We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Bad Miscommunication”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #184 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Frederick
Level Contributor
721 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“A Bad Miscommunication”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I booked here after reading good reviews and seeing that it was in the area but outside the city of Edinburgh. I wanted a country, relaxed feel for our short time here, two nights and needed rest. by the time we got into the train station, the central hub of the city, I had to flag down a constable, who was a lovely man who listened to me and let me use his phone to call the attendant at the hotel and let her know that we were coming (it was already late) but that we'd only be able to stay for one night instead of two due to travel changes we had to make because of airlines running late. Anyway, she told me that that was fine, thanks for calling and come ahead. I had to find out what bus would take us there and get pointed to the right bus stop. It happened to be a major weekens with a huge rugby match which of course we didn't know about, and there were French and Italians all over the place, drinking, occupying the restaurants, and clogging the buses and trains in groups, so this made getting around even more confusing. We did get to the property and lugged all of our heavy cases and bags to the guest house door. I had trouble getting the woman that I had just talked to a half hour ago to open the narrow door and let us in. This place is like a bed and breakfast in someone's home. Anyway, after coming all that way she quietly told me that she talked to the owner and that since we didn't cancel the booking 48 hours in advance (I was in the air then), that "the cancellation policy would have to apply." In other words, we weren't allowed to stay just one night. So, the deal was to stay the remainder of that night and pay for two, or find another place. Nice. Back onto the next bus we went, back to the train station, close to midnight, to try to find accommodations for less than $100 (150 Euros plus city taxes and surcharges). That lovely constable that I mentioned before used his web phone and looked up every possible vacancy for me and when I told him what I'd like, he called the hotel for me, a Holiday Inn not far, who would accommodate us for 99 Euros. That night it was a bargain. That man was so nice to me that night, I want to thank him again for counteracting the awful communication that we encountered with the woman at Arden Guest House. Doing that to anyone who is lost and in a different country on a heavy weekend, that late at night, is unaccpetable and I hope that other visitors will read this.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden_Management, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We're very sorry to hear that your travel plans changed at the last minute and that you found Edinburgh to be very busy on the rugby weekend. We are particularly sorry though that after cancelling on us 1 hour before your late check in, and abusing our staff you thought that giving us a one star rating was appropriate. Our cancellation policy is standard to all hotels and guesthouses in Edinburgh. Our thanks to your partner though who attempted to make good the situation by apologising for your abusive behaviour, explaining that you had "been like that all day".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    44
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
46
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Arrived late but directed by the host as unsure which way to take the bus. Our host sorted us out with breakfast menu and our room. Nice and cosy room tea and coffee available. Good breakfast and only real complaint was lack of pressure in shower when turned up. Just a little too far from central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Migster56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had an unscheduled stop in Edinburgh and stayed at the Arden guest house we were welcomed despite the late check in The bedrooms and bathrooms are small but clean and comfortable. The young man in charge made us feel very welcome and was very supportive when we were un sure of our plans.(our mother had been admitted to hospital) they kept our room and luggage until we knew what was happening. Also the breakfast was excellent superb poached eggs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This accommodation was warm and welcoming, free from the noise typical in the city centre, but easily accessible via frequent buses just outside. The staff was kind and more than willing to help with questions, such as dining recommendations. The breakfast provided was likewise good. Bathrooms were slightly tight but not bothersome. Room was kept temperate and beds were comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prithvi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Arden Guest House while visiting the Royal Infirmary for a short internship. Fantastic service, lovely breakfast, very warm welcome, I would definitely recommend this B&B and come back myself!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank Anique2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

I booked this on the recommendation of a colleague. However, they meant the place next door!! This guest house, in summary was cold, unwelcoming, not very secure ( my window didn't close properly and was a downstairs room). I Booked a double room and I was put in a room with twin beds. I asked for a double and was told they were full. There was a vacancies sign in the window, and I saw one other guest in the b&b.
Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. I had to ask for milk to go with tea, and butter for the toast never arrived.
There was also rubbish left in my room from a previous guest, the heavy blankets (no duvet) on the bed didn't smell great, and no wifi.
Nobody asked if everything was ok when I checked out.
In all a pretty depressing place. I will certainly be staying at the really nice place next door in future.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank LVR13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden_Management, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We understand that your expectations were not met since you thought you had booked yourself into the 4 star hotel next door, when in fact you had booked yourself into our 3 star bed and breakfast in error. Obviously a 4 star hotel provides a different experience (and price tag!) to our more affordable, value for money option. We have spoke to our on duty manager and it appears your booking was for a single room but you were put into a twin. You did ask to have a double when you arrived but unfortunately we were fully booked apart from one other twin (thus the vacancies sign still being on). Whilst we are sympathetic and always try and acommodate our guests where possible we feel providing a twin room for a single person booking (charged at a single rate) to be satisfactory. Our central heating is on a timer as most of our guests are out during the day. We do however have a supply of spare oil heaters which are passed out freely to any guest asking for heating during the day. Our central heating is timed to come on late afternoon and we have alot of guests commenting that they in fact find it too hot. Unfortunately you did not speak to any of our staff to give us a chance to rectify the situation. Our wifi is fully operational and the window in your room appeared to be in full working order when we checked it after your review. Thus we can unfortunately offer no further comment on these issues. Had you brought your queries to a staff member we would have been happy to show you how the window operated and how to log onto our wifi. Re breakfast and your room not being properly cleaned we would like to offer a sincere apology and say that we had a new housekeeper on that day who has only just completed her training. We will be addressing the issues you raised with her to ensure they do not happen again. Whilst we are grateful to you for bringing them to our attention we are disappointed that you did not bring them to the attention of anybody during your stay. The missing milk and butter could have been rectified very easily.
We get alot of compliments on our friendly staff (and our breakfasts) by our guests. Many of whom are repeat guests. Whilst we are genuinely disappointed that your stay was "really bad" we trust that the higher grade hotel next door (who books with us when they are full) is able to meet your high expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Whilst there was a very good breakfast the rooms are small and poorly decorated. This guest house is in desperate need of updating and staff are not always available. Paid £65 per room which frankly was not good value even though the cost is low compared to typical Edinburgh hotels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden_Management, Manager at Arden Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Kevin S
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet with your approval.
Firstly we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. In fact if you look back through our reviews we are complimented time and time again on our breakfast and our friendly staff.
We do acknowledge that some of our rooms are due for redecorating. This is simply due to the usual wear and tear after a very busy spring/summer/autumn. Unfortunately winter is the only time we can gain access to our rooms to redecorate them and we are in the process of doing this now.
I do want to point out to you that Arden is a guest house, not a hotel and as such does not provide 24 hour reception. However if you had spoke to management at breakfast or at your check-in we would have had no hesitation to move you to a room you were 100% happy with. With regard to value for money, may I point out that you booked a double room for 2 persons and paid the rate of £65 per night. Arden does in fact offer rooms for single occupancy for £45 per night in the winter including breakfast. We believe this is a good rate for the standard of service/accomodation we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Badjao Bed and Breakfast
#276 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Emerald Guest House
#192 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#99 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Allison House Hotel
#109 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Aaron Lodge
#31 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Blinkbonny House
#84 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Property: Arden Guest House
Address: 126 Old Dalkeith Road, Edinburgh EH16 4SD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing