We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th visit..... we'll be back”

Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #352 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“5th visit..... we'll be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

5 stays during the Fringe and we love coming back to Yvonne's. Previously stayed in a couple of other b&b's which were further out and less personal. Staying with Yvonne is like staying with a family member and that is the strength. You feel like the only guests there and nothing is too much trouble. All we want when at the festival is a clean, warm bed and a decent breakfast and you certainly get that. The location is fantastic- couldn't be more central and close to all activities. If you are looking for a romantic break and for luxury then find somewhere else. If you are looking for a warm welcome, a personal touch, an attentive host who will be the best guide over breakfast and a central location at fantastic value then this is the place. We were gutted to find out Yvonne is selling up this year. Whilst we wish Yvonne well in following her dream.........where we will stay next year?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarebear1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
8
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Yvonne is a brilliant lady who opens up her apartment in central Edinburgh to guests. The rooms have a nice decor and TV with shared bathroom facilities and her breakfasts are big and delicious. I've stayed with Yvonne twice now and both times the only thing that has let her down has been the comfort of the mattresses and for a person who loves their sleep this is an issue for me. Fortunately I have always been a single person sleeping in a double bed so could fold the duvet in half like a sleeping bag to pad out the bad bed springs. However I wouldn't recommend this B&B for anyone wanting to actually share a double bed as I doubt you will get much sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spudwynk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

The B&B is central (if difficult to find) andYvonne is a lovely friendly lady who did her best to make us welcome. However that is where the positives end. if you are paying to stay somewhere you at the very least expect a reasonable standard of cleanliness - you don't find it at Yvonnes. The room - supposedly recently decorated was dingy with barely room to swing a cat. A double bed pushed against the far wall, a set of bunk beds and a wardrobe gave little room to get changed, let alone relax. Ageing sheets and a grubby uplighter completed the room which was souless and dark (probably to hide the stains on the mattresses). The whole flat stank of cigarettes which permeated even the clean laundry. The bathroom was stained, sickeningly grubby with mould and a grimy toilet.
Breakfast looked as if it was made up of yesterday's leftovers heated in the microwave. But after a sleepless night tossing and turning in a stale bed we weren't in the mood to eat.
Avoid unless you're desperate!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kingfisher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

aberdeen
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

stayed at yvonnes few times feb/march will be staying there for my future trips. good value for money , well placed and very friendly , clean and comfortable

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Looking at Yvonne's reviews, it is obvious that different people look at things through different lenses. I think all of the reviews on this site are valuable. Even though all of the reviews are talking about the same place, they come to widely different conclusions based on each individual's perspectives. We thought Yvonne's flat turned into a small B&B was great and more than clean and roomy enough for our tastes - even though my wife is something of a neat freak. We stayed at many first-class hotels during our trip, but Yvonne's was our favorite place to stay. This is mostly because we loved Yvonne herself and the way she did everything to be helpful, as well as her superior location near everything worth seeing. Also the bedrooms were more than adequate and the breakfasts were great. The main bathroom does show some age and stained caulk and certainly is not up to normal hotel quality, but it was otherwise excellent. You do share the bathroom with guests (rarely with any of her family), but there is also a half bath for emergencies. Quite adequate when there are only four or five guest rooms plus Yvonne's bedroom. Yvonne does smoke and there is a hint of smoke in the air, but though I am (I previously thought) the worst kind of intolerant reformed smoker who tells everyone who smokes that they need to quit, I did not find that the trace cigarette smell rose anywhere close to the level of a second-hand smoke health problem. (I do have real concern for Yvonne's health.) Yvonne only smokes in her living room, not in the hall, kitchen or guest rooms. Though I found this to be the closest thing to a negative issue for me, it was not close to being a disqualifying issue as it was for some of the negative reviewers. But, again others will look at this smoking issue and other issues at Yvonne's differently than I and other big Yvonne's fans do.

In sum, those who are very exacting about where they stay or need 4 or 5 star hotel-like accomdations or need their own parking spot or their own bath should look elsewhere. But note, even the negative reviewers liked Yvonne herself and her unbelievably superior location. If you look at most maps of Edinburgh, Yvonnes is located next to the "h." Finally, note that many of the positive reviewers are repeat guests of Yvonne's. That should tell you something. We will certainly never stay anywhere else when we are visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SometimeWrldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

We Arrived at yvonnes to find that the customer parking was for permit holders only, but was told by yvonne that it would be ok to leave it in the car park, please note you do this at your own risk! if you do get a ticket you will find yourself with a £60 fine and a clamp on your drivers side wheel. We walked into the B&B and the first thing that hits you is the smell of smoke. Yvonne is a very nice lady and we were given a hot cup of tea & coffee on arrival. Yvonne then showed us to our room, she made a point of telling us that she had put us in the coldest room in the house! this sent alarm bells ringing, as me and my partner had a 3 month old baby with us. We did get a heater as back up but. When we got into our room we had a look around, the room was small and looked ok from the start but we found somthing not right, we pulled back the covers on the bed and found that the bottom sheet was covered in hair of all kinds. We asked yvonne to change the sheets when we poped out later, but was given sheets to change them for ourselves. This put us off again, we are the customer not the chamber staff.... I then was told that we had to share a bathroom and toilet with the rest of the rooms, please note the yvonnes family also use this facility! it was very dirty, the sink was covered in razor hair and dust on the mirror. The toilet seat was not clean and the bath tub had scum & mould all round it. This put us off as we had to use this to wash ourselves and the baby.
The bed matress was cheap and dirty, bits of fluff and dirt on it. When we had to change the covers the bedding was old and covered in staines and what looked like blood. We went out for dinner and on our return we told yvonne that we would not be staying the night, we just could not stay in this place. We found a good travel lodge just around the corner for just a few £ more with a full breakfast. If your looking for a cheap and dirty place to stay then yvonne's is the place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

As we wound our way around the bend at Blackfrier's into Coinyie Close we were greeted by Yvonne smiling and waving from our soon to be new home away from home. What a gracious hostess! Each day we were treated to a wondrous breakfast - either Scottish full with all the trimmings or whatever we preferred - and at any time of the morning we liked. This was great as we either slept in late or got up early for theater or in my husband's case - golf! By the third day Yvonne knew my personal preferences (a "wee bowl of porridge") always served with coffee, juice, and delightful conversation. Our room was homey, comfy, cozy, and just the right size with a loveseat and plenty of storage. Yvonne always kept our bedding, towels, and even our own laundry bright and clean. The view from our window was of the church next door with our own steeple. A bath and a half worked perfectly for sharing with other guests. We had never stayed at a B&B prior to this trip and were a bit worried about that prospect, but it was never a problem. The large windows and airy rooms kept the days bright in spite of Edinburgh's everyday splash of rain. (Yvonne even keeps extra umbrellas for those who might be without!) Being from farm country in the middle of the US it was a delight to be awakened each morning by seagulls and the aroma of Yvonne's cooking. We wandered in and out at all hours of the day and night and were always greeted with a smile, a cup of tea or coffee, biscuits, or soup. During our twelve days at Yvonne's we were made to feel at home. We enjoyed meeting and visiting with the other guests, couples, and families with small children and occasionally Yvonnes sons and daughter who visited but do not live there. But it always felt like our own private little B&B with a very nice lady, who actually liked us, as an inkeeper. No wonder she has so many loyal, repeat customers. We were in the heart of the beautiful, ancient City of Edinburgh and in the heart of the Fringe Festival. We were also within easy walking distance, half way between the 1000-year old Edinburgh Castle to the left and Holyrood Palace to the right. Yvonne is so near the Royal Mile on High Street (1/2 block) we called the landmark Tron Kirk "our place." What a fantastic place to stay!

Of course, our experience makes it all the more puzzling that Yvonne's has a few negative reviews. These people apparently did not know what a bed and breakfast is and are willing to blame a nice woman and her place for their own research shortcomings. The writers of two of those reviews seemed to have some kind of obsessive compulsive thing going. If you can't stand to share a bathroom or a kitchen or a jar of jelly, stay somewhere else! Yvonne will be glad you did.

P.S. Later in our trip we stayed at other fabulous places, including the Hotel Europa in Belfast, the Gresham in Dublin, the Hard Days Night Hotel in Liverpool and the 5-star Intercontinental Hotel Park Lane in London. Yvonne's was our favorite place to stay of all these great spots, though the Hard Days Night Hotel - 1/2 block from the famous Cavern Club in Liverpool at the tail end of a Beatles Festival - was close!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CinD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Royal Mile Mansions
Royal Mile Mansions
#122 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Old Town
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
#109 of 215 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#40 of 215 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3 Coinyie House Close, Edinburgh EH1 1NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Yvonne`s Bed And Breakfast
Yvonne`s Hotel Edinburgh
Yvonne's Bed & Breakfast Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing