We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #75 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2010

The hotel, bar, staff, breakfast and the quality of the suite we chose were truly excellent.

Would highly recommend to those looking for a quality boutique hotel with a lively atmosphere close to hand.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCoisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (825)
There are newer reviews for Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2009

A 4 star hotel with themed rooms of locations around the world. Executive room with a price tag to match. It should have been a relaxing hassle free stay, unfortunately it was one problem after another; room promised at time of reservation not made available, room given had one plug socket hanging off the wall, another room we were shown had no door handle, the room we finally settled on had no toilet paper and the requested additional coat hangers never turned up. The bottle of bubbly offered as a goodwill gesture can be bought for £10 and therefore must cost the hotel no more than £5 so did not really feel this was a genuine apology and hence the bottle was returned. Breakfast in the morning was the final straw; the tea pot had no lid so it was served with a saucer as a replacement and to top it off no-one reappeared to take the breakfast order. We left the hotel shortly after that. If there was one good thing it was Laura. A young receptionist who tried her best to help as much as possible but all the issues outweighed her efforts. It's sad when you take an executive room in a 4 star hotel to be let down with so many issues. I cannot recommend this to anyone I am afraid.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambridgeNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

This hotel is very very over priced and not worth the money. The rooms were okay, nothing special for the price they are and the bathroom was very dirty with black mould in the shower rooms. Our meals were basic, with the breakfast being rather greasy and dinner menu was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellBell1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

i stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend about a week ago staying in the Tokyo Suit. We planned to have a quiet night and watch DVD's in the hotel room. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the most fun fresh faced 2 receptionists, they didnt treat as another JUST another guest, they were both very helpful and recommened to have dinner in the Paris restaurant and attend the night club down stairs, we spoke to them for about 5 minutes and it was a very good start to the stay. we attened the restaurant and our waiter was just great, fast good service. I will definately be attending this hotel again. It made out night of planning to do nothing into a fun exciting experience! i love the idea of a hotel, restaurant and club all at the one place, no need to spen money on catching a cab anywhere!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belltrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This place is amazing! I stayed on a weekend, with my friend and had a great time. The staff were so helpful when we checked in and helped us plan where to go and what to see in Edinburgh. When we got up to the room (the LA suite) we were very impressed; chic decor, massive bed, two flat screens, huge bath with TV, robes and slippers. We had dinner in the Paris restaurant where the staff made sure we were taken care of. There was really no need to leave the hotel at night as it was clearly "the place to be". After dinner we had a few cocktails in Vienna and then made our way to the nightclub (we were given VIP passes on check in) the finish the night off. Overall our stay was superb and I would definitely recommend this hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

the rooms are dirty and covered in dust (see photo attached). My wife and i each year (wedding annisversary) stay at what we believe to be up -market hotels to celebrate. These include in past have included Gleneagles, Mar Hall, Witchery, Waldorf Astoria-NY etc (all extremley enjoyable)

This so-called boutique hotel is a shambles, dont expect a good service within the hotel. examples include: rooms not being cleaned or ready 2 hours after official check in time, room service poor (dont expect light bulbs or remote controls to be replaced within 4 hours of reportign it). Bathroom tap controls broken, not fixed despite reporting it.

The only saviour is that the restuarant and nightclub are well operated....FORGET HOTEL.
SPEND YOUR MONEY ELSEWHERE WHERE THEY VALUE CUSTOM AND EMPLOY PROFESSIONALS. I travel the world with business and have learnt to compromise when needed , but paying that amount of money for a sub standard service i cant overlook.

ps. the manager who after 3 weeks reluctantly offered a voucher admitting the service was poor has since left (hopefully onto bigger and better things!). The hotel is now trying to get us to pay an amount of money to upgrade to a better room...as they dont (mysteriously) have the room type available as presented in the voucher. ALSO DONT EXPECT RECEPTION TO EVER RETURN CALLS...DESPITE ASSURING THAT THEY WOULD ON 3 OCCASSIONS IN ONE DAY!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

My wife and I booked for four nights but arrived back at the hotel on the second day to find the room flooded due to a roof leak, with water still running from the ceiling into the window alcove.

Part of the floor had been covered with hotel towels but the carpet was drenched and our wet possessions had (sensibly) been moved away from the window area. A bucket and mop had been placed strategically outside the door, presumably for us to mop up any more water.

Despite having our mobile 'phone numbers on record and our seeing the Receptionist on the way in and passing the time of day with her, nobody had bothered to contact us to tell us what had happened - we arrived in the room to find the mess and wet luggage. Not a good start. We contacted Reception but no-one came up and we received no apology.

I accept that a leak in the roof is a unforseen misfortune for them but the least one expects is to be treated with courtesy and every effort made both to inform us, apologise for the inconvenience and help us get alternative accommodation.

We were then told that the hotel was fully booked and that there was no alternative room. They offered to book us in at the George Hotel across the road. We accepted.

We then had to re-pack our luggage and take it across the road and book in. No-one accompanied us or offered any assistance. Staff at the George were courteous, sympathetic, very helpful and astonished that no-one from le Monde was with us. A complete contrast.

When we left 3 days later, no arrangements had been made for cross-billing (as promised) and we had to pay in full. When my Amex statement came I found that Le Monde had charged the full amount for 4 nights to my card without authorisation. Two months later I am still £490 out of pocket and still waiting for a credit. Promised calls from a Manager have yet to materialise. An expensive 4 nights at £1,000. Try The George - it's great.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motorwaymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,708 reviews
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#34 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £113 - £324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing