We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good all rounder ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #118 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good all rounder ”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The star of this hotel is it's breakfast- there is a large continental buffet and a full Scottish breakfast offered, the staff were so lovely.
The rooms themselves are all nice, however on out last visit ours was a little under par for what we paid, with a few maintenance issues such as a broken toilet seat.
The beds are very very comfy and the hotel is quiet, especially now Masson house is not a student dorm.
No lift! They should make customers aware of this.

A lovely little escape.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    147
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
33
195
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while attending son's wedding at Summerhall which was within walking distance. We were pleasantly surprised by the facilities on offer. As my partner had had an operation and was using crutches we were moved to a ground floor room with no fuss. The accommodation was splendid.Breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable hotel in Edinburgh.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice Hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights. Reception was in another building which is close by, just follow the signs. We stayed on the top floor which was rather difficult getting large suitcases up as there is no lift. So if you have luggage, maybe ask for a lower floor. The room was light and comfortable, had everything that we needed. Breakfast was good and plenty to choose from. It is a bit far from the City Centre, but there is a bus out the front, or it is about a 25-30 minute walk. Also there is nice restaurant/bar across the road.

Room Tip: If you have luggage, ask for a lower floor - there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenBow0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I booked for one night as we were at a wedding reception in the area. Could have done with a few more days. We loved everything about this hotel. Our room was spacious, and very clean, Everything about the bathroom was perfect, with a few nice extra touches. The bed was the best we have EVER slept in!! The breakfast was outstanding!! The staff were lovely and very polite. We could not have chosen better...Will definitely book this GEM of a hotel again!!

Room Tip: If you are able for a few stairs....Room 34 was exceptional!! You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

On part of the campus of Edinburgh University, the hotel is in an amazing looking old mansion, one of a pair on the grounds. Our room was in a modern addition tacked on the back. The room was fine, a bit cold, for which a space heater was provided. Someone was sent to correct a faucet problem but he insisted the faucet wasn't broken (it was). Breakfasts were sumptuous and included every possible morning option. Unfortunately, the room had none of the 19th century charm of the main building. There are buses steps away which take ten minutes to the city center and, best of all for the traveler, a laundromat on the university grounds, a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in June. The hotel is a very grand building from the outside, the sort of the thing you would expect to see next to an isolated loch somewhere in the highlands. Check in was at the nearby Masson house which was well signposted an easy to find.

The inner of the building is well appointed, with lovely wood panelling everywhere which was pleasing to see. Our bedroom was perfectly fine - not tired, spotlessly clean - everything you need it to be really. The bed was fantastic, softer mattress and the best bed of our week long stay in a Scotland by a country mile (stayed in 4 separate places).

Breakfast was lovely, with friendly staff and a nice selection of hot and cold things.

Hotel is located about 20mins walk from the the Royal Mile which wasn't an arduous walk at all.

In summary this place kinda felt very similar to a Premier Inn but in a more grander building, which is not a criticism at all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel in advance of running a training course within the university. The rooms are reasonably-well appointed - the bathroom was really good, the bed was super comfortable - but incongruously the cupboard was effectively made of cardboard and the tv was the size of stamp. The hotel used to be a halls of residence - clearly a very nice one - and has the tell-tale bland carpet colour and an odd sense of halls-of-residence corridors.

Breakfast was lovely. Other meals aren't catered for. However, there's a great pub across the road - well more of a restuarant really - Salisbury Arms. Pub by name, but not by nature.

The price was very good, and certainly under half of the advertised cost of the city-centre IBIS, and that is mostly driven by location. It would be a 20-25 minute walk into the city centre, but is £1.80 on the bus and £5-6 by taxi. So financially you are hugely better off here than in the city centre.

I'd probably stay here again, on balance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 148 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#90 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#131 of 148 in Edinburgh
290 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 148 in Edinburgh
960 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#286 of 391 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Property: Salisbury Green Hotel
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing