We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay, even lovelier owners!! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straven Guest House
Ranked #32 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely place to stay, even lovelier owners!! :)”
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed only for one night, but we had a brilliant time there. The location is spot on, as is entire experiance. The room was much more than we expected for such a cheap price, a wonderful suprise! I wasn't well during my stay, and the owners were helpful and very understanding. I didn't have breakfeast because of illness, but my companion assures me it was superb! I'm sure we'll be back, it made the trip perfect. Recommended to all!!!!!! ***** :)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swingin_monkey91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
216
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We loved our stay at the Straven Guest House. Mac and Marian are delightful hosts! The food was wonderful, and the rooms were spotlessly clean and very well kept. Mac and Marian gave us some helpful travel/sightseeing advice. They went the extra mile to meet some specific dietary requirements and were glad to help us in any way. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — Price, Location, Friendly owners
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamike65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We loved the Straven Guest House! From the personal service to the meals to the location, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay while in Edinburgh. As for the rooms, they were lovely - comfortable and extremely clean. The breakfasts included in the price were delicious and very substantial, with many options to chose from every morning. The guesthouse was a very convenient 15 min bus ride to the downtown core, with a bus stop around the corner. The buses were frequent which made getting to and from downtown Edinburgh very easy. For such an affordable price (we paid 60 pounds per night for 2 people), the Straven offers superb value.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing- it was excellent!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dawgonthestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2008

Great Hotel in super location. The welcome was friendly and warm, it needed to be as the temperature outside was bracing to say the least. Mac and Marion run a lovely guest house, the room was spacious and the bathroom was of excellent quality. The breakfast was well cooked, prompt and there was plenty of it to keep us going all day. We did not use the car while we were there as the bus stop was a 3 minute walk round the corner so it was easier to use the public transport.
Overall a great place to base yourself in Edinburgh

  • Liked — Room size and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malloryBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We choose this b&b based on the other great reviews on Trip advisor and it was also great value- considerably less expensive than hotels and other similar b&bs. Yes their horrendously designed website doesn't showcase Straven House aswell as other Edinburgh b&b's but try ignore that. Our bedroom was really nice with a huge bed and the shower room was great. Varied choice for breakfast, better than most hotels I've stayed in. It was no problem getting to Straven house- Get the no 26 bus from Boots chemist on Prince's St and ask the bus driver to give you a shout when you're at St Philips Church. We would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — great value for money
  • Disliked — their website- terrible design
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marion403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slc, utah,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We were delighted with the Straven Guest House in Sept. 08. The hosts were very gracious and helpful, the breakfast was exceptional and the showers were top notch. We'll stay there again without hesitation. Public transport into the city was quick and effortless. Straven Guest House was a real gem.

K. Borg
SLC Utah USA

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank burghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Great location with plenty room for parking , right by the waterfront . The owners were very welcoming, the room was spacious, comfortable and clean.

We were very impressed with the breakfast menu.

Will definetly use this guest house again

jen and stephen september 08

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank offskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#29 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.6 mi away
McCraes's B&B
McCraes's B&B
#31 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#1 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.8 mi away
94DR
94DR
#9 of 389 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straven Guest House

Property: Straven Guest House
Address: 3 Brunstane Road North | Joppa Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Straven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Edinburgh more personal than any hotel try bed and breakfast in our comfortable, traditional Victorian house in a peaceful residential area of Edinburgh in a lovely leafy street leading to sandy Portobello beach/promenade. So peaceful it is difficult to believe you are only a fifteen minute busride from the centre. Explore the rich heritage of Edinburgh by day - relax in the evening with a quiet stroll along the beachfront promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Straven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straven Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing