We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate if all you want is a bed, bathroom and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #120 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hotel is in a good situation, in the university complex. Good bus service into the city. Bedroom was very small but with a good modern bathroom. Two problems, (a jammed plug in the wash basin and a faulty light) were dealt with fast and efficiently. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order with plenty of fresh fruit, juices, pastries and joghurts. It lacked atmosphere as it was more a series of rooms with en suite bathrooms than a hotel. No reception area (that was in the university building).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bateyBordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Salisbury Green is clean, very quiet, and all in all a pretty nice place. It is about a 30 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride from the center of Edinburgh. It is on the edge of the area where the residence halls for the University of Edinburgh are, so the whole thing has a college feel about it.
I stayed here because I had a conference on the campus and had no desire to stay in a residence hall. I think, however, if I were visiting Edinburgh as a tourist I might want to stay closer to the center of town. As other reviewers have pointed out, it is right next to a large park, and so there is a feel of being in the country with a pleasant place to walk, jog, or even climb up the crags.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Stayed in room 22. Huge bath, lovely quiet room at the end of the corridor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This place looks lovely in the photos on Booking.com but I it was made clear on the web site that this hotel is run by the University of Edinburgh and is located within the Pollock Halls Residence. The building is not in its own grounds as implied by the website text and photographs as you are basically on a campus. Breakfast was good but the dining room is too tiny for the number of guests and we had to wait in the lobby. The reception is in another building on campus. The receptionist was not helpful at all as we had lots of issues getting into the the room. Lucking there is a good pub across the road becuase this place has no atmosphere and while the rooms are well decorated these is still an institutional feel about it. The website says thart there is free parking included but on arrival were told IF we could find a space then we had better not move the car as they were very busy that weekend. We would not recommend this "hotel" nor would we stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgreen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed here for three nights on a visit to the Edinburgh Fringe. For the last seven yearsI have lodged in Chancellor's Court (also part of the Edinburgh Univ Halls) and Salisbury Green proved to be an ideal choice and good value for money (£110 per night on B&B basis)

Positives
Free (and safe) car parking right outside the hotel - collect a permit from reception
Free (and fast) wifi in the room (login details provided on arrival)
Big and comfortable rooms (I had ground floor, room 3) with excellent blackout curtains to help get a good night's sleep
Quiet and secluded - set away from the main Halls which are teeming with thousands of visitors during the Festival month
Excellent breakfast - small dining room, but superb Ayrshire bacon and Scottish sausages + good selection on continental. Free newspapers to browse (from 7.30am)
Bathrooms are fine (large!) and there is guest pantry open 24 hrs a day for supplies of fresh milk and a microwave etc for cooking quick meals on the hoof
Easy access to Edinburgh - 15-20 min walk, and adjacent to Hollyrood Park for superb jogs and walks - a memorable feature of any visit to Edinburgh.

All in all a great choice for me this year and I would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a standard plus double room for 3 nights during Fringe, for which the Hotel is about a 30 minute walk to the center of town.

Because the hotel is in the grounds of the University Halls of residence parking is monitored and controlled by entrance gate security; we got lucky and found a space right in front of the hotel.

Check in (at the adjacent Masson House) was very quick and professional. Finding your room through the labyrinth of corridors takes a bit of getting used to, but is part of the package when staying at an older, converted property.

Our room was unexpectedly roomy, especially the giant bathroom. The room was clean and generally in good decorative order, though there were several scuffs on the wall paint. Plenty of good quality towels were provided and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The shower was especially good and would please even a picky traveler.

The free wi-fi worked flawlessly and was good enough to conduct video chat sessions back to the 'States. At night our room was very quiet, with only a little noise through the floor from the room above.

The only complaint with breakfast was that the dining room is very small, and at some times it's possible you may have to wait. A very generous selection of hot and cold items are available, all of very high quality. All in all a very pleasant and positive start to the day.

I'd have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Last year our party had 2 rooms,this year we had 3.We all loved it and will come back for next years festival in not before.Great room with nice views.Ours had two sets of curtains so it was possible to get it very dark.The hotel is set back from the road so you have no traffic noise or the normal screaming drunks that afflict Edinburgh.Breakfast was great although the seating area is small so best go early or late.It is only a few minutes walk to the bus stops and you can get an all day ticket on Lothian buses for £3.20 (you need the right money) and we never stood for more than 5 minutes.Check in is in the building next door and they could do with more reception staff.Normally I wouldnt be worried but I had a taxi waiting to get me to my first show.Lovely wood in the reception hall.Nice little flagstoned area away from the parking that held a couple of motorcycles for added piece of mind if you area biker.The staff are all great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#122 of 151 in Edinburgh
454 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#95 of 151 in Edinburgh
846 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#124 of 151 in Edinburgh
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,039 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £64 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing