We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scottish Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scottish Apartments
Ranked #150 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Selby, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

Having read the online reviews prior to arrival in Edinburgh, we were worried about what we were getting ourselves into! But as soon as we arrived at the reception, to be greeted by friendly and helpful staff, our worries were eased a little. We found the apartment without any problems (we were given clear instructions and a map), and when we entered the apartment we were astonished at the brilliant location (on the Royal Mile, a couple of minutes from the Castle) and the standard of the apartment. Though a few finishing touches were maybe required, we had no problems with the accommodation and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. These apartments are ideal for young couples such as my partner and I, or for anyone wanting to be more in control of their holiday.
I would advise anyone considering booking an apartment to not worry too much about the reviews on here- maybe we were lucky, but it is probably more likely that this style of accomodation is just not suited to everyone's tastes. Overall, we had a fantastic break in Edinburgh, and the accomodation was the icing on the cake!

  • Liked — The location of the apartment
  • Disliked — The shower didn't really work properly
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicb201088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    7
    9
    42
See reviews for
13
19
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2008

This was my complaint letter to Scottish Apartments and we still have not received an answer hence my voicing my views. Dear Scottish Apartments, We did ring on arrival and express some of our initial complaints and we were told that Alana would ring me back on the Saturday but as yet I have still not received that call. The cleaners did come in the next day and split the beds as on arrival they were made as doubles but left no fresh towels or toiletries or cleaned up in any way, which is unsatisfactory.

You were made aware that one of our party was partially disabled having had a serious illness and is thankfully in remission,however, we were not made aware that we would have to drag our bags up such flights of stairs when we eventually got into the apartment building. Before this though when we picked the keys up no-one informed us how to get into the apartment and it took us a long time to find some one who helped us to rub the fob across the security keypad to allow access to the accommodation. This should have been told to us when were given the keys. You also knew how many were hiring the apartment's and there was not enough keys to give one to everyone which caused problems when we wanted to go out individually having to cut short our visiting to make sure someone was back to let the other one in. Our apartments were meant to be next to eachother and this was not the case either. The beds were made up into doubles which was not what was requested. The apartments were dirty, dusty, and upstairs smelt damp and not of the standard we were lead to believe as 'luxury stated'. The materials used were shoddy and jobs half done or finished off badly. The apartments were in need of a good paint, good/decent furniture and decent bedding that is not stained. The boiler situated in Flat 2 in the wardrobe, it was like having a heavy waterfall all night when any taps were switched on throughout all the apartments and consequently kept those in that room awake during the night. The carpet was dirty in the lounge (downstairs) and window panes broken. The wardrobe in the supposed second bedroom were none existent and in both apartments there were not enough mirror's for all of us to do our hairs and the leads from the hairdryers were too short to reach the mirror provided in the small room (not even hung) and bathroom upstairs, unreal! The bath's had no safety mat and that was a difficult one especially for our party because of injuries or disabilities, even though health and safety should be first on the list anyway. On the whole you did not deliver the experience we expected and we were extremely disappointed. We have stayed in many apartments and hotels between us and we know what is good quality, this definitely does not reach a level of good quality. It is such a shame as the location is perfect. I would suggest you look at these apartments closely as they need some serious up-keep and overhaul, a lick of paint would go a long way! So there you have it, this company is obviously not interested in customer satisfaction.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank DSHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We arrived in Edinburgh at around 3pm and quickly organised to go to the apartments. It took us quite some time to find the apartment as the street numbers were not easy to followl. After 3 or 4 walks up and down we finally found a sign on a side wall printed on an A4 sheet of paper with the street number and name of the apartments.

We tried pressing every key on the keypad but had no luck. It had been raining for quite a few hours and we wanted to drop off our backpacks, dry off and start seeing the sights.

We waited and waited and then some other guests came past and we told them our situation and they mentioned that we needed to go to Queen street to pick up the key. We were absolutely furious at this stage as two other girls that we spoke to also had the same problems we had.

Also, there was no phone number on the A4 piece of paper for us to call if there were any problems. If the existing guests had not have come along we would have had to book into another hotel.

We eventually got our electronic key to the apartment, but the next problem was there was no instruction on how to use the key to open the gate on the instruction page so we had to use a number of combinations and eventually the gate opened. We had to work out from the back of the key that there was a block A and that 07 meant room 7.

By this time we were absolutely exhausted and wanted to go to bed. Well, when we went into our room, there were no sheets, no pillow cases (one of the pillows had a big brown stain on it), no towels and no toilet paper.

You can imagine how we were feeling at this point. We eventually got another room at 11.30pm but were absolutely exhausted at this point.

With the competition for bookings and our hard earned dollars wanting value for money, this company is an absolute disgrace.

I even took the effort to write to the company and received a response that I would expect from a first year graduate out of school.

This company knows nothing about customer service and recovering from a bad situation.

Your money is better spent elsewhere!!!

Robert and Jacqueline

  • Liked — Leaving the next day
  • Disliked — That we actually had to pay the company money for their incompetence
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Booked our appartment in Feb 08 inc full depost paid only to be told 2/3 weeks before hand we could not stay at the appartment as a corporate company required it !!!!!! Not profesional and a real let down. We were offered a similar property which we relunctatly accepeted (No choice really due to short notice).

We turned up at the appartment to find out that one of our rooms had a set of twin beds rather than a double and our complimentary bottle of champagne was no where to be seen........ We rang straightaway to ask that the room be changed to a double and were told that we would be called back and the room would be changed that night. No surprise, no call and no double bed !! We rang the emergency number but no apology and certainly no effort to sort out our problem.

FOLLOWING DAY: another call to the office and a few raised words l8r and the doublebed and champagne arrived.

We spent a great deal of money with this company on the basis of their website which was a big mistake, The appartment was nice but if you are looking for a guaranteed hotel or appartment with a stress free service, GO ELSE WHERE as you wont get it with scottish appartments and from the other reviews this clearly isnt a one off !!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — THE OWNERS
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richteeBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

stayed here as a group of 8 girls. we stayed in the corporate harbour apartments and they were really nice.

However, scottish apartments do tell you that there is lots of bars and restaurants on the promenade but there were none in our vicinity!

The reception staff were really nice and helpful, and poor little Lucasz was hounded my my friends as we were on my hen weekend and he coped very well!

From these apartments it is around a £10 taxi ride to or from the main part of edinburgh but it does vary from one taxi company to another.

We were warned by a taxi driver taking us to the apartments that this was a red light district but we never saw anything untoward. In fact it was very quiet and peaceful in our area.

Would definitely go there again. it cost us £50 per person per night with eight people in two apartments. One bad thing is that it would also cost £50 per person if there were extra people on sofa beds. They also charge £10 per hour per apartment late checkout which we thought were a bit steep. However, Lucasz allowed us to pay £10 for one hour extra for the two apartments instead. (probably to get rid of us!)

  • Liked — modern and spacious
  • Disliked — nowhere close by to go
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matahina_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

Beware if you have a private booking with Scottish Apartments, as it was made clear to us that corporate bookings take priority. Despite booking a 3-bed apartment 3 months ago for 6 people for a weekend break, on the day of arrival we were notified that this apartment was no longer available because of a corporate booking and that we were being given a 2-bed apartment, "with proper beds", for 6 people, and that as the apartment was in superior condition this was an upgrade. On arrival at this 2-bed apartment, there were 2 camp beds and proper beds for only 4 people. There was also not enough glasses/cups for 6 people. After complaining, we were offered a full refund, not a practical option when having to look for alternative accommodation at 5pm on a Friday in Edinburgh when lots of people were in town for the Moon Walk. We were then offered 3 one-bed apartments in a different part of town. We insisted they arranged a taxi at their expense. The apartments were sufficiently well-appointed but located next door to a building site and a Sainsbury's Local that opens at 7am! Don't expect a lie in if you find yourself staying in Scottish Apartments in Meadow Walk.

  • Liked — Standard of furniture, decoration
  • Disliked — Service from Scottish Apartment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HelenCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a two -night break in Edinburgh, staying at the castle apartments. It was particularly cold so by the time we were allowed to check in at 3pm we were looking to a warm welcoming room...that didn't happen.

First of all the apartment is a good 20 minute up-hill walk from reception with a steep narrow staircase to the rooms so definitely not suitable if you have health problems or if you're not traveling lightly. However, it is well located on the royal mile.

Our apartment was tiny and the bathroom was a bit shabby - a splash of paint and some ikea furniture should not make it acceptable to charge £60 a night (midweek off peak too) - I would have rather stayed in a hotel for the price.

There was one small storage heater for the flat which had not been switched on so when we arrived it was freezing cold. We ended up sitting in our coats and scarves for three hours whilst maintenance tried to fix the heating. When we complained and asked for a refund so we could go elsewhere or an alternative room we were treated very rudely and aggressively by reception (who until then had been nothing but lovely) who pretty much just said no.

After several phone calls, we eventually sorted an upgrade (at a cost) which we got into at 6.45pm - so we had wasted nearly four hours and were feeling very cold, stressed out and tired - so night 1 (my birthday) was wasted.

The next morning the boiler in our upgrade had packed in! It was sorted quickly though. There was also construction outside the apartment with scaffolding actually looking into the apartment!

We had been offered a late check-out to make up for everything but of course the cleaners arrived nice and early saying they hadn't been told that.

With reception so far away it was difficult to sort out our problems and we just felt they dealt with the situation unprofessionally. I think we're pretty laid-back people but I found this stay very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missusmuckdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottish Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottish Apartments

Property: Scottish Apartments
Address: 491 Lawnmarket | Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 2NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Scottish Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Scottish Apartments Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing