We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in city center but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #119 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not in city center but good value”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. At check in at Masson House they give you a great map to help find your way. It was a 20-30 bus ride to Edinburgh Castle since it is on the other end of Royal Mile. It was also about 7 or 8 pound taxi ride from Waverly Station. The view out our window of Arthurs Seat was gorgeous! We did not find many restaurants nearby, we tried Salisbury Arms, which was decent. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful, I could not believe the amount of fresh fruit they had. Service was great and room was very nice and clean. So if you do not mind being a little out of the city center, but was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    147
    53
    14
    9
See reviews for
33
196
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Had not realised that the hotel was part of the university campus until check-in, but pleasantly suprised by:
room - modern and well appointed
breakfast - good choice,fresh, plentiful, helpful staff
public rooms - characterful with useful amenities
parking - free
location - not far from city centre, with view of trees and squirrels
rate - very reasonable for Edinburgh

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite far from main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked the salisbury green for our first anniversary, the web site made it look so nice i thought it would be perfect for us. How wrong could i be. When we arrived we were told the hotel was full and that we were being moved to another one called Masson House. What a nightmare, this place is nothing more than student halls of residence, desk,bed and wet room. Breakfast was served in a canteen with hundreds of students and we had to eat off plastic plates. The residents from Salisbury Green also have to eat here. Please don't be fooled by the web site, this place is awful. The only plus side is we have been offered a full refund.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skye45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We booked this room under the impression that it was a hotel how wrong could we be.
The reception is in a modern building and the Salsbury Green is an entirely separate building with no reception or staff around it all be it the building is lovely old style mansion.

We paid £85 for a standard double room to be honest a Travelodge has more luxury to it for less money. The room was very small no hairdryer in the room, and as we had a ground floor room where we had to keep the curtains shut due to a main pathway running past our room and shower room windows. On returning from our night out we were made to feel like we had interupted the receptionist and on asking for room service details we were given a sigh and a roll of the eyes.

It had been a long day so we decided to have some room service when we got back to our room. After looking through a moderate range of items on the room service list it took 11 attempts to get an answer at reception. Finally when we did get an answer we gave our order to be told that all they had was bottled water and if we wanted anything else we would have to go to another building on campus - not exactly room service if you ask me!!!

I would not advise or reccommend anyone to go to this hotel unless you are expecting the standards of a self catering campsite in the guise of a hotel. This hotel needs some serious direction not to mention experienced hotel management and staff with an attitude adjustment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmisMummy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely. But the room was very poor. We were on the ground floor with a window about 5 feet off the ground so it was very dark in the room.

Although the entrance to Salisbury green was lovely and warm, the room was cold and the bed uncomfortable. As it was pouring outside we stayed a little longer in the room then we would have liked and could have done without having to make our way to reception when we discovered there was no remote control and spent an age tuning the 3 or 4 channels we could find.

It was cheap and if your intention was to fall in late and leave early the next day, so drunk you wouldn't notice the cold, then this is the place for you. It was clean, quiet and dry with free parking which takes this from a 2 to 3 stars.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pissedasanewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

For some Salisbury Green may not be central to downtown Edinburgh, but the scenery with Arthur's Seat right behind it is great. Buses are quick and frequent to get you downtown or cabs are always available near the hotel. The Newmarket area around the hotel has several interesting restaurants within walking distance. There is internet access at the university sign in desk and laundry facilities in the dorm complex. The breakfasts were large with ample choices. Salisbury Green was my college dorm 40 years ago and the management was nice enough to grant my request to stay in my exact dorm room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davemarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The staff were just incredibly helpful - we arrived at 2.30am as my car had broken down en route and Leon on reception was just amazing. He printed off a list of all the local garages for me, directions for the wedding we were going to the next day, told me the weather forecast and was a generally welcoming person after such an awful journey. In the morning, a lovely guy called Ryan on reception let me use the phone to organise getting my car fixed - even though everyone was checking out and I was completely in the way! Then when I found out I needed to leave my car for an extra day they gave me an extra day on my car pass so I wouldn't have a problem with moving it. So a MASSIVE THANKYOU to Leon and Ryan.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jasminehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 149 in Edinburgh
423 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#87 of 149 in Edinburgh
825 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 149 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 149 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Royal Ettrick Hotel
#129 of 149 in Edinburgh
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Property: Salisbury Green Hotel
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing