We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay start to finish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just back from a Sunday night stay at Le Monde for my partners 40th Birthday. We stayed in the L.A. Suite which we were gratefully upgraded to. The suite it breathtaking... The decor & spaciousness makes this room a delight. We didn't want to leave the room as it was so lovely and relaxing plus the double bathtub is phenomenal. The added touches like the birthday card in the room, birthday desert plate etc made this stay even more magical for my partner. The hotel staff are so friendly and inviting. They helped made this birthday treat a success and the service is second to none. The food was delish also. Could not fault our stay and will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sodea27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having read all the previous reviews I was very excited to be spending a night at Le Monde last month. We were in Havana and while the hotel was nice, I wasn't blown away by it for the price we paid. In saying that the location is excellent & the staff at reception were most attentive, helping us with taking bags out to taxis etc. Breakfast was good but I have to say I was most disappointed in the black pudding! Overall a good stay but would probably choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay here. We finally arrived at the hotel after 9 hours of travel and the staff immediately made us feel very welcome. We were offered two glasses of champagne and they took all our bags to the room while we drank them and recharged our batteries.

We were given the Atlantis room, which was very cute with a fish tank above the bed. The room was not huge, but was a good size for what can be expected in central Edinburgh. The bathroom was lovely and I didn't want to get out from under the rain shower!

The hotel has a great location and is a five-minute walk from a lot of the tourist sites, the shops on Princes Street and a lot of great bar and restaurants.

A great find. We'll definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_YTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Visited her last week with Daughter for spot of shopping and girly time. It was my 5th visit to Le Monde over the years and it remains very good for service and atmosphere all staff very good. Rooms nice we were in Paris however, in the past I have stayed with my Husband and always had a suite but superior rooms still very nice. We stayed on a Sunday special which was very reasonable priced with £50 to spend in restaurant or bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DurhamCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This gorgeous wee boutique Hotel in the heart of the city is a must for a special night.

We sadly only had one night, could've stayed forever.

We had the Berlin themed room which was very comfortable.

The check in time is strictly 3pm but was worth it as the room and bathroom was spotlessly clean. (They'll take your bags though.)

My wife being a bit petite found the bathroom mirror and shelves far too high as was the bed for my mini wife but maybe being the Berlin room they were expecting tall blonde folks. We'll book the Tokyo room for lady wife next time.

Staff are genuinely warm and friendly.

We dined in the restaurant which we have used many times before for lunch and dinner so have no complaints.

For some bizarre unexplained reason they dont have chicken breast on the menu ~ you're guess is as good as mine?

The breakfast was excellent but would have liked our Scottish favourite tattie scones!

Being very fussy with food standards I can assure you won't be disappointed.

Definitely going back and try a longer break.

Besides we usually visit the cosy wee bar and sit by fireplace when shopping in Edinburgh.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anon_Sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from spending our 30th Wedding Anniversary at Le Monde. We wanted somewhere special for our stay in Edinburgh and this hotel certainly lived up to this.
We booked the Atlantis room which was amazing, with a fish tank behind the bed!
The whole stay was a pleasant experience, staff were friendly and helpful. In good position for visiting the sights, most things within walking distance. Would recommend to anyone looking for something different.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Le Monde for 4 nights and enjoyed every night of our stay, we stayed in Milan, Paris and LA and all rooms were amazing. The staff were fantastic and very friendly and the rooms were spotless, and we liked the mood lighting and great themes in the rooms. We look forward to coming for our anniversary thank you to everyone at Le Monde.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HullElgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,824 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
West End
Angels Share Hotel
Angels Share Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
501 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#73 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £109 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing