We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visited the hotel for a family function”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I visited this hotel for the first time for the wake of a dear friend and I have to say I was most impressed with all aspects of the hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food (hot buffet) was lovely, with a good selection. The function was in a lovely room which had great character, was traditionally decorated and had beautiful features. The hotel had a lovely outlook onto Holyrood park. Unfortunately there were no rooms available, so we were not able to stay here, but we were very well looked after the few hours we were actually there.

Room Tip: we did not stay here - just attended a family function
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRBubbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely building , full of character, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. Room was clean comfy bed and pillows, but not worth £167 per night. Attic Room was basic, shower only, no biscuits , uncomfortable toilet seat, no staff to be seen apart from breakfast., otherwise good location, 40 minute walk into centre of Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Don't have an attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 24,337,883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

A very interesting place. Several buildings now operating as hotels but built hundreds of years ago. Fabulous quality in every way, and perfectly located so buses can be caught into the main part of Edinburgh or it is an easy walk of 30 minutes. As with most large UK cities, parking is at a premium and this hotel is in a great position to offer all a hotel should with convenience of easy access to all Edinburgh offers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely room, all basics found, great location, easily accessible. Very helpful and friendly staff. The only problems were that it wasn't clear where the reception desk was located and no biscuits!! Definitely would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Charmaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful, and the breakfast is superb! We have never had a better breakfast - there was a great selection of fruit, cheese, jams and cereals, as well as a fantastically-cooked breakfast. In the evening, we went downstairs and sat in the lounge with a drink and relaxed until we were ready for bed. The building itself is full of character - our room was very comfortable and clean, as was the bathroom which had a spacious shower. The only slight complaint is that the loo seat is quite uncomfortable - the brim seems very narrow. Other than that, there was no fault found, and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A large stone house located in the campus of Edinburgh university , and under strict security at the time of our stay , due to the nearby pool being used for the Commonwealth Games, the Sailsbury Green is an eclectic and eccentric place to stay.
Our room was on the ground floor and designated 'disabled'. At the time of booking we had booked and paid for a larger room - which it certainly was. The bedroom itself was clean, comfortable and large, whilst the bathroom was a wet room , with disabled shower etc. As neither of us are disabled we had to adjust (one should obviously not say 'disable') the seat in order to shower. The floor was very slippery when wet.I was also very disappointed with the quality of the towels on offer- they were clean but very well worn.
Check in is at the nearby Masson House, where the staff were very friendly.
Breakfast is the only meal avaiable in the hotel itself - but what a breakfast! I would recommend the experience!
For an evening meal nearby , if you don't want to go into Edinburgh itself, there is the nearby Sailsbury Arms hotel, or the refrectory and bar in the complex. If you want to eat at the refrectory you have to be there before 7.30 (we weren't) but the food at the bar is more than adequte. Room service was advertised but we didn't try it. Beware impatient cleaning staff as well!
The location is about 20 minutes from the centre of the city, with a beautiful hill behind, and was a perfect place to leave the car and explore by foot and public transport. Be warned - buses in Edinburgh do not give change, so you are expected to have the correct fare .
Overall this was good place to stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that asking for a larger room may mean you get disabled facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reganlefay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Although it was a bit difficult to find because of construction around the site, it was worth the effort. The hotel is located in an old stone mansion in a garden setting with a hill rising in the background. The first-floor room was pleasant and comfortable, with views of the greenery.

It's about a 15-20 minute walk to the center and the many attractions that Edinburgh has to offer.

Wonderful breakfast - full Scottish and cold buffet choices.

Note that reception is in a nearby building.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#118 of 151 in Edinburgh
444 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#91 of 151 in Edinburgh
842 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#124 of 151 in Edinburgh
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
568 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,013 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £96 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing