excellent surprise.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lietuvaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just back from 4 days in Edinburgh staying at the Broughton [Townhouse]. This B&B is in a great location for the Playhouse, the Omni Vue cinema complex and Princes Street as well as some great restaurants and pubs. Despite being so central to everything, it is located in quiet street. We were in a room overlooking the street and I can honestly say that I didn't hear a thing all night. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you need, and the breakfasts are more than ample - to set you up for the day! Freddie was on his own this week and still managed to cope with a house full of guests. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to stay in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Edinburgh for a show.
the hotel was perfect for our needs, close to playhouse, restaurants, pubs.
very clean and a great breakfast.
will definitely use this hotel when I next visit edinburgh

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our 1 night stay here. In good location with free parking. Nice residential area and very quiet. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We were given directions and a map on our arrival as we had an appointment later in the afternoon so that was very helpful for us. I don't do breakfasts but my husband really enjoyed his. Room was lovely and clean as was the ensuite shower room. Would recommend this highly and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debs662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#7 of 149 in Edinburgh
986 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 392 in Edinburgh
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broughton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broughton Hotel

Property: The Broughton Hotel
Address: 37 Broughton Place, Edinburgh EH1 3RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broughton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quiet tranquil city centre Georgian townhouse hotel is set right in the heart of Scotland's capital. We provide hospitality in elegant and comfortable surroundings to guests visiting Edinburgh on business and to those wishing to enjoy a short sightseeing break. We are within easy walking distance to Edinburgh's world famous castle, palaces, gardens, museums, shopping centers, and our train & bus stations. There are many fine restaurants, bars & night clubs to suit all types. We are very close to these establishments, although not that close to cause disturbance. All rooms fully en-suite with FREE high speed wifi, FREE private parking and full Scottish breakfast included in price. Kind regards Freddie & Fiona ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Broughton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Broughton Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing