We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home for two weeks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edinburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #86 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A family run Victorian guesthouse by Keith and Pam who are very friendly and helpful to visitors.

Located at Colinton, the guesthouse is just few minutes away from Edinburgh City Centre and with easy access to the international airport, motorway, and other regional attractions. The guesthouse is also conveniently within walking distance to a bus stop with routes going to and from city centre. A nearby pub is also handy for a drink or evening meals.

The rooms are high ceiling and spacious. Decor baroque. Furnishings good. Housekeeping very good. Daily breakfast also good. The guesthouse has ample parking spaces ideal for visitors traveling with car. WiFi also available and free.

Obviously book early during peak season such as August during the Edinburgh festival. We stayed for two weeks and would certainly use it again.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, The Owners were very polite and informative throughout. Our room was set in a Victorian style layout which was clean and comfortable, great shower.
We came to Edinburgh for a get away and would recommend Lindsay Guest house.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed in late August during the festival, it's in a pretty ideal location - 25-30 mins walk into city centre, and a very straightforward route! The owners Pam and Keith are really nice and helpful if you need anything. Our room was gorgeous and we felt right at home. Loved every minute of my stay, would definitely come again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Izzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good place to stay,we booked to be handy for the Edinburgh Tattoo and the bus stop was right outside the guest house,very hospitable hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Keith was very helpful on advising bus times etc.
Room was a good size and parking on site was a plus for us.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the Lindsay Guest House for 2 nights during the Fringe Festival. The guest house is located in a very nice and quiet area with excellent access to running routes (canal) and short walk to bus stops which are a direct connection to the Royal Mile. Keith was very supportive and kind. Breakfast was lovely. I'll defititive come back next year for the Fringe and will book the Lindsay Guest House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlust456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found the Lindsay Guest House for the Fringe in 2012, and booked again for 2013.
The walk into town along the canal is a great start to the day (and the bus stops almost outside the door on the way back), and you can leave your car in the hotel car park -best place for it in Edinburgh.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable beds and TV, free WiFi and Tea/coffeee etc.
Breakfast was excellent, and -as other reviewers have said-the owners are firendly and helpful.
Will probably be heading back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights early August 2013. We were greeted by Keith , he was extremely helpful and informative. He spent about 1/2 hour discussing routes and transport into the town centre and other amenities nearby. He then showed us to our room. It was spacious very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV etc. There was a wide choice at Breakfast, which was very well cooked and presented. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay. It is just out of the town centre but easily reached by foot or public transport. My car never left the car park as there was no need. All in all a very friendly family run Guest House

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
The Lane Boutique Hotel
#121 of 151 in Edinburgh
17 reviews
Travelodge Edinburgh Dreghorn
#116 of 151 in Edinburgh
252 reviews
4Kt Guesthouse
#28 of 393 in Edinburgh
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Milton House
#165 of 393 in Edinburgh
29 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#10 of 393 in Edinburgh
500 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#103 of 393 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest House is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area, it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union Canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available (no cost). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing