We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in its category”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #121 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Collederas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

There were no staff around when we arrived and we had terrible trouble finding where we were supposed to be (with the help of a taxi driver nonetheless!) - when we eventually did find where the hotel was in the maze of different hotels/conference rooms and other things, there was a sign directing us back the way we'd come to another reception desk. This was all a massive inconvenience!

It's a good long walk from the city centre and not even in a great location for getting to/from the airport or station. The rooms are clean and well-presented; they're also a good size and modern. The corridors, however, are long and winding, and decorated horribly. It was pretty noisy when we were trying to sleep. The main redeeming feature was breakfast-time...the staff were excellent and the food selection also brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorwichExpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I had misgivings when I arrived...on a university halls campus, taxi couldn't get right to the hotel, we had to search to find where to book in (in the building next door), long winding corridor. However the room was fine, it was plain but clean and well presented, bed comfortable and the bathroom modern, both rooms were spacious. The breakfast was really great: fresh fruit, cereal, rolls, croissants, charcuterie, juices and a cooked breakfast made to your own specifications from the menu. It was all really fresh and lovely. Furthermore, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We walked into the centre (took about 20 to walk to the Royal Mile), but there were buses that stopped just outside the campus which went all over the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyFay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is very nice, though with its size it does lose some character. The rooms are a good size with a nice big bathroom. The breakfast was excellent too with cereals, fruit and a cook that makes your own meal.
The only issue we had was that the sink and the shower in the bathroom both had problems with drainage.
I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterchester12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The first thing to note is that this hotel is on a university campus. This is not a problem in itself, but you must be aware that, if arriving by car you do need to dirve to the hotel via the campus security gates. After a long hot drive, we pulled up at the enterance only to be asked by the security guard if we were "at the wedding" when we replied that we were not he said "well I cant let you in then, the parking is full" this is not the best start to a relaxing weekend. or the best welcome either! After a short curse converstion with this charming fellow, he reluctantly allowed us to drive to the hotel on condition that, once we had unloaded our bags we would return and he would show us where to park off site. We got to the hotel to find that the door is locked and you need to walk to another building to check in (also having to pay for your stay straight away) The girls on reception however were lovely and very helpful. After we explained the main gate experience they phoned security and a parking space and permit miraculously materialised. The hotel itself is lovely. We were in room three, which has a king size bed, everything you would expect, and a large en-suite. The breakfasts are the best I have had enywhere. Fresh fruit, meats and a full Scottish fry up! all served by very nice helpful people. One other handy thing is that the hotel is on a bus route into the city centre so getting about isnt a problem. All in all we had a lovely weekend stay and would use this hotel again, its just a shame that things got off to a bad start with the security jobsworth on the main gate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carpets40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Not sure about this Hotel, when you put it into google maps it takes you to the front of the Hotel but you cannot get in this way! If driving you need to go to the pollock halls entrance, then you need to check in at the Manson House which is a different building from the Salsibury green, but not far. There are plenty car spaces which is a bonus.
Room was very clean but very hot! I know this was due to the lovely weather we are having but they had no fans and we found it impossible to sleep!! Our double bed was two singles pushed together, it was a bit lumpy and you could feel the springs.
If you have any queries you need to go to Manson House which is a bit of a pain, the only staff we saw at the Salsibury was at breakfast time, they were really lovely though and breakfast was good. I don't think I will stay there again but it's not a bad hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

the historical building is in a nice park area quite near to the citycenter. a parking space is a big adventage. the breakfast was great and the waiter/waitress have been very nice and charming. Little tricky: to find the reception


  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Illetschko75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,056 reviews
Masson House
#122 of 151 in Edinburgh
456 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#123 of 151 in Edinburgh
328 reviews
Victoria Park Hotel
#129 of 151 in Edinburgh
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £66 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing