We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay; Calm Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #187 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay; Calm Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This accommodation was warm and welcoming, free from the noise typical in the city centre, but easily accessible via frequent buses just outside. The staff was kind and more than willing to help with questions, such as dining recommendations. The breakfast provided was likewise good. Bathrooms were slightly tight but not bothersome. Room was kept temperate and beds were comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prithvi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    44
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
46
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Arden Guest House while visiting the Royal Infirmary for a short internship. Fantastic service, lovely breakfast, very warm welcome, I would definitely recommend this B&B and come back myself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Anique2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this on the recommendation of a colleague. However, they meant the place next door!! This guest house, in summary was cold, unwelcoming, not very secure ( my window didn't close properly and was a downstairs room). I Booked a double room and I was put in a room with twin beds. I asked for a double and was told they were full. There was a vacancies sign in the window, and I saw one other guest in the b&b.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. I had to ask for milk to go with tea, and butter for the toast never arrived.
There was also rubbish left in my room from a previous guest, the heavy blankets (no duvet) on the bed didn't smell great, and no wifi.
Nobody asked if everything was ok when I checked out.
In all a pretty depressing place. I will certainly be staying at the really nice place next door in future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank LVR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden_Management, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We understand that your expectations were not met since you thought you had booked yourself into the 4 star hotel next door, when in fact you had booked yourself into our 3 star bed and breakfast in error. Obviously a 4 star hotel provides a different experience (and price tag!) to our more affordable, value for money option. We have spoke to our on duty manager and it appears your booking was for a single room but you were put into a twin. You did ask to have a double when you arrived but unfortunately we were fully booked apart from one other twin (thus the vacancies sign still being on). Whilst we are sympathetic and always try and acommodate our guests where possible we feel providing a twin room for a single person booking (charged at a single rate) to be satisfactory. Our central heating is on a timer as most of our guests are out during the day. We do however have a supply of spare oil heaters which are passed out freely to any guest asking for heating during the day. Our central heating is timed to come on late afternoon and we have alot of guests commenting that they in fact find it too hot. Unfortunately you did not speak to any of our staff to give us a chance to rectify the situation. Our wifi is fully operational and the window in your room appeared to be in full working order when we checked it after your review. Thus we can unfortunately offer no further comment on these issues. Had you brought your queries to a staff member we would have been happy to show you how the window operated and how to log onto our wifi. Re breakfast and your room not being properly cleaned we would like to offer a sincere apology and say that we had a new housekeeper on that day who has only just completed her training. We will be addressing the issues you raised with her to ensure they do not happen again. Whilst we are grateful to you for bringing them to our attention we are disappointed that you did not bring them to the attention of anybody during your stay. The missing milk and butter could have been rectified very easily.
We get alot of compliments on our friendly staff (and our breakfasts) by our guests. Many of whom are repeat guests. Whilst we are genuinely disappointed that your stay was "really bad" we trust that the higher grade hotel next door (who books with us when they are full) is able to meet your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Whilst there was a very good breakfast the rooms are small and poorly decorated. This guest house is in desperate need of updating and staff are not always available. Paid £65 per room which frankly was not good value even though the cost is low compared to typical Edinburgh hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Kevin S
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet with your approval.
Firstly we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. In fact if you look back through our reviews we are complimented time and time again on our breakfast and our friendly staff.
We do acknowledge that some of our rooms are due for redecorating. This is simply due to the usual wear and tear after a very busy spring/summer/autumn. Unfortunately winter is the only time we can gain access to our rooms to redecorate them and we are in the process of doing this now.
I do want to point out to you that Arden is a guest house, not a hotel and as such does not provide 24 hour reception. However if you had spoke to management at breakfast or at your check-in we would have had no hesitation to move you to a room you were 100% happy with. With regard to value for money, may I point out that you booked a double room for 2 persons and paid the rate of £65 per night. Arden does in fact offer rooms for single occupancy for £45 per night in the winter including breakfast. We believe this is a good rate for the standard of service/accomodation we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed there for 3 nights last December and enjoyed it completely. Great connectivity to the centre of the city with a bus stop close by. The room I stayed in was rather small, but comfortable and well stocked. The hosts were very warm, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast provided was sumptuous and very well prepared. They have a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. Specially loved their potato scones! I only wish we could stay there longer. Would love to go back again. Left in a hurry, with a train to catch..... so here is wishing the family that runs the place a very Happy New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pragnya_Prasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here with family and my parents on a weekend to Edinburgh to see one of my daughters. The owner was very attentive and extremely pleasant. We had the family room, which had two singles and a double bed. The room was a great size and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was superb and cooked as ordered. No complaints here, had a wonderful stay and would recommend to anyone. It's also convenient for grabbing a bus into Edinburgh city too as it's right on the main bus route - no need to battle for parking with your car!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

My friend and I shared a twin room at The Arden Guest House and were very pleased with our booking. The Guest house is on the main road with the bus stop for Edinburgh town centre was about 20 yards away; the frequent bus service was brilliant.
Proprietors and staff were really friendly, and as mentioned in the title, the breakfast was very substantial.
I would definitely recommend this guest house, and say it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: noise from main road might be a problem during summer if windows had to be left open for fresh air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Badjao Bed and Breakfast
#276 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#192 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#101 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allison House Hotel
#108 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Aaron Lodge
#32 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Blinkbonny House
#85 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Property: Arden Guest House
Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing