We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Victorian Town House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Piries Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ritz Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
329
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb byogurtplace to stayhaymarket train stationlittle extra touchesthree roomsprinces streetshort walkbed and breakfastquiet streetcity centreedinburgh castlebreakfast was amazingeach morninglocation was perfectroom was largefantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights with warm welcoming victorian inn. Everything was great from the staff to the breakfast and the delightful hostess aileen. Really got our two week holiday off to a grand start. Quiet neighborhood with easy access to food pubs and all the sights.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were 5 friends from Switzerland and had booked a week occupying all the 3 available rooms. We had our own entrance. The photos on the Website were exactly how we found the rooms - perfect and beautifully decorated. The carafes of Whisky and lovely chocolates were real treats. The breakfasts were the best we have ever had in a B & B. Aileen's Attention to Detail and to our Needs was wonderful. She always goes more than the extra mile to help and advise. We hit really awful weather but to arrive at the B & B wet through and to have a shower in the lovely bathrooms made life seem good again. I cannot recommend this address more highly.

Room Tip: The garden room is the warmest and most quiet
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeldaSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This was our very first B&B experience and boy was it a good one! Aileen set the bar high for the rest of our journey and no one could compare! The breakfast was amazing every single day and we found ourselves saying at all the others, "it's good but not as good as Aileen's", lol! Wonderful lady who made us feel very welcome and the room was beautiful, clean and in an excellent location! We highly recommend this B&B1

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Further to my stay in January I've now been back with family for three nights. Same consistent, excellent and warm, hospitable service from Aileen. Great breakfasts, great location and another great stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and each has a distinctive theme. The theme and your sleeping arrangements may influence your choice. See the hostess's website for details.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It's only few hours since we left Edinburgh, and we must say that from all of our trips, this b&b has been the best one we ever came across.
Aileen is a wonderful person, very caring and helpful, advising in places to go, places to eat, and always takes care of you.
rooms are tidy and spotless, bathroom is great, food is home cooked and delicious.
Place in near all buses, and 15 minutes walk from princes street.
We will definitely come back there!

Thanks Aileen!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews