We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Straven Guest House
Ranked #28 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
“All around great experience”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

A B&B that has a great location and great hosts that are very knowledgeable about things to do and how to get around. It's just off the bus line that gives you easy access to center city. It's just a block to the beach that has some good places to eat just up the beach. It's also on the edge of town that makes it easy to drive out into the surrounding countryside. The breakfast they serve makes a great start to the day.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1957_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
97
218
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed here for one night on our honeymoon trip. IT WAS MAGNIFICENT! The people who run the place are so nice (we checked in late because the trip we were on got back late,) and they didnt care. The room was beautiful, and breakfast was so so good. They were so kind to us and the bed was so soft and the sheets were as well. The bathroom was brand new and very clean. I cant wait to go back to here.

Our room had a view of the sea- what more can you ask for? If you are trying to figure out where to stay in Edinburgh I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eclipsethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sungirlsea
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

A beautiful and charming guest house in fantastic location with warm and friendly welcome by Mac & Marian.
The food was great and the room was big with an amazing view.
It was so good that when we had to go on with our trip, it was a pity.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungirlsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Great location, 2 minutes walk from a beach promenade for romantic evening strolls. Right around the corner is the bus which takes you straight to the city center (and believe me you don't want to drive yourself in to the center, massive amounts of constructions going on). Breakfast is delicious, especially the Belgian waffles. Mac is super nice, I highly recommend Straven. We were in room 8 which had a huge bed, super shower with tons of hot water.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooks8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We drove out of our way to stay at the Straven after spending 1 night there 7 years ago. Mac & Marian have been providing guests a wonderful experience for many years and we found that the Straven was even more delightful than our last visit. The beautiful home sits on a quiet street in the Portobello section of town just steps away from the bay and promenade ( extraordinary for late night beach walks). Mac recommended the Espy restaurant and we found his suggestion to be perfect. Our rooms were bright and clean and even had flat screen televisions. Breakfast is a delight with many offerings other than the traditional eggs and bacon. I loved my selection of imported cheeses and sliced meats. The Straven provides a sanctuary away from the crowded and noisy areas of downtown Edinburgh. I will gladly take a bus to downtown and enjoy the Straven guest house the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxGolfLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona spain
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Mac & Marion are great host. The house is charming & clean. The rooms are spacious, our room had a view out the window of the Portobello beach & promenade. We felt like we are at home, but yet being waited on like you were on holiday. Mac & Marion were helpful with any information you needed. Breakfast was very good, with so much to choose from it was hard to decide. You are free to come and go as you please. The bus stop is right on the corner with frequent service. The ride is 10-15 minutes to the center of Edinburgh. My daughter & I will remember our visit to Edinburgh for the hospitality we felt from our host and the city. We look forward to a return another day.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriefbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This was my first time staying at the Straven Guest House. From the moment I walked through the door after a stressful journey up I knew I was going to have a good stay. Mac and Marian are possibly the nicest people you could meet. Nothing seems too much trouble for them. The room was clean, spacious and just what I needed after a 5 hour journey. I chose the location due to the fact I was running the Edinburgh marathon, as they are not too far from the finish in Musselburgh. Portabella is a calm enjoyable area to stay and as the weather was fantastic I was able to enjoy the beach, which is 100 metres away from the Straven's doorstep.

I've had some breakfasts in my time at guest houses, however nothing that tops Mac and Marians the food was fab and the ever cheerful Mac insists on giving you endless cups of tea and toast :)

A wonderful place to visit and a fantastic place to stay

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARKBUTTRESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Abercorn Guest House
Abercorn Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockville Hotel
Rockville Hotel
#38 of 204 in Edinburgh
124 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#5 of 392 in Edinburgh
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aaran Lodge
Aaran Lodge
#104 of 392 in Edinburgh
129 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheridan Guest House
Sheridan Guest House
#23 of 392 in Edinburgh
353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#3 of 392 in Edinburgh
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Straven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Straven Guest House

Property: Straven Guest House
Address: 3 Brunstane Road North | Joppa Portobello, Edinburgh EH15 2DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Straven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For accommodation in Edinburgh more personal than any hotel try bed and breakfast in our comfortable, traditional Victorian house in a peaceful residential area of Edinburgh in a lovely leafy street leading to sandy Portobello beach/promenade. So peaceful it is difficult to believe you are only a fifteen minute busride from the centre. Explore the rich heritage of Edinburgh by day - relax in the evening with a quiet stroll along the beachfront promenade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Straven Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing