We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #72 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our stay”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

From the minute we stepped into reception, the receptionist was helpful. Free complimentary glass of champagne :) we wanted to book dinner in the restaurant but it was full but the staff accommodated us, which we thought was just great. Our room was lovely, very chic, only slight disadvantage we could here all the noise on the street below. Would definitely come back again!,,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Le Monde.

Look forward to seeing you next time!

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    205
    82
    38
    37
See reviews for
38
499
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself and my wife flew in for a one night stay. I had chose this hotel due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We had the Moscow room which was great. The bed was big and comfy, and the ensuite bathroom was large and clean.
The hotel itself has a great bar on restaurant, which was very busy all day and night, which would indicate to me it is very popular. We paid for Half Board so we had our evening meal in this restaurant and it was great. Very good quality food and staff. Next door to the hotel is The Dome and this seems to be THE place to go in Edinburgh. There were queues outside all day long so i would recommend you book in advance.
The only downside for me is that they need to spend a little more time and money on the small details in the rooms. We had a couple of small things broken and missing in the room, but i am sure these small things would of been found if there was regular maintenance, but saying that it did not detract from a great stay.
It was expensive but worth the money if you are looking for a special place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We are pleased that you were not disappointed with your overall stay and that you enjoyed our food and dinner package!

With regards to the maintenance I would like to assure you and future visitors that we do pay attention and regular checks are carried out on a daily basis. The issues you encountered were actioned and have already been rectified.

Hope to welcome you back again soon and please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we will be delighted to choose a room especially for you.

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Le Monde for one night last week and this was the second time we have stayed in this hotel. It's a really cool hotel with every room themed as a different city. Last time we stayed in Berlin which is a lovely room with an amazing bath! This time we got a free upgrade to Dublin! We were excited about this and again Dublin was a really nice room! No bath but a lovely spacious shower and lots of area to sit and have a drink. Massive bed, really liked it!

One of the best things I think about this hotel is breakfast is served until 12pm! When you have been for cocktails in Edinburgh the night before it's ideal!! And on a Sunday breakfast is served till 5pm!!! Amazing!

Le monde is a really quirky cool city centre hotel with good location right on George St. Looking forward to staying again and trying some other cities!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LJNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Many thanks for taking time to post your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your second visit as much as your first and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Being a smaller hotel we enjoy being able to offer slightly later breakfast and check out times when possible for our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed these services.

Kind regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

First visit to Edinburgh and the Le Monde Hotel. Fantastic place to visit. people very friendly and helpful in all the stores we visited. Brilliant hotel centrally located stayed for three nights in the Cairo room - loved it! especially the large bath. Fantastic stay. staff couldn't do enough for us. Lovely clean rooms. Welcome from reception on our arrival was great. Had breakfast in the hotel lovely and clean - Food excellent. We will definitely return to the Le Monde and try out the other rooms. Well done to all the staff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you Lorraine & Tony for your kind review. Edinburgh is indeed a friendly city and we enjoy carrying that great Scottish hospitality throughout Le Monde. I have passed your positive comments to the whole team here and they are delighted with your feedback!

It was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Found this hotel on google and glad I did. Stayed in the
'Atlantis' room with a friend which was very pleasant. The view wasn't great but the room itself was very nice. Would definitely like to experience some of the other individually designed rooms.
The staff were extremely friendly and a lady at reception recommended a great place around the corner for us to have dinner. Stay on a Sunday night and you get £50 to spend in the very trendy cocktail bar attached to the hotel which has a great wine selection and good cocktails too. Breakfast is served in the same bar / restaurant and was great too, we even had lunch their. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_ajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our "Perfect Sunday" package is a great deal and we will be running this offer again next year.

Look forward to welcoming you back next time!

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Having read the mainly positive reviews on Trip Advisor of Le Monde, we stayed for one night at this boutique hotel in Edinburgh with city themed rooms. I am afraid I was a little disappointed. I felt it had a touch of arrogance with both the overall feel and I believed the staff at times at that arrogance. The both meals we had, dinner and breakfast lacked taste and were lack lustre. We stayed in the Bejing room and it felt cold in feel and had very little appeal.

I always judge a hotel on whether I would return to enjoy the experience and I am afraid on my visit to Le Monde I am afraid I wouldn't return.

A positive of this hotel is that it is centrally located within the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at Le Monde. I am disappointed to hear that our Beijing room was not to your taste. We have had great feedback from other guests who have stayed in this room recently but with each of our 18 rooms being individually designed it sometimes happens that we allocate the wrong room to the right people!

With regards to staff attitudes I am very concerned that you found them to be arrogant. We have a great team of hard working staff here. We pride ourselves on employing people who enjoy customer service and who will always go that extra mile. If there is a weak link in the chain I would like to know about it. If you would be so kind to email me directly to ellaborate on this it would be very much appreciated: mike.allan@lemondehotel.co.uk

Lastly, I do hope you will change your mind and give us another try one day. I would only ask that you contact us directly if booking and we will be delighted to talk you through our different themes and room types and allow us to select a room that is perfect for you!

Yours sincerely,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a friday night to celebrate our anniversary in LA suite. Champagne on arrival and suite was fantastic looking. Not quite up to my ocd clean standards but nothing to complain about. The GIANT bath with brilliant. Restuarant was decent. Nothing spectacular but a good dinner. I asked for a non alcoholic cocktail as none on the menu and got a very good virgin mojito. atmosphere and look of the bar was great. You could hear some noise from the bar/club when trying to sleep but it was bearable and I expected it in a club hotel in central edinburgh. Need a better mattress on the bed. It was 2 singles pushed together and there was a clear seam felt plus they did turn in so got rolled onto the seam. Decent breakfast although there was a bit of a morning after a party smell and staff still cleaning up and organising for the next night

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Le Monde. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay on the whole. We embrace guest feedback and will certainly be using your comments constructively as we strive to continually improve our service and guest experience.

The beds you mentioned are executive zip and link which many hotels use to accomodate double and twin bookings but we are currently adding in georgous matress toppers to enhance our sleeping experience. Hope you will make it back again soon to experience the difference!

Best regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing