We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander Guest House
Ranked #204 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Came to watch a rugby international. 4 rugby playing adults stayed in 1 room with 2 single beds and a double bed. Ensuite shower room and toilet. Excellent location to visit the city via the multitude of buses that pass the front of the B&B. Great breakfast and value for money. Would definitely recommend to other rugby fans, families or couples.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
3
15
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pingtung, T'ai-wan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My sister and her two sons and I stayed here for two nights last August. It was during the high season so very difficult to find an affordable room. Fortunately we found here. It's not hard to take a bus from train station to here, but we got off at the wrong stop so we had to walk in the rain. As soon as we got in this guest house, we were very relieved and happy. It's not luxurious but comfortable enough to stay one or two nights. We stay at the three-bed reeom at the second floor. The windows are toward the street so some noise is inevitable but are within tolerable level. The breakfast was very nice. The toilet is a bit small, especially the showering area. On the last day morning we had to leave very early (6:30) to catch the plane. We had informed the staff a day ahead but we kept ringing the bell and waited for the lady for 15 minutes to finish the check-out, that made us almost missed the flight. However I find the experience of staying here is generally positive, except that I wish the price could be a bit lower (we payed 150 pounds for a night).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wangtwdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

I've been staying in the Guest House for 3 days and was in a good way surprised with the quality of my stay regarding the quite low price. Though this is not the very center, of Edinburgh the bus stop is close to the House with only 10min to the center, and it's about 30-40 for dedicated walkers like me:) there's a very nice park in 15min walk - Holyrood park with amazing trail uphill! The room was very clean, comfortable, quite big for on person and had very nice view to the garden. The furniture really goes with the house, so there's a feeling of staying in a cosy authentic place. The host is indeed friendly and helpful - she helped me with a tour, gave the necessary advise and provided with a room for extra night. The canteen looks more like a restaurant and Scottish breakfast of beans, egg, bacon, potato and tea/coffee+toasts is included.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvgeniyaV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vzla
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Nice guest house. very clean. room and mattress great also. the owner, heather, is a very friendly person, and was a plesure to talk with her. my room did not include a private bathroom, but since I think I was alone in the 1st floor, it didn´t cause me any trouble since i was the only person using the bathroom. hotel is not in the center of edimburgh but there are at least 8 diferents buses that you can use to go and come that stop in the front of the hotel every minute. so the location is not a problem at all.

The breakfast time is till 9am that I think is too early. and breakfast is lil basic

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank geo10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

for the price i was very pleased. clean and welcoming. A little tired in places and not sure about the full wall mirror in the shower room! great location for getting into town or a stroll though through The Meadows. Numerous bars and eating establishments nearby.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet night try to get a room at the back, otherwise your on thew main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay - very casual atmosphere very nicely decorated. We had the private room/bath on the ground floor. Lots of stairs if you stay on the third floor! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The bathroomfloor was sticky and not clean. The wifi connection was very bad through the whole place. The owner was not really interested. For the rest it was OK. The public transport was just 50 meters from the B&B. So it was easy to visit the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rudolpho23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#51 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#71 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
International Guest House
International Guest House
#262 of 445 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dene Guest House
Dene Guest House
#19 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#202 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Guest House

Property: Alexander Guest House
Address: 35 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing