We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't quite hit the mark ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
Ranked #204 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I hate to read bad reviews full of petty niggles so I'll list the positives first - great location, spotlessly clean, free wifi, pleasant staff. It's really the location that merits nearly £100 - the small details, like hand soap in the toilet, a lick of paint, something to cover the slightly stake smell would make all the difference.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank SusieW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked in to the Edinburgh regency had room in basement room smelt of very bad dampness. Shower badly positioned had to stand at an angle. Pictures do not reflect the true standard. Would not stay here again keep away from here and also bad parking place at front of building

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerrytheminion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean and a lovely size in the basement. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and clean.
There were a couple of things that werent working in the room, one of the plug sockets ( there were about 6 seperate sockets anyway!), the extractor fan and the curtains didnt actually cover the whole window so we pinned them closed with a chair and some bobby pins! Not big enough problems to ruin an amazing weekend.
The food was really lovely with options to have cooked food aswell as the continental option.
Available parking out the front and an easy 20/25 min walk into edinburgh city.
Staff were friendly enough, all in all not a bad stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

we stayed for 2 nights as it was a last minute booking we ended up in the very top room which was a little claustrophobic but it was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. it was a warm weekend and the room was very hot i suppose because the heat rose to the top of the house. we did mention this to the lady who appeared to be in charge and she very kindly went out and bought a fan for the room which was a nice touch.Breakfast was ok we had the continental the first morning and full scottish the second .Both were good and the service a was excellent and friendly.We would certainly stay there again but would maybe request a room on a lower floor

Room Tip: rooms on first floor are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanrose126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had an excellent stay the staff were welcoming and very helpful. We had problems with parking and they could not have been more helpful. The room was quiet, clean and well appointed. You can walk into the centre of the city easily and there is a frequent bus service.

Room Tip: There is limited parking at the guest house, it is based on the basis of first come first served. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimbo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

i believe its one of the best stay on any of the BnB. We stayed at room 12 and we enjoyed a lot staying there. With a private Garden spacious room.... "GRT" service and excellent breakfast. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the towels were changed everyday as well. Thank you Avash and praabin for your nice hospitality. Two very Friendly and Helpful Lads.

The only problem with the room was the toilet and the bathroom is a bit small and the shower is not properly function other than this every thing was perfect and a grt value for money. Will definitely come back soon.

Room Tip: Room 12..... Beautiful Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My parents and I stayed at the Edinburgh Regency Guest House for two nights in October 2013. We booked the family room which was suitable for 3 adults. The room and the bathroom were clean. The breakfast was also good. We found the staff to be polite and nice, but that was all. They were there and answered questions when you approach them, but in general lacked the warmth and genuine interest in chatting with guests and giving recommendations etc that you find in other B&Bs in the UK.
Additionally, there was a problem with the shower. The shower head was the hand held detachable kind with a wall mount. The shower head was leaking at the point where the cord meets the shower head itself. So water was only dripping out of the shower head, as most of the water was running down the cord. When we informed the young man who was working at the front desk that day, he was very apologetic and we were told it would be fixed right away. Upon our return from a busy day sight seeing, and looking forward to having a hot shower, I stepped into the shower and turned on the tap.. Only to be hit in the head by a falling shower head! Ouch! The shower head had been "fixed" by someone wrapping sticky tape around the cord, which meant the shower head no longer fit properly in the wall mount, hence causing it to fall. In addition to this, the water pressure was poor as a lot of the water still ran down the cord instead of out of the shower head. Once again, I complained to the young man at the front desk, who was again very apologetic but explained that it was only a "temporary fix until someone could come out and fix it properly." Unfortunately the broken shower head proved to be very annoying.

In summary, could have been much better. The room, location and breakfast were adequate.
The downsides were:
-The broken shower head, and
-although the staff were nice when approached, they preferred to keep to themselves. We felt they lacked the warmth you find in other B&Bs.
3/5 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenina106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Culane House Hotel
#144 of 393 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Heriott Park Guest House
#271 of 393 in Edinburgh
97 reviews
Cruachan Guest House
#168 of 393 in Edinburgh
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#193 of 393 in Edinburgh
205 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 393 in Edinburgh
492 reviews
West End
Valentine City Centre Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Regency Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Regency Guest House

Address: 12 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland (Formerly Kaimes Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £46 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Regency Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Edinburgh Regency Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaimes Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regency Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing