We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salisbury Green Hotel
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire, UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Our second visit here after a gap of a couple of years and I would still recommend it to anyone visiting the city. Rooms modern, nicely decorated, clean, spacious and very comfortable with views of Arthur's Seat, and the breakfast is just fantastic - a huge spread of buffet items including pastries, yoghurt and fruit, meat and cheeses, cereal etc. plus a freshly cooked hot breakfast, which was great. Incidentally I disagree with a previous reviewer who said a car was needed - there is a brilliant and frequent bus service that stops right outside and which will take you to the centre and the station in minutes. We ate at Hewat's, a few minutes walk away, which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    145
    52
    14
    9
See reviews for
32
193
13
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Again this hotel we picked based on very good Tripadvisor reviews and we did enjoy it. Fabulous comfortable bed and a freshly cooked breakfast with excellant staff ready on hand to get us whatever we wanted. You do require a car to stay here and we did have a lot of trouble finding the location as we were not aware that it is within the bounds of the University. We stopped to ask locals where it was and they had no idea so that was quite difficult, however once found not a problem. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2010

You are reminded that this is part of the university at the reception, which is in another building - the "lobby" here looks more university-like than hotel-like. The hotel itself is 200 meters further down a path in the university park, and the location is brillant: in the university park where flowers and abound and close to a large "park"-area which includes a long time extinct volcano, "Arthur's seat", yet still within reasonable walking distance from the centre. The house, mansion style and old (1700s or older?) has the typical British stairs and winding corridors clad in thick carpets, but the rooms are nicely renovated and have all the comfort you want: Ironing boar, hairdryer, coffeemaking (fairtrade tea and coffee!). Breakfast is fantastic, all hot items are prepared to order instead of lying around on a hotplate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmallDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleetwood, lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I stayed at the Salisbury green for 2 nights with my boyfriend. It was a lovely hotel, set back from the main city in the uni grounds. It was about a 20min walk to the main city area, or 5mins in a taxi, and they only cost 5 - 8 pounds. We had a dulux room .. which was the same as the standard just a little bit bigger. The rooms were well equipped, iron and iron board,trouser press, hairdrier, a free safe to, and plenty of tea and coffee. We had breakfast included, it was lovelllyyy!!! Its only a small restaurant, there's a small buffet with cold food on, a nice selection, with fruit, ceral, and some savory bits. The waitress takes your order for hot food ... full Scottish breakfast. The only thing i could pick on was the reception, it was just a desk, but that's the only thing i could pick on if i was being fussy lol. All in all a lovely hotel in a lovely place, would highly recommend if your planning on staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_hidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay for the Calcutta Cup weekend. The hotel was obviously busy but this didn't compromise our experience - there was a bit of a queue for tables at breakfast each morning but tea and coffee was provided in the gallery and we didn't mind lounging on the comfy sofas until a table was available - this may be an issue for those on business, however.
The room was spotlessly clean and bed extremely comfortable. We did have an issue with a jammed plug in the washbasin, which was annoying as it must have been left this way after cleaning, but someone came to fix this for us 1st thing the following morning (we arrived after 8pm so didn't expect a handyman to be available immediately).
The staff deserve a special mention - especially with those serving breakfast who remained friendly, calm and very efficient despite being very busy over this weekend. The buffet selection was also well above average, and replenished regularly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenaw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Lovely old building with beautiful modern rooms. Comfy bed and good powerful shower. All amenities, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, trouser press and nice toiletries. Choice at breakfast was excellent and very fresh. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Will definately return.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The staff was outstanding! The building was unique, and the location was excellent. Just a block from "Arthur's Seat" and a mere mile or so from the Royale Mile. It is a cery small hotel and very quiet, but that was exactly what we were looking for. It had much more character than any of the other places we stayed in our tour of Great Britain. This hotel, and Edinburgh in general, were the high point of our trip.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Coveru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
The Salisbury Hotel
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#8 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
KM Central
KM Central
#133 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
The Thrums Edinburgh
#297 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury Green Hotel

Property: Salisbury Green Hotel
Address: 18 Holyrood Park Road | Pollock Halls, Edinburgh EH16 5AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Salisbury Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salisbury Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salisbury Green Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing