We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“liked this place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochend Serviced Apartments
Ranked #142 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“liked this place !”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

nice flats -very good service from concierge guy -moving us quickly as no heating in first apartment -no complaints

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona190756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    41
    28
    24
    29
See reviews for
55
28
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Friendly staff and a lovely clean apartment. Having booked for two nights over new year we were given an upgrade to a better apartment on arrival - with no extra fee. The price was very reasonable compared to other prices locally at this time of year. The staff were really friendly and we felt very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed at these apartments over christmas and new year, 10 nights in total, check in was quick and smooth, the apartments were easy to find, reception was nice, very quirky and different, was shown to my apartment which was in building149 the apartment number was 8, upon arriving into edinburgh it was freezing! and when i was checked into the apartment i was surprised the heating had already been put on, i have stayed at many apartments and have never had the heating and lights on for my arrival, this was great and much needed, their was also tea, coffee, sugar and milk left in the apartment complimentary which again was well appreciated!!

The apartments are convenietly located next to 3 mini markets, tesco is just down the road aswell as is The Foot of The Walk which is a family friendly pub/restaurant at the end of the street serves great fish and great prices!

My apartment was a 2 bedroom apartment, it was a great size for my family of 4 everything was in the apartment all the cutlery, towels, bedding and pots, pans and plates.

The apartment was clean and smelled fresh on arrival, the apartment was cleaned every 4th day and bins and towels were changed on the third day, i did need the bins changed more often but i just left my bins outside the apartment and housing keeping picked then up.

Their is parking outside the apartments i booked direct with the hotel and got the car parking for free i would not have been happy with paying £8 per day which is what i was told it was.

I loved these apartments, reception was great with info on edinburgh, bus times made me feel very welcome, i will definately be returning to the apartments thanks for a great time!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We chose these apartments as they were conviently located to visit our family. The reception area was an interesting mix of styles and the receptionist was quite a character but gave no information about what to expect such as when the flat would be cleaned. We had a fourth floor apartment and didn't hear much of our neighbours. The flat (2 beds, one en suite) was reasonably sized but we were very disappointed with the furnishings and that it smelled of tobacco smoke. The carpet was tatty and didn't look very clean. Blinds were grubby and there were holes in some of the them. There were no matress protectors on the bed and I was pleased to find a clean sheet that I could put on our bed. The sofas in the lounge were hard and not comfortable. The TV reception was mixed and you needed to be firm with the remote control. The kitchen was adequately stocked and the milk and the cornflakes and the teabags were very useful. The kitchen and appliances were clean. The apartments are an easy bus ride fron the city centre on the 34 bus route and Ocean Terminal and Leith are also a short bus ride away. We know Edinburgh very well but I think some tourist information would be useful for other visitors (like the alternative 25 bus route). We paid £60 a night for the apartment which I think was reasonable value but I would have been unhappy to pay more. I would use the apartments again but would demand some more cleaning next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jallie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexy864, Owner at Lochend Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of Lochend Apartments, firstly can i thank you for kind words ragrding;

- conviently located
- the reception area was an interesting mix of styles and the receptionist was quite a character
- The kitchen was adequately stocked and the milk and the cornflakes and the teabags were very useful.
- The kitchen and appliances were clean
- The apartments are an easy bus ride fron the city centre
- reasonable value

Regarding the standard of the apartment, i am sad to see that you do not feel that the apartment was of adaquit standard, we do try and provent guests from smoking in the apartments, we do have a few smoking apartments however they are only let out to guest whom specifically request these. The apartment in which you were allocated was a non smoking apartment and so no one should have smoked in this apartment, we have since spoken to housekeeping regarding this matter and can now assure you that if this sort of incident arises again, the apartment will not be let out again until the apartment has been fully aired.

Regarding the curtains and carpets being a bit tatty, we are in the process of changing all carpets but hope that you can appreciate that this is a timely process, which we do hope to be finished by July.

We do have mattress protectors on all beds, and have reminded Housekeeping to ensure that if ever they are missing to replace them staright away.

We have also ordered literature regarding our local area and local bus routes which we will be passing out to our future guests.

Regards


Lochend Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We booked this through late rooms and as a penance had to pay £8 extra a nt to park the car in a normal unsecured carpark!! Our room was on ground floor right by xmas tree that at 6am you thought the carpark was full of police not good if you suffer from epiletic fits!!!! due to lights.
rooms were ok at first inspection but wood floor in livin room sticky and kitchen i had wipe down. great location for Leith shopping.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The photographs are misleading to say the least judging by what we saw, service was also poor and was refused a refund. Wouldn't stay here and didn't, checked out as almost soon as arrived. Ended up in lovely appartments by Holyrood for same price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights, we had two apartments opposite eachother and couldnt have asked for more. We go to edinburgh every year at this time and normally stay in the Apex but wanted a change and these apartments were ideal!

Just a short taxi ride into town, pleaseantly decorated, spacious and clean and a few little touches such as a bottle of milk and cornflakes made it that little bit more special!

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor but Im sure any of the apartments would be lovely, we paid £80 per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Serviced Apartments

Property: Lochend Serviced Apartments
Address: 147/1 Lochend Road, Edinburgh EH7 6ET, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lochend Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lochend Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochend Serviced Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Lochend Serviced Apartments Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing