We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything exactly as arranged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lochend Serviced Apartments
Ranked #144 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything exactly as arranged”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment, with one couple plus one single adult plus one dog in May 2013. Apartment was spotless and ready for us on arrival (at 8pm on a Sunday night), with some milk and cereal provided. It had everything you could possibly think of (sheets, towels, dishcloths, teatowels, kettle, microwave, fridge, ironing board, iron, dishsoap, even a washing machine/dryer, etc etc). They came to clean it every second day. Very clear written instructions and advice was provided in the apartment for all appliances, wifi and even how to catch buses and which ones go to the city. Which was a nice unexpected touch. It is about a 15 minute walk to Holyrood Park (with Arthur's Seat), and about 15 minutes to the city by bus. Great set-up for a dog, and cheap to have him.

The area it is in is not exactly high-society, but very convenient to the city, good free (safe) parking on-site. Probably the only thing I would wish to change is the sheets used on the beds - a little bit rough polyester so not the most comfortable.

A good value stay, well arranged, everything was thought of. They run a very tight ship!

G. Horton

Room Tip: Facing the carpark would be quieter than facing Lochend Road out the front. Non-ground floor would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YugBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    27
    23
    27
See reviews for
52
28
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

As we were coming to Edinburgh by car, but didn't want to be stung for high car parking charges this seemed a good choice as it is far enough from the centre to have free parking, and a bus (£3.50 for a whole day ticket) ruins every 20 minutes from right outside.

Our apartment - £59 per night - had an very good sized diner/lounge, a good double bedroom and perfectly adequate bathroom & kitchen. What was particularly good was the standard of cleanliness and the quality (and amount of) drawer/hanging space.

We'll certainly book again, next time we visit Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We were on the car park side, and so couldn't hear anything from the passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentishMan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here after the Edinburgh Marathon. I booked it as there were very few hotel rooms left in the city and they were all in excess of £100 a night. I paid £77 for these apartments and they were well worth the money.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment which could have slept 6 easily although there was only 2 of us. The apartment was spotlessly clean and had almost everything we could have possibly needed. The only negatives were the beds were rock hard and the selection of cookware in the kitchen was poor - a grill but no grill pan?

The area the apartments are in isnt the best but its not as bad as your first impression.

They are a short bus ride from the city centre or from Leith Shore.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazzah41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was over for a football match and buses were traveling from Easter road so perfect location i will be back again as i am a Hibs fan so Lochend perfect location and apartment is great when with group of friends,Nice touch with milk and cereal

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

I booked this apartment last minute as a place to stay with two friends when at a conference recently. I was a little worried as I knew that it wasn't in the centre of Edinburgh and thought it may be a little too far out. I should not have been as the apartment was lovely and spacious and very clean with all the amenities we could have wished for. We had two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a great kitchen fitted with all appliances. It was ideal for 3 single girls sharing for a week. Transport links to Edinburgh were really good and only 10 minutes to the city centre by bus/car. I would recommend these apartments to anybody and much better than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I booked this as an alternative to a hotel, asked for a one bed apartment and got a two bed at no extra cost. Private parking outside, apartment was immaculately clean and tidy and a nice touch was a pint of milk and a pack of tea/coffee and cornflakes. In the living room was a guide to Edinburgh and a list of nearby amenities, supermarket pubs etc and also the contact numbers of the local takeaways who deliver. Friendly and helpful concierge. Couldn't ask for any more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Myself, my husband and 19 month old son stayed here for a little midweek break.

We had a lovely time, i'd stayed here before for my hen weekend, it was certainly a different place midweek than it is at weekends!

I'll start with the plus points, check in was speedy and friendly and our apartment was lovely and quiet. It was spotlessly clean, I noticed straight away the floors - our son is still crawling and his trousers were immaculate! There were good instructions left for the appliances (washing machine / cooker / heating etc, free wifi (passwords and instructions for this also) Freeview TV, really well sized and cosy. The beds were comfy, one was a king size (bliss!) and the bedding / bathrooms were pristine.

I only really felt a couple of minor points let them down a wee bit. Firstly, we had asked for a cot, and I double checked this when we checked in. When we got to the apartment, the cot wasn't there, I was told it was on it's way. 5 minutes later, a housekeeper came by with a folded up travel cot and left. We had to assemble it ourselves and were left no bedding for it. I was lucky enough to have brought our own, but if I hadn't, we'd have been stuck. It also smelled a bit musty and the base cover was badly stained. I can only imagine the apartments don't see many babies and the cot itself is probably kept in a cupboard for months at a time, but it's something I think could be improved on.

The apartment itself I think had been badly used by previous tenants. There were holes in the walls (door handles being slammed into them), curtain rails handing loose and wardrobe doors broken, it's a shame. It wouldn't put us off staying again, but with a young one, I wouldn't stay here of a weekend, it can get a bit crazy, hence the state of disrepair the apartment was in.

Anyway, all in all it was perfect for us, the wee man could go to bed at his usual time after his bath, and mummy and daddy could enjoy a bottle of wine, takeaway and dvd in the living room in peace! Much cheaper than the local hotels too. Winner! We will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was 149a/1, ground floor, we could get parked right outside and is the block at the end, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPlod2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
#112 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#66 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochend Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochend Serviced Apartments

Property: Lochend Serviced Apartments
Address: 147/1 Lochend Road, Edinburgh EH7 6ET, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lochend Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lochend Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochend Serviced Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland
Lochend Serviced Apartments Hotel Edinburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing