We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Straven Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$347
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
455
32
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
455
32
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centreguest loungea short bus rideporridgegreat hostsyogurtwe loved our stayhuge bedroom was spotlesshome from homeperfect locationexcellent breakfastcooked breakfastmacsineadportobello
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights a week ago, lovely house, stayed in Room 2 which was good size, excellent size bathroom with a big shower, good supply of tea, coffee etc. There is a lounge for guests with a bigger tv and lots of books if you want to relax after a day out walking for miles. Mac was a very good host, friendly and informative but not intrusive. Fantastic breakfast, great selection of cold and hot, the cooked breakfast was delicious, lovely dining room. Had a great nights sleep, it was cosy with a good sized radiator as it was cold when we visited. Liked that it was by the sea for a nice stroll but also short bus ride to Edinburgh. Lots of street parking, we left the car outside the day we arrived and only got back in the day we left. Very relaxing getting the bus rather than driving in Edinburgh, we bought £3.50 all day ticket each and were able to travel miles to different attractions and get on and off. Mac and Marian give you a card with their address, a small local map and the bus numbers so you can't go wrong. Would definitely return and have recommended it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Straven Guest house for Hogmanay - we had such a lovely time. Not only were the rooms of the highest standard, the hosts (Mac&Marian) were so welcoming, helpful and made our stay extremely pleasant. One of the highlights for us was the breakfast, there is a wide variety of options, however, we had a fully cooked breakfast most mornings which was delicious (a special added touch was that it was served until 11am on New Years Day!). Straven is a short bus ride to the City Centre, it is also so close to the beach which is a bonus. We could not recommend this guest house enough - we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauralouise4234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I really enjoyed my 3 night stay at Straven Guest House. The room was very comfortable, with a nice roomy shower. The bus link to central Edinburgh is really straightforward. The number 26 runs to Princes St every 10 minutes or so, and takes around 20 mins. So it's really not a problem not to be in central Edinburgh and actually I found that the location in Joppa added to the experience, because you're right by the beach. You can have nice seaside walks in winter and in summer you can combine city sightseeing with sunbathing. There aren't many places where you can do that! Mac and Marian are very friendly and will give lots of helpful recommendations for getting around, sightseeing and places to eat. But the best thing of all about this place is the superb Scottish breakfast. I started with porridge and then had bacon and egg, which really set me up for the day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkPBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Straven Guest House offers a delightful alternative to the sterile busyness of a hotel when you wish to be in the Edinburgh area. Located in Portobello, it is just a short walk from the sands of Firth of Forth AND a bus stop that will have you in the heart of the city in under fifteen minutes. The rooms are spacious, clean, and attractively decorated with artifacts that Mac & Marion have accumulated over their 18 years as B & B hosts. They are gracious, attentive, have a wealth of information about the area they are willing to share, and are fun! They obviously still enjoy hosting - and are very good at it. The breakfasts choices are varied and delicious. Mac makes his own yogurt and it is the BEST! This is a spot I can unequivocally recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Whilst visiting UK from Australia I did not want to stay at B&B's as I thought it would be like staying in a strangers home. My hubby booked Straven Guest House without my knowing and I must say it was one of the best places we stayed at in our seven week trip. Mac and Marian were wonderful hosts, the room was lovely with great views of the ocean, spotlessly clean, very quiet area, tea & coffee making facilities in our room was a plus and breakfast was wholesome & delicious. I really felt at home there. It was great to be able to leave our rental car parked at the B&B and travel into Edinburgh by bus (which was just at the top of the street). The restaurants near by were very good and we felt safe walking around the area.
We are planning to return to the UK in the near future and would love to stay at Straven again. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with ocean views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews