We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Minto Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minto Guest House
Ranked #228 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2007

I personally loved this hotel. It had a great character and people were ever so friendly. I would strongly recommend a stay with this lovely family run B&B

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JJJJJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2007

My husband and i are just back from a weekend break to Edinburgh. We needed somewhere close to Pollock Halls as i was attending a seminar so after extensive searching we decided on the Minto Hotel, which was just a 5 minute walk to Pollock Halls.
We were pleasantly surprised with our choice because on our last trip to Edinburgh we were not so lucky with our hotel choice.
The Minto has beautiful decor throughout the lounge, restaurant, lobby etc the food was really nice and the most impressive asset was their staff. The staff were extremely pleasant, very friendly and helpful, a really nice change from some hotels we have been to in the past.
My only gripe is the mattress was a little too firm for me as i have a bad back but my husband found it ok.
The bus stop to Princess street is just accross the road and from Princess Street it stops right outside the hotel.
Overall i would recommend it and would def stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TarotAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2007

Minto guest house is a poor excuse for a B & B and an enbarrassment to the hospitality industry. Not only are the rooms tired, run down and in some places filthy, but many essential items in the rooms don't even work. In ours the bedside lamp, the TV and a bed that sagged so badly in the middle it was like sleeping on a blamange. When we arrived we asked if some simple dietry requirements could be looked after but were told this wasn't possible (all we asked for was a boiled egg!). We decided not to have breakfast because of this and because the cleanliness of the rooms didn't inspire us to eat there however were told we wouldn't get any money back - not even a few pounds. It makes fawlty towers look like The Ritz - needless to say I wouldn't recommend it. Minto street however is a great place for access to the city centre and seems to have plenty of others to choose from. Choose any but this!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank westcombewanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minto_house, owner at Minto Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2007

I regret to hear that our guest was so dissatisfied with their stay, however we challenge anyone visiting edinburgh to come to us and find a part of our establishment which is 'filthy'. Further, during a recent inspection we were congratulated on our clean rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2006

Tired, tatty and unappealing was our first impression of Minto Guest House and we were not disappointed. We were greeted with an overgrown front garden. The room we were shown to was on the ground floor and looked out on to the back garden which again was overgrown and littered with broken toys etc. The bedroom itself was badly in need of redecoration and the light fitting was a six shade fitting - four lights not working, two were working but without a shade. The refreshment tray in the room contained teabags not kept in a container and the tray wasn't very clean. The room was dingy and not very good so we turned round and left. At £70 per night we didn't consider this very good value.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jean_Norma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minto_house, Owner/Manager at Minto Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2007

We are a family run guesthouse who welcome hundreds of satisfied customers each year. We do not aim for a sanitised or romantic atmosphere, but we can promise a friendly, informal, family environment. Our garden does tend to look a little past its best in October, as many of the flowers are no longer in bloom, however we are well known locally for our bright vibrant garden in the summer. I can assure you that the toys in the garden are not broken- the children would certainly have asked for new ones by now! Also, i am not sure if there is possibly a confusion-as we have a five shade fitting in the dowstairs room, and it does not have any shades- it is a victorian design which doesnt include any. I really do not feel that this is a fair comment at all, there cannot be absolutely nothing likeable about any place, i invite you to come and make your own opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2006

Stayed at Minto Guest House(not to be confused with the hotel) for two nights over Christmas. Would not recommend it during the winter because the place was not heated well at all. Froze for two days even with heat on full blast. The price was good but that was because we didn't recieve a full Scottish breakfast, which was especially disappointing Christmas day when a good fry-up would have been in order. Would never stay there in the winter but maybe in summer when outside temperature would warm up the room, but might just pay more money and stay closer to the city centre and have a good breakfast.

3  Thank Canadian-Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minto_house, owner/manager at Minto Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2007

We do offer an extensive continental breakfast, and this information is made available to customers at the time of booking. Scotland is quite cold in December, however if our guest tell us that their room is cold we are happy to provide an extra electric heater or blankets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chloe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank floced34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Cameron Toll
0.1 mi away
Abcorn Guest House
Abcorn Guest House
#161 of 393 in Edinburgh
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathallan Guest House
Strathallan Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
Edinburgh Holiday Guest House
#124 of 393 in Edinburgh
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
94DR
94DR
#6 of 393 in Edinburgh
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blossom House
Blossom House
#258 of 393 in Edinburgh
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minto Guest House

Address: 23 Minto Street, Edinburgh EH9 1RQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Minto Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minto Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minto Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing