We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun party place, beautiful hotel. Kind of pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #75 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun party place, beautiful hotel. Kind of pricey”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Le Monde for only one night, just before Hogmanay. Let me first say that the staff here are truly special. They were so helpful and accommodating. (Lost bags, straggler friends, etc.) And it wasn't just one or two people. Every person we encountered was really exceptional. The decor is fantastic and I loved how each area was decorated differently to give you a different vibe. Our room was really nice too although we didn't get to spend much time there. (Which was sad because there was a soaking tub that didn't get used!) We ended up going to the Hogmanay Dinner at Le Monde which was kind of wasted on us because we really just wanted to be at the Street Party. (It's what we had traveled 1/2 way across the globe for.) We were unable to finish our meal because we ran out of time. It was a beautiful night out though especially for couples. I would definitely go back to Le Monde!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girl1der1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    204
    81
    38
    37
See reviews for
38
488
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked the New York suite for my mum and I because we had to cancel a trip to actual New York at the last minute. My mum was delighted by the surprise and the room and hotel definitely lived up to our expectations. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The suite was absolutely huge and luxurious. I can't wait to visit again and try some of the other rooms. Los Angeles is top of my list!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cancunfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I booked the Cairo suite here a couple of weeks ago after I couldn't get in for a second night at Nira Caledonia down in Stockbridge. I was unsure whether to book here or the Caledonian on Princes Street but swayed by the really nice service I'd had from the receptionist I'd been speaking to via email about the reservation.

Overall a very good stay. Room cleanliness was perfect and ready bang on checkin time. Lady on reception was very nice and came to collect me from the bar when my room was ready. Anybody familiar with Edinburgh will know you can't get a more central location than this.

My room was very comfortable with everything I needed. Not really a negative for me as I liked the room anyway, but for a themed hotel, the Cairo room wasn't very Cairo-y and I don't know how much of a factor that may be in some people booking looking for that sort of themed experience. Some of the rooms on their website seem to have a very distinct theme, others seem slightly more generic though still comfy in style. The more important aspects to me; fantastic shower, a bath that was large enough I was joking it was like having a small paddling pool, nice big TV/DVD in the seating area with a second one over the bed, comfortable bed and a well stocked mini bar. - Small details, I think there may have been some scrapes on the floor in the tiled area and a cushion on the side of the sofa corner unit missing, but it didn't adversely affect the stay.

I'd been on a date that evening and the staff at the bar downstairs were great arranging for a bottle of Prosecco being sat on the coffee table in my room just before we went upstairs. They'd even kindly given me some little jugs of fruit purees which allowed me to make up some bellinis in the room late on in the evening.

Didn't try the breakfast so I'm unable to comment. However, I realised after I'd left that my phone had gone wrong during the night and the clock was running over an hour behind. I assume I must have run well over the checkout time because of that, but the staff never mentioned anything which I'd taken as a very nice free late checkout.

Overall, if you are looking for a 'city break' chic style hotel, I'd say this is a really good option with nice staff, some of the best bars in town on site and comfortable, well equipped rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My friend and I stayed at Le Monde hotel. It was glorious. We were in the Icelandic room.
The interior design is very impressive, the staff are helpful and best of all it's an A1 location right next to all the action. There is also a great restaurant and bar as part of the hotel
Given the design and overall theme of the hotel my own suggestion would be a more apt key chain than a tacky disco ball. A mini globe perhaps!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a choice of city to pick from as each is designed accordingly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieMel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for giving such a glowing review of your experience here at Le Monde. Reykjavik is a great room and you are right we are located right in the centre of the Edinburgh buzz. We are glad to hear that our staff looked after you so well; we always strive to make our guests feel welcome and do everything we can to better their stay.
Thank you for your idea about our key chains; we love it and the globe will be something that we are going to use in the future. Hopefully you will be back soon to see your idea in place!

Best wishes,

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Le Monde on Sat 28th December. When we arrived we were greeted to 2 glasses of complimentary champagne and a free upgrade to the Dublin suite! It didnt have the best of views but it was fine for a one night stay!
Have seen some comments about the staff being unfriendly but for us the staff also couldnt be more helpful.
Although Le Monde has bars and restaurants in the hotel we didnt visit these so couldnt really comment about them but we were very happy with our Dublin suite and will definately be booking again and hopefully we will stay in a different city in the world!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Craig,

Great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Our champagne check-ins on Fridays and Saturdays are a great way to kick-start your weekend!
We pride ourselves in having a dedicated reception team who will always do their best to look after all of our customers and we are so glad to hear that was reflected in your experience.
Remember when you come and stay with us again to let us know that you have experienced Dublin so that we can allocate you another of our destination rooms!

All the best

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Le Monde on Sat Dec 21st. A night away before the christmas madness. We stayed in a lovely room (Sydney) no view but not a problem for one night. Unfortunately there was a lot of noise from the bar under our room but we put this down to Christmas party night! Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Thanks to the great staff who booked us a table at Rhubarb, we had the best meal we have had in a long time in a beautiful building 10min up the road. We will be visiting Le Monde and Rhubarb again in the new yr.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicnicklukelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Nick,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us here at Le Monde! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our restaurant recommendations were to your taste.
As you mentioned the hotel can experience some noise with us being right in the centre of such a vibrant capital but we do our best to allocate rooms on the third wherever possible. When you return you will need to try out another of our fantastic suites.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back to Le Monde already!

Kind Regards,

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed at Le Monde on Saturday we arrived and were greeted by two glasses of champagne .
We got up graded to the most amazing room Atlantis,
The bars in the hotel are fantastic with different themes, we also eat in the hotel and the food and service was second to none.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone without an hesitation.

We will defiantly be going back

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARYANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike A, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Hi Gary,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review! We are always delighted when we are able to upgrade our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed Atlantis!

Look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind regards,

Mike Allan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,024 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,619 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing