We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary rooms great for a special weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #63 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Extraordinary rooms great for a special weekend away”
Reviewed 11 November 2010

La Monde is great fun - rooms are themed and very comfortable, big two person baths, comfy bed, big tv, cool decor, fridge etc. Staff were attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluerskiesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    207
    83
    38
    37
See reviews for
39
504
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at le monde on the 7th november for my 30th birthday. Having booked the Cairo junior suite for only £119 as it was a Sunday, you kind of wonder what is going to be wrong with it and I can safely say, not a lot!! Gorgeous room, I think probably by far the nicest suite going by the photos! But maybe I'm biased! My partner fell in love with the double sunken bath, and I think if it wasn't for us having booked dinner would have stayed in it all night watching sky sports on the bath tv!! The bed was amazingly comfy with Egyptian cotton sheets and gorgeous decor, tea and coffee, water, chocolates and not to forget the bath robes and l'occitane toiletries f.o.c all add the finishing touch! If anything it was a little hot, however it was so cold outside it was nice to walk into, but could have done with going down a but at night..
The reception and bar staff were a good friendly and well informed! We even braved the cold to stand outside for a cigarette and chatted to the nicest doorman!
If you're after a bite to eat we only had some snacks but they have a good selection of sharing starters 3 for £10!
Checkin at 3 was a tad late I felt it could have been 2, especially when checkout is at 11. You want to make the most of the room you have booked!
All in all a great stay and I would highly recommend to anyone staying in Edinburgh... And will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123catj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We came here for my sister's hen celebrations, which I helped to organised. The hotel were difficult to deal with as their communication is poor. We arranged to bring a large party to the Shanhai nightclub. No one greeted us and made sure that we were happy with the arrangements - surely this should be a given? We had booked the cool box area, but no one gave us the keys to the cool boxes! We had been told that we could lock our drinks away in the cool boxes while we were dancing, but there were no staff around. This was all very disappointing considering the special occasion. We found the nightclub quite grotty and not befitting an elegant hen party.
We made several phonecalls of complaint after the event, none of which have been dealt with. This is no surprise considering the service that we had already received from them. It seems that Le Monde do not care about their professional reputation, who they disappoint and who does not want to return to their establishment.
We had dinner in the restaurant prior to this event and the food was weird: my Mum had a rich tomato sauce served with fish, which she felt was an odd combination. The restaurant is also very expensive.
We hope that Le Monde will eventually deal with our complaint and offer some customer service, but it doesn't look like that will happen.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolLady356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2010

The original concept of this boutique hotel embraces elegance and style, providing meaning to the term luxuary accommodation. This is established on first entering the refusbished town house. The intimate reception area introduces you to the sophisticated decor which flows throughout the the hotel, bar and restaurant.

Our chosen room, London, is styled traditionally with grand furniture. The chosen furniture design captures the desired theme tastefully, with exception to the large bathroom which contradicts the traditional apperance. Nevertheless, the bathroom is both chic and fitting to the hotels' charm. The raindrop shower and heated flooring particularly add to the high quality that has been achieved throughout. This room is situated on the 3rd floor and was extremely peaceful, with no complaints regarding noise from Shanghai nightclub. Our only constructive feedback regarding the room is the double bed compromises of two single matresses joint together. Appreciating this does not influence the overall character of the room, it does effect the level of comfort.

Upon arrival we were met by a friendly staff member who after introduction, provided information re the facilities available at Le Monde and our specific room package. The great location of the hotel was confirmed after staff advising of the nearby attractions. This flawless service was consistent throughout our stay.

This hotel will be strongly recommended to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyHutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Creatively designed rooms with plenty of nice add ons like heated floor, rainforest shower, flat screen tV and DVD collection on tap, but it was hard to get to sleep - the nightclub downstairs blares until the early hours! So unless you are planning a night out yourself, think twice...Also the breakfast left much to be desired. My poached egg came out boiled, the toast underneath it, soggy, and the staff could not find me the multigrain muffin advertised on the menu... It was a shame as these annoying little details coloured what could have been a fantastic time at a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADM2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Lovely hotel we stayed in the New York Suite. Room huge, bathroom quirky and generally very good. Very young hotel, staff were all early 20's which is not a problem. Not sure of value for money as my husband paid for my birthday but all in all a lovely night away. Nightclub downstairs, never went but sounded like fun. Free drink with booking but it was barcardi based only drinks and cocktails don't drink bacardi so never used them. But nice thought

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna72Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Well where to start with this hotel and staff. It was great. We arrived at Le Monde to big smiles from the very helpful and friendly staff at reception. We had booked 1 nights stay in a superior room but upon arrival we were told there was a slight problem with the St Petersburg room we had requested. Guests before ourselves had been smoking and that there was a faint smell in room but the staff very kindly and efficiently offered that there were other options for us such as Paris and Sydney if we werent totally satisfied with our original request. We were shown all 3 rooms and jumped at the chance to stay in Sydney as this was a junior suite which was a complimentary upgrade which we couldnt believe as this room was double the price that we had paid for :). My first thought was WOW when we walked in, room was huge and very modernly decorated with facinating themed art on walls, big tvs and lighting system was great if you wanted to set the mood. Bathroom was out of this world, bath tub was huge and everything was extremely clean and the L'Occitane goodies were a surprising bonus. We had dinner in one of the bars and were seated straight away. Very tasty food, also enjoyed our free cocktail vouchers which went down very well. After a great night in Shanghai nightclub returned to our stunning room and still couldnt believe the luxury suite we had been given. Woke up to full scottish breakfast in bed which was delicious. Would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is exceptional. Hotel staff make you feel very welcome and have very warm and friendly manner, always smiling and happy to help. This hotel is a gem and very rare to find this sort of splendor and comfort. Best stay I have ever had in a hotel and I have already booked up another stay for next month. Anyone who stays will be treated like a V.I.P and will enjoy the different culture each room has to offer. Have found my perfect hotel and will be returning many more times in the future. Loved it!!!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireHolmes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing