We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Had another fabulous stay here and we were given a free upgrade as it was my birthday.
Stayed for Dinner Bed & Breakfast - food fantastic and staff very friendly and helpful.
Will be back very soon

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,466 - 1,472 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

My wife and I had a great weekend here. The rooms are massive and the decor is stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_YTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Gorgeous bar and very busy and noisy but good atmosphere. Staff all very pleasant. Pricey and not the greatest for value, but I had the best sleep in a lovely quiet room and the location is perfect for shopping and eating out. Only negative was the enormous wet room with the most pathetic shower - total waste of space.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Stayed here at the weekend and had a lovely evening, check in was a little too quick though didnt really get all the information off the girl who was having a conversation with another member of staff....but anyway porter was lovely and friendly showed us up to the room and it was amazing, loved it and the bathroom was huge. Wifi in the room did not work though which was very annoying, and the ipod thats in the room did not work. Nightclub under tigerlily was noisey though, it was 2am i got up to go to the bathroom and all i heard was tinie tempah's 'pass out' im young so it didnt bother me i just slept with the tv on but for some people this could be a problem. Breakfast was lovely. paid over £200 for 1 night which i think is pricey!

Would return though.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoppaholic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Other reviews have covered most of the attributes of this hotel so there is no need for me to go into a lot of detail other than to say we were surprised at the size of the rooms for a city centre hotel. The negative point came at breakfast when I found a 2 inch piece of glass mixed in with the ice in my sparkling water. It must have been in the ice from the previous evening so I could not blame the staff at breakfast but I felt I should have had a more apologetic response other than "Oh sorry I don't suppose you would like another glass".
The cooked breakfast though was amazing and the rooms and bathrooms were fantastic. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveytNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Amazing hotel!
We stayed for 2 nights last week, it was my husbands Xmas present so I booked the Love Package which was for 2 nights in an executive room! Inclusive breakfast in bed, handmade chocs on arrival, a bottle of bubbly - what more can you ask for !!???
We stayed in this hotel last year and were so impressed we wanted to come back!
The hotel is very comfortable, the staff are really friendly and the food and drinks are amazing, I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redapple77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Tiger Lily on a couple of occasions without the kids- its not a hotel suited for families of young children, but it is brilliant for a couples getaway or for groups. The hotel is decorated in a 'ever so pretty and glitzy' style that you cant quite believe works (but it does), the rooms are beautiful (and a little less glitzy thank goodness), the beds are very comfortable and large. The staff cannot do enough for you. The restaurant and bar downstairs have always been buzzing with non hotel guest activity, with a crowd eager to have a what I would describe as a "fairly well heeled" good time. The cocktails are great. The food in the restaurant is good enough that you do not feel too guilty about coming all the way to Edinburgh and not leaving your hotel for dinner. The only slight black mark is- if you are the type that likes room service late at night, you had better like ham sandwhiches and fries.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,135 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £123 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing