We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very restful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straven Guest House
Ranked #29 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stapleton
1 review
“very restful”
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Mac & Marion are wonderful hosts and are so warm and welcoming. This is our third visit to Straven and we will certainly be back.

We would recommend this guest house to any traveller as it is lovely and quiet and has a lovely promenade at the bottom of the road.

Lovely house and so comfortable, with the choice of breakfasts an added bonus.

grant and isobel Leicetser

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank bovisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
217
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

Lovely house by the sea in a quiet street, warm welcome, super king size bed, good ensuite, great breakfast, bus stop 1 minute walk (buses to city every 5 minutes). All in all......really good.

  • Liked — Location, convenience to bus stop, quiet street, cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Spurano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuhr
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Being Emmigrant Scots we love coming to Scotland, (there is no lovlier country) but we usually stay with family and friends. This year we wanted to celebrate out 30th Wedding Anniversary, obviously in Scotland but not necessarily with the whole clan, so we looked for somewhere nice in Edinburgh. Well, didn't we find it! A gorgeous house, right at the sea-side and the most delicous breakfast we have ever eaten. Mac and Marion are so friendly and helpful that we felt as if we were living with friends as we normally do.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bunch-o-heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

My husband and I found Straven Guest House an oasis of peacefulness in Edinburgh; the best of six B&Bs we stayed at during our visit to Britain. The House is quiet and comfortable. Breakfast food excellent and with some variety. Much attention to details to make our stay easy. Lovely to walk the promenade along the waterfront. Mac is a helpful host and offered useful information to make travel into Edinburgh simple. We found the bus easy to use and the ride offered an opportunity to see daily life. Will recommend it to other friends and family.

  • Liked — Comfortable, quiet lodging
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsShaalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2008

Wow--what a nice couple! Our hosts were the McCools and most of the time we dealt with Mac--probably the nicest B&B owner I have ever met. The room was spotless, the shower excellent (especially for the UK) and the breakfasts exceptional.

There are a couple things to keep in mind. First, almost all the rooms are up a rather steep staircase--which was a bit of a problem for me with my torn tendon and perhaps for some older guests. So, if this is a problem ASK FOR THE LOWER ROOMS! Also, at first I was put off with the rigidity of the breakfast choices--there isn't much room to deviate from the list. Then I realized this did make things a lot easier for the B&B plus the choices they did provide were far greater than the usual "English Breakfast" and all three types I tried were very good (and I think there were five different options). Just don't ask for them to hold one item or give you two of another.

A warm and welcoming place--if I return to Edinburgh, I'll be sure to come back.

  • Liked — The owner
  • Disliked — The stairs! Only one flight up, but it is rather steep--so be sure to ask for lower rooms if needed.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank planktonrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

Straven Guest house is a lovely victorian house situated in the prettiest spot on the coast not far from Edinburgh, Mac and Marion were very friendly and helpful hosts. The breakfasts are so delicious and plentiful, you won't need anthing for lunch! The scottish salmon and scrambled eggs was very yummy and there are lots of other delicious things to choose from as well as a cold buffet. The large room had a very comfortable queen size bed,the bathroom was modern and very clean . The guest house is in a very quiet street and is a short stroll to the beach or shops. (We had a view of the beach from our window)The bus service is cheap and very frequent for trips into Edinburgh. The questhouse is in a perfect position for sightseeing in Edinburgh and surrounding areas.
We really enjoyed our stay , 10/10 for position, comfort, peace and quiet, great breakfast and perfect hosts!

  • Liked — The breakfast, the quiet setting, the hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed at this lovely guest house for two nights at the end of May 2008. The rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean and very well maintained. We had a view of the sea from our room which was just the icing on the cake!
Mac and Marion were welcoming, witty and made us feel so much at home that I wish we could have stayed longer. Marion's breakfasts are amazing, they really set you up for the day which is just as well as we walked for miles along the seafront or took the regular bus (which stops just at the end of the street) into Edinburgh and walked for miles round Edinburgh. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Portobello and hope to return in the future.

  • Liked — The Location and clealiness and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisy_dotCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#33 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#22 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.6 mi away
McCraes's B&B
McCraes's B&B
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.8 mi away
94DR
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straven Guest House

Property: Straven Guest House
Address: 3 Brunstane Road North | Joppa Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Straven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Edinburgh more personal than any hotel try bed and breakfast in our comfortable, traditional Victorian house in a peaceful residential area of Edinburgh in a lovely leafy street leading to sandy Portobello beach/promenade. So peaceful it is difficult to believe you are only a fifteen minute busride from the centre. Explore the rich heritage of Edinburgh by day - relax in the evening with a quiet stroll along the beachfront promenade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straven Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing