We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #81 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We went here for a meal to celebrate my nephews 17th Birthday. It is a gorgeous place in a lovely location in edinburgh. We ate upstairs and the service was good. The food was lovely 3 courses - I had the bruschetta, chicken and meringue - all were really tasty and well presented. There was a choice of 3 Starters, mains and deserts. And everyone enjoyed there food. We ate at 4pm as we had some young children with us and were there til approx 6.30pm.
I would definately go back here for a meal and drinks - lovely cocktails (but a bit pricey however that's what to expect in George St) and I noticed when there that they had a good deal on a Sunday for 4 Adults - 3 courses and a bottle of prosecco for £60 - that's really good. Will try that out sometime. The only negative is that I wouldn't say it is for young kids more for adults or teenagers. As there is nowhere for you to go after you finish the meal as it is a bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi Karen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Le Monde experience. We may not be ideally suited for young children in the evening but during the day we are always happy to accommodate families, we also offer a Kid's Menu so please ask next time you're in.

Our Sunday Social offer is a great deal and is very popular with our local and regular visitors. I hope you get a chance to sample it next time you're in town!

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    198
    81
    37
    37
See reviews for
36
473
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for a short break in the New York suite. It lived up to its reputation for quality and we felt truly spoilt from the moment we walked through the door. The reception staff were friendly, very approachable and not at all distant as we had read in some previous reviews. The room itself was absolutely beautiful! The bed was very comfortable and apart from some very minor street noise/ clubbers the room was perfect. We particularly liked the shower! The breakfast was to die for! When staying in Edinburgh we would definitely book again or pop into the bar for a cocktail.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerpuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so pleased that you were spoiled and found our staff to be so welcoming. New York is a fabulous suite and it's my favourite too.

Please do keep us in mind next time you're looking for an extra special break away.

Many thanks,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed here for one night in January and it was one of the most exceptional experiences I have had staying in a hotel in a long time. From the trendy bars to the themed rooms this hotel had everything could you get ever dream of!!!! From arrival the staff could not have been more helpful. The room I stayed in was more of a suite than a bedroom with a gorgeous sunken bath. We drank in the bar and had cocktails in the Dirty Martini Cocktail Bar. I would without recommend this hotel to anyone going to Edinburgh and intend to make many return visits!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you Claire for your fabulous review! Le Monde is full of excitement and I'm glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Please feel free to call our Front of House Team on 0131 270 3900 when booking again and we will be delighted to talk you through some of our other individually designed suites. We'll also be able to update you on some fantastic live music that may be happening in the Dirty Martini during your next stay.

Kind regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed 1 night for business and was pleasantly surprised. I usually stay in the George which is virtually opposite, but that was full and don't regret it. Room was spacious and clean with an excellent bathroom. Staff were friendly & while I did not eat there the bar got a good testing, Would definitely return.

Room Tip: At the back so you get some peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to get tickets to see the phenomimal Jacqui Dankworth perform for the last night of the Edinburgh Fringe festival. The band was amazing, certainly one of the best I've seen live before. The venue was five star, the Dirti Martini lounge was a perfect setting for this type of music and I would really love to see similar shows to this being held again. The staff were friendly and helpful, they really did manage to capture the atmosphere perfectly. I would definitely consider making the trip up to Edinburgh again to see another show!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackWRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary. We were really looking forward to it. The hotel looked fab, we had requested the Atlantis room.

When we checked in we were given the Atlantis room and advised that the reception would send some complimentary champagne to the room.

The room was lovely, very spacious, clean, a really comfy bed and a quirky fish tank that allowed you to see from the room into the shower.

The room was warm but there was a small fan in the room. We tried to adjust the air conditioning but found it was broken, the tv in the bathroom did not work, the lamps at the bedside did not work, the sink appeared to be blocked and the volume on the TV didnt work.

We got ready to head out and the complimentary champagne hadn't arrived we reported the faults to reception, we were advised that most of the faults were known to reception and were offered another room. The air conditioning didnt work in that room so we just left it and stayed where we were.

We were offered a taxi out to dinner and were advised they'd give us a few free drinks and something off the bill for the faults. We headed out an when we returned the sink was fixed and we had been given a larger fan.

The room was still stifling hot and the rest of the faults had not been resolved.

One thing worth mentioning is that we heard no noise at all in the room.

When we checked out we were charged for all the drinks we had and an upgrade fee! We asked about the upgrade fee which they removed. We didn't mention the drinks and just left. A man accompanied us to the car with an umbrella which we thought was a nice touch.

Overall we were quite disappointed although the hotel was lovely it didn't appear to be well maintained and nothing was really done to rectify the situation.

We have since emailed and have been offered another stay at the hotel. We will return but if we were to have the same experience again I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C10mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stopped here for lunch this afternoon and it was a delight. The service was super fast and the staff helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and piping hot. The cocktails were scrumptious. We sat outside and watched the world go by.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magst299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#29 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#100 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing