We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lindsay Guest House
Ranked #77 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Good B&B”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Looking for a good B&B in Edinburgh, this it it. Close to public transport into Edinburgh. Good sized room with great bathroom. Breakfast was well done. Great pub just down the road, look it up "The Kilted Pig. Our host Keith was helpful with heaps of local knowledge. Off street parking so close to the city was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sssmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    34
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
109
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A family run Victorian guesthouse by Keith and Pam who are very friendly and helpful to visitors.

Located at Colinton, the guesthouse is just few minutes away from Edinburgh City Centre and with easy access to the international airport, motorway, and other regional attractions. The guesthouse is also conveniently within walking distance to a bus stop with routes going to and from city centre. A nearby pub is also handy for a drink or evening meals.

The rooms are high ceiling and spacious. Decor baroque. Furnishings good. Housekeeping very good. Daily breakfast also good. The guesthouse has ample parking spaces ideal for visitors traveling with car. WiFi also available and free.

Obviously book early during peak season such as August during the Edinburgh festival. We stayed for two weeks and would certainly use it again.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onbarefeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, The Owners were very polite and informative throughout. Our room was set in a Victorian style layout which was clean and comfortable, great shower.
We came to Edinburgh for a get away and would recommend Lindsay Guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in late August during the festival, it's in a pretty ideal location - 25-30 mins walk into city centre, and a very straightforward route! The owners Pam and Keith are really nice and helpful if you need anything. Our room was gorgeous and we felt right at home. Loved every minute of my stay, would definitely come again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Izzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Good place to stay,we booked to be handy for the Edinburgh Tattoo and the bus stop was right outside the guest house,very hospitable hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Keith was very helpful on advising bus times etc.
Room was a good size and parking on site was a plus for us.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the Lindsay Guest House for 2 nights during the Fringe Festival. The guest house is located in a very nice and quiet area with excellent access to running routes (canal) and short walk to bus stops which are a direct connection to the Royal Mile. Keith was very supportive and kind. Breakfast was lovely. I'll defititive come back next year for the Fringe and will book the Lindsay Guest House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found the Lindsay Guest House for the Fringe in 2012, and booked again for 2013.
The walk into town along the canal is a great start to the day (and the bus stops almost outside the door on the way back), and you can leave your car in the hotel car park -best place for it in Edinburgh.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet with comfortable beds and TV, free WiFi and Tea/coffeee etc.
Breakfast was excellent, and -as other reviewers have said-the owners are firendly and helpful.
Will probably be heading back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Edinburgh Sixteen
Edinburgh Sixteen
#101 of 392 in Edinburgh
44 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#48 of 392 in Edinburgh
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dorstan Guest House
Dorstan Guest House
#67 of 392 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#42 of 392 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
3.1 mi away
Garfield Guest House
Garfield Guest House
#41 of 392 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindsay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindsay Guest House

Property: Lindsay Guest House
Address: 108 Polwarth Terrace, Edinburgh EH11 1NN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindsay Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindsay Guest house is a red sandstone Victorian listed building of great character. Located in the highly desirable Merchiston area it is on an excellent bus route which takes 10 - 15 minutes to make the journey to the city centre. For the more energetic it is possible to walk along the Union canal to the city centre (approx 30 minutes). Car parking available. (No cost) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lindsay Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing