We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place to stay in Edinburgh!!”
Review of Tigerlily Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tigerlily Hotel
Ranked #19 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Edinburgh!!”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in Tigerlily (our second time) and once again we were blown away by how fabulous this hotel really is! It is very luxurious and comfortable - we stayed in one of the georgian mini suites which had a lovely feature fireplace (remote controlled!!) which we didn't think we would use, but actually used it every day (it made the room extra cosy!). Other highlights are the huge bathroom, giant wall-mounted flat-screen TV and the daily 'turn-down service' complete with fur rugs! Tigerlily is one of the fashionable places we have stayed at yet we felt completely comfortable there. The restaurant also serves great food and the cocktail bar alone is worth a visit - fantastic drinks in glamorous surroundings. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-K_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Front Office Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, it is always lovely to hear such kind comments. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Tigerlily in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    326
    110
    38
    21
See reviews for
116
960
24
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at Tigerlily as part of an 'April Fool' offer and got a suite and evening meal for £160.
The room was absolutely amazing, with a hole in the wall fireplace, contemporary furnishings and a ridiculous amount of lights! Also in the room (though I didn't realise until we were leaving!) were GHD straighteners, and Ipod with music on, White Company toiletries, ironing board, candles, apples...you name it, they have it!
The food was gorgeous - as part of the deal it was a set menu but I didn't feel like we missed out. Drinks were somewhat overpriced - the cheapest large white wine was £7.50 and unfortunately I didn't like it so had to pay more. The bar is superb and has a great atmosphere - again, pricey though!
The only quibble that I have, and maybe it is as I arrived after a few days of walking and was a little bedraggled, but I found the staff to be a little pretentious and not all that good. The one receptionist we dealt with was fab, the rest were not. Breakfast was by far the worst we had in Scotland - the waiters kept forgetting things and it took them 10 minutes to get me butter for the toast which they had forgotten which was then cold... they did however seem to all be having a lovely chat around us which was nice for them!
Apparently the hotel is normally a lot more than we paid - I would still recommend it though would probably have complained about the service more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TigerlilyManager, Front Office Manager at Tigerlily Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Thank you very much for your review. It was lovely to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed all of your comments onto our staff to ensure that the particuar areas you mentioned are improved on. We always endeavour to exceed our customers expectations and it always useful for us to receive guest comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Have just had a one night stay. Staff and food lovely. Room was on the 1st floor so very noisy on Saturday night. Complained at breakfast but was just told to ask for a room on a higher floor if we returned.

Room Tip: Dont stay on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Me and Mrs RB booked in here for a romantic child-free getaway and we were not disappointed. The staff know their jobs and did them well, especially the short dark haired hostess/receptionist who checked us in and showed us to our room. We were upgraded for free which was a welcome bonus!

The overall feel of the place is of chic feminine grandeur - and subtlety is not the done thing in the decor here - but, as others have commented, this is not overdone and for us stays comfortably balanced between classic and modern. The day time cool gives way to a warm party atmosphere in the evening. The lighting and decor comes to life as the night falls, as do the two rectangular bars with their fantastic cocktails. Our first waiter was brilliant - friendly and very efficient. A waitress later in the night seemed to be still mastering the art of mixology and struggled, meaning our drinks order took close to 10 minutes to prepare. The atmosphere was wonderful. The night is what you make of it, and we made a great one for ourselves with Tigerlily, Tequila Espresso and Long Island Ice Tea cocktails as well as a Black Gold - neat potato vodka with cracked black pepper (recommended). The cocktails ranged from £7 upwards so a round is not cheap but the entertainment value as well as the ambiance meant that we were more than happy to finish our evening in Edinburgh back in the champagne bar ordering more cocktails.

Our room was the superior mini suite number 25. We have stayed in other boutiques, and we both agree this room will take some beating. The main space is split between a large dressing table with full length and wall mounted ornate mirrors, a seating and coffee table warmed by a remote control fire, facing a huge wall mounted plasma, a window area with a feature table and, of course, a huge and super comfy double bed. Mrs RB had the best sleep in a long time on this! There is a generous mini-bar/tea and coffee tray although the milk supplied was only enough for one cup of coffee (I am more that happy that if addressed the concierge would have brought more..such is the service).

The bathroom is a long galley which starts with a square basined sink area (complete with plenty of towels, White Company goods and other bits and pieces, and continues into a large wet room with a reasonable size bath. There is a wall-mounted shower within the bath which is almost a power shower, and the lighting is a mix of practical and moody.

Some reports comment that the lights are difficult to use. We disagree and think they are fairly straightforward (one button to dim and one button to raise the lights). The noise too from the bar and nightclub below was minimal, although we were on the third (top) floor. The fireplace was a minor negative, there is a 'knack' to it which does require effort (Mrs RB is a practical Goddess though so had this sussed in no time). We kept this on all night (apologies to eco warriors) and it gave the entire room (and bathroom) an ethereal glow. The view from the two double-hung windows was of the drab inner quadrant running between the terraces, but the general splendour of the room meant we only really looked outside to check on the weather. One positive here was feature lighting running alongside the (very cold) air conditioning vents at the base of each window. At night, each glows pink, then red - nice feature. The selection of channels is limited to Freeview, and there did not appear to be an EPG on the box.

Although we didn't dine on the evening (we felt glad we didn't as the bar was very noisy and the restaurant really is right on the edge of the main bar), we did opt for the breakfast in bed - full Scottish. This was delivered promptly and was exceptionally good.

Checkout was smooth and efficient, which seems to some up the hotel and the experience in general. We had a brilliant time here and we will return! An experience for those who enjoy fine things in fine surroundings!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We are just back from a weekend break in Edinburgh and are so glad we picked Tigerlily. Our friends were there last year and had a great time so we decided to give it a go. The hotel staff were really friendly and welcoming when we arrived and nothing seemed to be any trouble. The hotel itself is very cool. We had a drink in the bar before having a great meal in the restaurant. - its difficult to put into words but it all has a certain buzz about it and you get the feeling its the place to be in Edinburgh! The room we had was superb with lovely design/decor - a nice touch was the iPod which had loads of music on it and my partner loved the GHD's!!! We just got the feeling that there was a lot of attention to detail which makes a big difference. We had a great time and can't wait to go back during the festival. The only issue was parking but to be fair the hotel is right in the centre so we used the NCP (5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Can't speak highly enough of our visit. Got a good deal via Expedia and some discount codes - so off to a good start!!! Booked a luxury double room on a room only basis. Room was large with all modern facilities. Very comfortable bed. Super Shower.

Hotel is central........We walked everywhere for the weekend!!!

Staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Arrived late following a four hour flight delay and had to go through the bar to book in at the smallest check in desk I have ever encountered.

Had lunch on the Saturday and the restaurant was very busy. Breakfast was served on Sunday to 6pm and we treated ourselves to pancakes. Most enjoyable.

Overall, very pleased with my choice. Looking forward to my next trip to Edinburgh and to Tigerlily!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueeyegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

What can I say about Tigerlily? Amazing place to stay!! We were on a short visit to Edinburgh, having arrived on the sleeper train from London. I had called earlier in the week to see if we might be able to check in early (without holding out much hope as they were fully booked) but to our surprise, our room was ready and waiting for us at 8am. Everyone we encountered at Tigerlily was friendly, helpful and charming. The decor is fun and beautifully designed. We had an amazing stay and it's made it on to the top of our favourite hotel list! 

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car80London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#15 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigerlily Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigerlily Hotel

Property: Tigerlily Hotel
Address: 125 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#38 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigerlily Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Tigerlily Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigerlily Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing