We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Ranked #200 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with my husband for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We couldn't have been treated any better if we were Royalty.
The owners and staff alike were always pleasant and very helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants 5 star treatment at 3 star prices.
well worth the money. Spotlesley clean and couldn't fault it.
And cant wait to back again in the near future

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2013

I stayed for 3 nights at the Edinburgh regency guest house and the hotel atmosphere was very welcoming. The staff were very polite and helpful and one guy even helped me to take my luggage to my room. I was staying on the second floor and the room was spotless, the bed was clean and I had a very comfortable stay.

I was told beforehand what they served for breakfast and the food was up to standard.

If your coming to Edinburgh for a short visit and want a reasonable price hotel, Edinburgh regency guest house is the perfect place to come and stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08002748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at the Edinburgh regency guest house on a work visit. Staff are really helpful and friendly, rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated with anything you could need in the room. City centre a 20 minute walk and restaurants a short walk away. Due to my early start I wasn't able to sample the traditional Scottish breakfast that starts at 8am but they were able to provide a continental breakfast instead.
A couple of points to watch for... I was in room 1 which I found was noisy through comings and goings of other guests, door bells and phone ringing thought the night. There are only 3 car parking spaces available which may become tricky during peak periods, as I discovered on my arrival 2 family cars can fill the space, but parking was arranged at the next door hotel. Also be aware of the spot light above the shower, it becomes very hot quickly, and I left with a momentum of my stay.
Would I stay again... Yes, in a high floor room, when I can arrive early to guarantee a parking space :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireWalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed two nights at the Regency with my son, and his fiancée. On arrival, there seemed a little confusion on who we were, but got sorted out okay. The chap who met us, was good enough to carry our bags to our rooms, which was a nice touch. The rooms we had were clean, adequately furnished, and had adequate facilities which included tea, coffee, etc. Breakfast was lovely.
The only things I would say on a downside, is that the staff weren't the usual friendly people I've usually dealt with, although they were pleasant enough. The bathroom of my room had two bulbs missing, which was a little annoying, but not detrimental by any means. The bed was comfortable, and very clean. Maybe more than just two teabags would have been a nice touch, and in the dining room, maybe teapots as is usually the case, would have been better than the self-service tea arrangement. Overall it's a pleasant abode, and a clean and comfortable enough stay. The city and castle are only 5 minutes away by car.

Room Tip: Myself and my son and his fiancée were right on the top floor, which as I have arthritis in my knees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The staffs were polite and helpful. The room was very nice. Breakfast was good. Overall is great value for money. The only downside is the plumbing system in the toilet. There's a bus stop just in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose this, if you are with few friends that are on budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryokozorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

First day my friends and I arrived and we were greeted by the receptionist very warmly. Our room was beautiful and perfect for the 4 of us. All the amenities were working perfectly and tea and coffee were also provided in the bedroom. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent.

I think the only downside is that the hotel is not that close to the city centre although you can take the bus that is literally 1 min away from the hotel.

Overall, loved the place and definitely value for money!

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage make sure you stay on a lower floor as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WazirAziz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights here in March 2013. The staff were helpful but very hands-off. Not so much a family run place as you would normally get with a B&B, I think the owner has hired a bunch of folks to run it. So the people you deal with aren't all that friendly and don't give that special touch, not that it's a deal breaker.

Breakfast was plentiful, you could ask for a cooked breakfast if you could flag down one of the busy staff guys.

We had a room downstairs. We were below the kitchen, so from about 7am every day there was a lot of clattering above us (wooden floors). Had to use earplugs so I could sleep a bit longer. The room was very nice, seemed newly renovated or redecorated. The bathroom was big and very clean. There was a kettle with tea/coffee stuff.

We had to get a twin room since we booked late and there were no doubles. The beds were a bit too hard, even though I like a firm mattress. Also, the beds were on wheels and the floor was a laminate/wood floor, so anytime you move in bed the bed moves too! Couldn't sit up in bed to watch TV or it would roll away from the wall and the pillows would fall down the back of the bed! I found this annoying after 3 nights.

But other than these minor things, it was a lovely place to stay. It was a 15/20 minute walk into town, about 15 minutes to the castle.

I think this place would be a safe bet for anyone traveling to Edinburgh for a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Culane House Hotel
#163 of 395 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#295 of 395 in Edinburgh
105 reviews
West End
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
Emmaus House, Edinburgh SCIO
#50 of 395 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ben Doran Guest House
#136 of 395 in Edinburgh
222 reviews
Allison House Hotel
#97 of 395 in Edinburgh
210 reviews
West End
No 32 Hotel
No 32 Hotel
#175 of 395 in Edinburgh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Regency Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Regency Guest House

Address: 12 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland (Formerly Kaimes Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Regency Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edinburgh Regency Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaimes Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regency Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing