We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC WEE OVERNIGHT SHOPPING BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #78 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC WEE OVERNIGHT SHOPPING BREAK”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

took my 78 year old mother for a shopping trip and decided to do it in style, and what style. We had a free upgrade and mother was impressed even down to the room key(a crystal disco ball type thing!).

Can't find fault with anything really, room was fantastic(berlin room), lounge area was great if a bit busy,evening meal was beautiful and breakfast was among the best I have ever had. 1 downside for my particular trip was the club/bar area being very busy and I mean VERY busy although if that is what you like then it is a def plus point, my daughter's tell me people have to queue some nights to get in.

A big thank you to Zara who went out of her way to be helpful as far as coming up to the room to help me work out how to get in (don't ask its old age). PS mother loved the free champagne which Zara brought up to the room once we had settled in.

Fantastic location on George's street as well.

Can only recommend this hotel and if you can get a discounted price then you def have to give it a go.

Room Tip: We were in Berlin Room which was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southportgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    201
    81
    38
    37
See reviews for
36
483
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

After reading all the amazing reviews here we booked this hotel for a couple of nights luxury getaway to Edinburgh. The initial impression was good - we love George Street, a great central location for exploring the rest of the city. The street offers a great range of bars and restaurants. A couple of glasses of champagne upon check-in was a nice touch. The staff is really friendly and nice and the downstairs bar/restaurant area looks gorgeous. We were checked into the Havana Room on the 2nd floor and there is a great view of George Street and the little church acrosss the street.
The room has got some fundamental problems. The front door is paper thin and every noise can be heard from the corridor from other guests coming and going to the "talking" elevator. The inner window will not close and lock properly, which makes the outside noises seem even louder. As there is a nighclub in the basement and people are queing on the street outside, it can be hard to get some sleep. When the nighclub closes you have the noise of drunken people shouting on the street outside. Then at 7am the cleaners come in to clean and rearrange the seating in the restaurant on the 1st floor - dragging chairs and buckets across the floor can be clearly heard from your bed. By the way, the bed is pretty average in comfort and a little small for my liking.
Unfortunately the curtain in the bathroom does not extend far enough to give you any privacy when going to the toilet. You have a beautiful view directly into the rooms of the George Hotel across the street and in return they have a nice view of you doing your business. You can of course choose to operate the electronic black-out blinds when you go to the toilet but 1. they are operated from a panel near the front door furthest away from the toilet and 2. they will black out both windows, not just the bathroom window. A little awkward to say the least.
There is no booklet with information about the hotel in the room - does it have a gym? What are the facilities available? When is check-out time etc? If you're traveling from the continent or further abroad remember to bring your own converter plugs as they dont have any at reception or offer to get you one.
We came back to the room at 5pm in the afternoon after a day of wandering around town to find that the room had not been cleaned. However, someone had been in to leave a couple of easter eggs, but failed to notice that the room needed cleaning. It was cleaned that evening when we went out for dinner but they forgot to leave essentials like tea bags.
All in all its a nice looking hotel in a nice location but lacks comfort and essential service. Its definitely style over substance here and as other reviewer here have mentioned it's far too expensive for what it pretends to be. Edinburgh offers a huge range of great, comfortable and luxurious hotels where the service is great and you'll get a good nights sleep. You don't have to look that hard. At the current price for a room we would not recommend staying here but if you're looking for a good place to hang out at night it's a good choice for a drink in the bar downstairs.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank onepumpkinpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Superb impression upon arrival - the outside of the hotel is very pretty & the staff who greeted us were extremely friendly. Our room was spacious, clean & quiet (we were on the second floor) & the bathroom was incredible. We were slightly surprised to find that our bed was actually two singles pushed together. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but breakfast was lovely with very attentive staff. Similarly our evening drinks were very enjoyable with a great choice of cocktails on the menu & a comfortable & stylish bar space to sit in. Overall an amazing stay, we were very sorry to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13CatG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Pros
-This hotel has character! It's one of a kind. What a nice change from the standard offerings from the big hotel chain.
-At hip hotel like this one may expect cold staff with attitude. It was quite the opposite! The staff members were genuinely nice and helpful.
-Very nice room. Met my expectations.
-Free wifi
-Great location - only 5 minutes walk to the main train station.
-Very hip and trendy.

Cons
-It's a bit pricey but I think it's worth it.

I recommend this hotel and I will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The young, friendly reception staff clearly recognises the importance of making a good first impression. On arrival, our bags were carried to The Beijing, leaving our hands free to carry the complimentary glasses of champagne.

Room 306 has an oriental theme with Chinoiserie furniture and an impressive dragon mural snaking its way along one wall. The mood lighting creates a certain ambience (if you're cleverer then me and able to figure out the preset 'scenes') and when you discover that the pull chord in the bathroom controls the switchable glass window above the bath, you'll also be able to watch TV whilst having a soak. Pour yourself a Hendrick's (£6) and tonic from the mini-bar - call reception for ice - and relax.

Le Monde's location is perfect. A five minute walk from Waverley station and right next door to the Dome - a must visit place to enjoy afternoon tea (or cocktails).

The hotel bar may not boast quite as much opulence as its neighbour but the informal atmosphere seems to attract a younger crowd of customers until the early hours of Sunday morning.

Breakfast, served in aforementioned bar, is delicious if not a little pricey at just under £10 for a 'full scottish' which doesn't include tea/coffee or toast. You could skip along the road to Weatherspoons for a cheaper alternative but it's doubtful whether they'd match the quality of Le Monde's sausages.

Definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Room 306 has windows overlooking the rooftops therefore is quiet, although not the best for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milliemooandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Perfect location in Edimburg, just side by side with The Dome and close to shops. Five minutes walk and you reach the Castle and touristic attractions. The service is really nice. Only problem is parking your car, they do not have a Parking and it's so very expensive to leave it close to hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and go by names of citys arround the world, we stayed at "Moscow"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miryam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Receptionist on arrival very welcoming, even helped us with our bags as struggling with the champagne you get when booking in.
On first impressions of the Tokyo room I thought it was nice..... One of the running curtains fell to the floor when I tried to close it. Sat on the sofa and the cushions really moved. I went into the huge impressive bathroom to be met with ? Pubic hair two in the bath, one in the shower and one in the sink well this doesn't happen in a clean bathroom at my home so don't expect to get that in a 4* hotel. I complained it was re-cleaned and a bottle of prosecco chilling and a sorry note beside it which was a nice gesture but I would have been happier with a clean bathroom on arrival.
Young guys on the bar very slow to serve.
Cooked breakfast was so-so not fresh produce from a butcher something you buy from a supermarket fridge.
Very expensive £560 for two nights but would have been worth it if standards had been higher, as the toiletries, mini bar, dressing gowns, and crisp white bed linen were nice.
Hotel lets down the lovely receptionists who booked us in and out, there a credit to the manager.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bugsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing