We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one/two nights”
Review of Safestay Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Safestay Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok for one/two nights”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in July. Staff very helpful when asking about trips to go on. Ended up in a room with eight bunks (only four of us family members so insure why we where put in bigger room) - VERY warm of a night was hard to sleep even with windows open. Please make sure you ask not to be next to terrace like us!! So noisy of a night. Rooms clean, towels and bedding provided. If sharing with people you don't know take padlock. Not many lockers, used luggage room but so many people coming in and out of it was worried about belongings. Breakfast definitely worth it only £5 with unlimited tea & coffee. Would stay again but ask to be as far away as poss from terrace. Great location!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneRoberts90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your review.

It's noisy in Edinburgh at this time of year given the festival - noise up form the cowgate and down from the mile and of course our own bar. We do try to keep in house noise to a minimum.

Our free luggage storage is VERY well used at this time of year. You do have the option to pay for luggage storage space in a secure facility too.

It's been really hot in Edinburgh for a couple of weeks now (unexpected!) - fans are available at reception.

We hope to see you back again soon to stay with us and are glad that overall, you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks

Jayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    561
    210
    62
    61
See reviews for
229
125
429
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location, ok breakfast, rooms not impressed. Pillows were really bad the bunkbeds could be better, the room was really warm at night. However really impressed with showers and there is possibility for late check in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hey and thanks for taking the time to review us

Was it just the bunks and pillows that you found unimpressive about the rooms? Please email me more details on Jayne@smartcityhostels.com - we do like to get feedback and improve on what we offer

We are trying our best to keep all our rooms cool in this unexpected exceptionally hot Scottish weather! Reception would have been more than happy to move you to another room if you'd asked when you were in house

We are glad you enjoyed Edinburgh

Thanks

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Smart city hostels have a range of options to pick based on your budget. The private rooms with a private bath were very clean. Of course you've got smaller rooms but for the price in a tourist attraction like Edinburgh, I'd say this is one of the best places. Clean baths, access to food and a pub downstairs, a diverse crowd to socialise with, fantastic location (10 mins to the castle, Arthur's seat, and many more attractions), the place has very friendly service. I'd stay here again with no hesitation!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssavadhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hey and thanks a lot for you review

We are glad you had such a good time with us and do hope you visit again

Thanks

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We paid £67 for a 'twin room' which turned out to be bunkbeds. Although we had our own shower, £67 felt extremely overpriced for a tiny bunk room and shower with no amenities. The window opened onto the terrace so it was very loud and smelt of stale cigarettes. Building work began very early just outside our room meaning we couldn't sleep past 7. Staff at the reception were helpful and location was great but check in is very late at 3pm and check out is very early at 10am.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh.

We are sorry that your room faced onto the terrace where people smoke. Reception would have been more than happy to move you rooms should you have asked when you were staying with us pending the availability we had.

We are priced in line with our competitors in Edinburgh and you stayed in July at peak time.

Check in at 3pm and out at 10am is pretty much standard in most accommodation properties.

Email me more on Jayne@smartcityhostels.com with the building work details as I wasn't aware there were any in July.

Thanks,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I must admit I was apprehensive about staying in a hostel, but after staying at The Smart City Hostel in Edinburgh my views have changed considerably. My friend and I were lucky that although in a 4 bedded room, only the two of us occupied it, as we had requested a twin room and that was not available. The accommodation was exactly as depicted, nice and clean and very friendly. The price was excellent for such a central location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieTCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hey

It's brilliant you had such a good time with us. We are also glad to have helped change your views on hostelling! Thanks for reviewing,

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My friend and I stayed for 2 nights. We wanted somewhere with a central location, clean and no fuss just to sleep and chill while we explored Edinburgh. The private room was for 4 so we had loads of space. Spotless. Great shower!! The bar was great to chill in with loads of atmosphere. the whole place was quietly efficient making it a relaxing place to stay. Great staff, great location. great value for money. Thanks a million!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi there

It's great to hear you had such an amazing time with us. Thanks for taking the time to review us and see you again soon

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

4 of us girls went over for T in the park. Hostel was lovely we arrived at 11am and we didn't know check in was 3pm and when we explained at reception we had to leave to head off to festival they arranged a room for us a 12pm which was a great help as it meant we could drop bags off and head! One little issue was the room was really hot we all found it impossible during the day to stay in room but it did push us to go out see the sights so maybe not a bad thing. Very friendly staff would return for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amygordo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdinburghSmart_city, Director of Sales at Safestay Edinburgh, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hey

Thanks for leaving us a review. We are really glad you had a good time with us.

We are sorry about the heat in the room that you experienced. We have been trying to keep the rooms as cool as possible in this very hot weather!

Cheers and look forward to seeing you again soon

Jayne @ SCH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
932 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#140 of 149 in Edinburgh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay Edinburgh

Property: Safestay Edinburgh
Address: 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Safestay Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off the Royal Mile in the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, Safestay Hostel, Edinburgh, redefines the hostel experience. Safestay Hostel is an award winning stylish five-star hostel with great facilities that make it the ideal choice for value accommodation in the heart of Edinburgh. Safestay Hostel's rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious and all have en-suite facilities. The hostel can provide private rooms as well as larger dorm style living so there really is something for everyone. Safestay hostel really is the ultimate urban retreat with Bar 50, a fully licensed restaurant and bar, with free Wi-Fi, Sky Sports, pool table, and a great atmosphere. There is also a 24 hour reception, no curfew, and all of Edinburgh's lively night scene and famed attractions on your doorstep. Safestay also offers fantastic City break deals, family and friend packages, group offers and stag and hen specials as well as seasonal offers. So what are you waiting for? Come and see for yourself why Safestay Hostel is the smart choice for your journey to Scotland's vibrant and historic Capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Safestay Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing