We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Straven Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$613
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
457
32
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
457
32
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreguest loungea short bus rideporridgegreat hostsyogurtwe loved our stayhuge bedroom was spotlesshome from homeperfect locationexcellent breakfastcooked breakfastmacsineadportobelloscotland
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Getting away from the hotels and staying in the B&B's is the only way to go. This nice little place is well located. Able to leave the car parked out front we went in and out of the city centre by bus from the end of the street. Too easy. Close to the beach it was nice to be able to take a few strolls along the water front as well. Mac is friendly and ever willing to help and provide guidance as required. We enjoyed our time in Edinburgh and our stay at Straven Guest House and would happily go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Very nice facility but just a little below the other B & B we stayed in while in Scotland. Good location with easy access to downtown via city bus lines. Nice walk along the water.

However, as a comparison what made the other B & B a cut above was that when we arrived they offered us coffee or tea and a snack, visited with us and provided us an overview of the area.

We arrived after a very long day of traveling at Straven Guest House and while Marian was very welcoming it would have been nice to offer us some simple refreshments.

Our stay was spread over two time periods and we did get a feeling during our second period that they ready for us to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macmccool, Owner at Straven Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for the positive comments in your review but we were both very distressed to hear your concerns about our welcome. Pleased to hear that we were warm and welcoming at check-in. We try to give you comprehensive information to help you explore our wonderful city. We know that many small B and Bs do add an extra dimension by inviting you to join them for a refreshment and chat. We have always felt that, while some visitors would welcome such a friendly proposal, others may want to just get in, crash out and recover from the journey but do not want to offend their hosts. We have had regular feedback when discussing with our guests over the years how in their travels this has placed them in an awkward dilemma. We prefer therefore to provide refreshments and biscuits in the room and a comfy lounge and if anyone wants us to join them we are delighted to do so. More distressing is your feeling on your second visit. While this is not offered as an excuse you did arrive in the evening for a one night stopover before departure and left after breakfast. We had a number of people checking out that morning so perhaps did not have as much time to chat. We are both racking our brains as to how we could have given you such a horrific perception and can only apologise profusely – it was certainly not intended. We have been welcoming people into our home for eighteen years and are always keen to strike up friendly relationships with everyone. It is what makes our job a delight! NEVER would we think that we are ready for you to leave. Do come back and see us again and we shall try to dispel that impression for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Mac and Marian are wonderful hosts. B&B is a few yards from the North Sea in the suburb of Portabello. The bus connection to Edinburgh is quick and easy and it's nice to return to the guesthouse in late afternoon after a busy day in Edinburgh, walk on the beach, and have dinner at the Espy on the water. Parking if you have a car is easy right our front. We had an early flight and had to leave at 6am. Mac left us croissants and orange juice to go. So nice! Rooms are spotless. If you don't want to stay downtown, this is the place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfstennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was our second stay with Mac and Marian. Besides all the kudos for cleanliness, great breakfasts, ease of transport into the city center, lovely location, the thing that stands out above all else is how much Mac and Marian care about their guests. They truly make you welcome, and they make you feel like part of their extended family. I wouldn't consider staying with anyone else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

As others have noted the Straven Guest house is in an excellent location. The rooms are nice, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast is exceptional (try the porridge). This would be my first choice if I were going to Edinburgh again. You would be well advised to follow Mac's advice about bus service because parking downtown is scarce and expensive!!!! There are places close by to eat but it is pretty basic fare. If you are looking for a great dining experience I would eat in the city before coming back to the B&B.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor above the dining room. If there are no clouds you can watch the sun come up from your room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews