We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellen”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Street
Living Room
Dining Area
Sofa Bed
Kitchen
Bedroom
Bathroom
Lady Wynd
Grassmarket
The Castle
Living Room
Bedroom
Living Room/Dining Area
Welcome
Lady Wynd
Bathroom Window
Bathroom/Jacuzzi
Calton Hill
Grassmarket to Westbow
Beautiful Castle
The Royal Mile will be lit up this Christmas
beautiful evening in December
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jacqus1
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellen”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely flat right at the edge of the Grassmarket, couldn't have asked for better. Within walking distance to all the sights.
Eva made us feel very welcome. All the small touches made our stay even better.
Would recommend this apartment to anyone going to Edinburgh.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connie162
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After much searching for a place to stay in Edinburgh, I discovered the listing for the Lady Wynd apartment in Grassmarket. Eve responded to my inquiry about availability within a couple of hours and booking the apartment was extremely easy through TripAdvisor.

When we arrived at the apartment it was just as described and presented in the photos. We were really touched by all of the extras that Eve left for us: homemade jam, bread, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, milk, fruit, wine, Scottish cookies and crackers and even a bit of Whisky. There were fresh flowers on the dining room table and in the bedroom. Homemade soaps and other toiletries were in the bathroom. Eve also thoughtfully left a "bible" with maps and brochures as well as directions for all of the appliances in the apartment. The apartment is nicely furnished and the bed in the bedroom is excellent. It is obvious that this is a labor of love for Eve and she cares about her guest's comfort.

There were three features of this apartment that we really appreciated: free WIFI, the washer/dryer and the Jacuzzi. We made use of all of them during our stay!

The location of this apartment is in the Grassmarket. There are restaurants and shops right around the corner and Edinburgh Castle looms over the neighborhood. It is a relatively short 15 minute walk to the Royal Mile. A Sainsbury market is less than 5 minutes away from the apartment. The apartment is in a quiet building but the surrounding neighborhood can be a bit noisy some nights. If you are a very light sleeper, you may want to bring ear plugs.

We loved our stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Eve's thoughtful hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephs1
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great stay in Edinburgh!”
Reviewed 24 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Lady Wynd at the end of September, 2014 and couldn't have been more pleased. Eve was so accommodating with our fluctuating schedule and made us feel like this was our home. She goes over and above with the extras....fresh fruit, chocolates, bottle of bubbly, her own farm eggs (delicious), milk, bread, coffee, tea, and so much more. The space was clean and the bed very comfortable.
The location is excellent for sightseeing on foot, just a 5 minute (up-hill) walk to the castle, on the Royal Mile. The Grassmarket area is full of activity with pubs and restaurants, and there's a grocery store nearby. The entrance to the flat is in an alley (known as "Wynd"), but it's perfectly safe and the building is secure. It can get a bit noisy at times with partiers nearby, but this is intermittent and temporary (happened only a couple times). Ear plugs may help if you're a light sleeper. We would encourage travelers to not let this deter you from staying at Lady Wynd as it's a wonderful choice. Easily, an excellent value for this very reasonably priced property.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Home atmosphere and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovley appartment in the heart of Edinburgh”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a wonderful weekend staying at Lady Wynd. The apartment is tucked away in the Old Town of Edinburgh, on a quiet street but moments away from the bustling town and the castle. A perfect base for exploring the city, cosy and clean. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDConsult
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Town Gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The apartment was a cosy retreat - very quiet and comfortable in every way. Our host Eva provided a lovely apartment, with the best shower we have ever experienced. The bed was comfortable and the apt. was on a lane so there was no traffic passing by. Everything in Edinburgh is within walking distance for hardy folk who can do stairs. There were restaurants, groceries and shopping nearby. We would go back to stay anytime. It was a true home away from home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claudiade...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My vacation at lady wynd couldn't have been better. Location is great, all the nice things eve the owner has for her guests. Fruit, homemade jam, fresh eggs from her own chickens and the list goes on and on. She is a lovely lady and will be staying at lady wynd on my next trip.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for those nice words.I am touched. It's a pleasure to have you as a guest. I look forward to seeing you again,
Eve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladybirdt...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic apartment in a great location.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Eve was a great host, and had thought of everything - fresh fruit, bread, milk, tea & coffee and more essential items were provided for our stay. The apartment was in a great location and within easy reach of all the main attractions in Edinburgh. There was a little noise at night but it didn't spoil our stay. We stopped one night with our two children who loved the sofa bed and were especially excited about the jacuzzi! We would definitely stay here again, it was a fantastic find.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing